We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful week in an excellent Hotel. Anne K” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in an excellent Hotel. Anne K”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After 3 holidays spent here, the standard never fails to please us. Family atmosphere, friendly staff and great attention to detail so much so that on the morning of my husbands birthday at the entrance to the dining room for breakfast he was greeted with Good Wishes and two glasses of champagne accompanied our breakfast!! We were absolutely stunned at anyone knowing, but went on to receive surprises all day provided by El Fuerte. We were mystified------- how did they know?------------Simply by observation of our passports on arrival! How personal a service is this in a large hotel? We were most impressed!! That says it all. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you wish to have a room with complete sea view , you must stress this and consequently you also h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank williamjohnkane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks for your stay and your review. We are all very happy to know you felt like this during your stay. And yes, the front sea view rooms are the rooms with the best views and generally the rooms with bigger terrace. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    449
    106
    38
    30
See reviews for
252
694
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hotel backs onto beach, front of hotel in the town, old town across the road the location could not be any better. This hotel has all it all. excellent food, indoor and outdoor pools, fully equipped gym, large beautiful lawned garden and terraces. Rooms are really good plus use of the free safe. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you.
EL FUERTE your staff are a credit to you the same faces each year always welcoming and so very pleased to see us return - this is the added advantage you have! (although a few new faces this times with one or two missing). Special praise for Juan Antonio & Morales in the bar - they are the very best!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a full sea view..it's well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for coming back and for your review. We really appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated, on one side you have the beach and the sea and on the other you are in town. In addition, it is opposite an entrance to the old town and its pretty narrow streets and lots of restaurants.
We had a very nice room (and bathroom) with a full sea view and the balcony was not overlooked. Not all rooms are like this and you must specify.
Food is quite good but as in most hotels of this quality is a little expensive.
No complaints about the service although you may find the hotel petty with silly things. For example as I was not paying €30 per day for additional services like bath robes, I was unable to have a newspaper delivered, I had to leave the hotel and buy it myself. No disaster but petty in my view.

Room Tip: Go for a sea or side sea view as it will be quiet. Other rooms are over the car park and nearer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay and your comments. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and your room. It is so true, as you say, that sea view rooms are very quiet although we are a city hotel in the center of Marbella and at the same time on the beach front. The rooms with no sea view can have some noise from the streets. In the rooms giving onto the parking at the entrance of the hotel we have just replaced the old windows by new ones with isolating glass that help keeping the noise away.
Regarding the food, let us just remind you that the price for dinner in our restaurant (currently buffet with show cooking) is 30€ per person. However we recommend you check with reception once you are here, as we may have an advanced booking offer, just like now, we charge 26€ per person if you book your dinner at reception before the restaurant opens.

I am sorry about the newspaper, as we can easily go and get it and leave it at the desk for you, and charge it to your room. Thank you for letting me know.

The supplement you mention of 30€ is the daily supplement for exclusive service in our exclusive floor which includes welcome present and a bottle of cava upon arrival, daily newspaper in your room, we open your bed, leave a chocolate on your pillow and change your towels every evening, we can deliver your continental breakfast in your room with no supplement, the room has a bigger TV, a radio machine with Ipod dock, special deco on the beds, ice maker in your corridor, 12h ongoing coffee break, special amenities in your bathroom, and bathrobe + sleepers. I hope you can try it in your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is the first time that we have visited Marbella and chose the Fuerte on the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed. The location of the hotel is perfect for the seafront and also the old town. Our hotel room had a sea-view and was comfortable, clean and well appointed with a balcony. All of the hotel staff with whom we had contact were friendly, charming and professional; such as the bar staff (Sergio in our case), who remember you and your order from day to day. The restaurant staff also are welcoming and helpful. The facilities of the hotel are excellent; from the swimming pools, to the gym and the large terraces for sunbathing or just relaxing. This is a quality hotel and we will be returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us in Fuerte Marbella. We are very happy to hear that you chose us for your first stay in Marbella. The team & I also look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from another trip to the El Fuerte. We have stayed many times and are never disappointed. The staff are very exceptionally friendly and helpful and the service is faultless. We have met many friends there who are also returning guests . Can't recommend it enough as a real traditional place to stay in a fabulous location.

Room Tip: Any front sea view room would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for returning to Fuerte Marbella and for your review. The team & I look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 7 days in March. The room was a reasonable size with plenty of storage area , balcony, a silent fridge , a safe and a large bathroom with a powerful shower. We were orginally allocated a room on the 4th floor but this was near the lift so we compromised on view and moved to the 2nd floor. There are spacious areas for sitting (and keeping out of the rain) , and a pleasant bar area. Once we had got over the shock of queuing for breakfast (15 mins was most and most days it was 5 mins) we really enjoyed the buffet. Lots of choice and delicious omelettes made to order. We didn't sample the evening buffet but we did enjoy a couple of very good bar meals and there are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance.
It was only on the day we were leaving that we investigated the little museum. It really is worth a visit as it tells the story of the Fuerte hotels and their founder. I was sorry I hadn't ventured in earlier in our holiday. The hotel should make more of this little gem and encourage more customers to visit.

Room Tip: all the 07 rooms (107 , 207 etc. ) open onto the lift lobby. I would have found the noise a real irr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMS16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks very much for staying with us and for your review. The team & I are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed the bar area, the view of the room, and our museum. We take good note of your suggestion and will encourage guests to visit it. Look forward to welcoming you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

hotel has very bad staff! There is no bell boy, so you will need to cary laguage yourself. And man, who cares keyes from laguge rooom, walks around and do not want to sepak english or german. But the worst is bossy manager at recepcion!
Brekfest were bad, food was like from cheap supermarket.
When we made reservation, there was no info, that pool is public - it is full with local kids and old ladys who come with boots, sright from rainy street, so pool area is dirty. Gym is open just 2 hours. Becausemweather was not so good, there were many local people, so it was impossible to excersize.
Rooms are big. Thats a good point, but at 6 o' clock, the garbege auto was so loud, impossible to sleep.
Internet 3 days did not work.

Room Tip: Not on the street, very loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nika30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am really sorry to hear about your disappointment. I thank you for your comments. I only wished I had had the chance to talk to you while you were here to give you some additional information: our Fuerte Sports Club is open to the locals in Marbella (who pay for it) and that is why we offer the use of it for free to our hotel guests. It is open Monday through Friday 8.00h until 23.00h, Saturday and Bank holidays from 10.00h until 18.00h. Our gym offers cardio machines, spinning room, weights room, several classes such us yoga, pilates, stretching, etc…., sauna, Turkish baths plus covered heated pool with four lanes and almost 20 meters long.
Regarding the noise from the street in you room, we are located in the city center and on the beach front. Therefore, rooms with front or side sea view are very quiet; however, rooms giving on to the street can be noisy at times.
Regarding our free WIFI free, I am sorry the service was slow during 6 days as we can done some improvements and these required the system to be stopped at times. We have finalized the work and it is much better know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#4 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
3.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#14 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Property: Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#5 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing