We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Grand old hotel, good rooms, good food, things took time at reception: understaffed. A fine hotel for older coupøes; it completely lacked "life", which maybe, some will appreciate. We were a golf group and it worked fine for us. Central location. No kids to be seen.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elston57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. Sorry if service was slow for you at reception. Was it slow in confirming your golf reservations?. Or during check-in / check-out? I wished you could let me know, as it would help us revise the procedures. Yes, winter time we get more couples and golf groups staying at Fuerte Marbella; we hardly have any children this time of year. We get families with children in Easter, and July & August mainly. Regarding entertainment, we have live music three times per week, including our popular flamenco show every Thursday of the year. In the summer we have live entertainment 5/6 times a week. Thanks in advance for your help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We're staying here at the moment & so far cannot fault the hotel. The staff are extremely friendly & we have been treated to an early 30th birthday present which was most appreciated. Unfortunately the weather has been mixed but the hotel offers luxury & plenty of things to do if you need to stay inside. The location is excellent with bars & restaurants, shops & the bus stop within a 1 min walk & today we've been to the shopping centre which is recommended. Hoping the weather remains so that we can get to Puerto Banus & check out the highlights in the old town.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lorna766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thanks for your review. The team & I are happy to know that you enjoy your stay despite of the rain!. Yes, it is convenient to have the superb sports club we have, with sauna, Turkish baths, and covered heated pool, to take advantage in bad weather conditions. We all hope to welcome you soon again at Fuerte Marbella.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What can i say.It is one of the best hotels i ever stayed in.
The food, the rooms, the proximity to the beach, to the center of the town.
The hospitality, the kindness of the staff.
This is a hotel to visit again for sure and that i recommend.

Thye desrve a 5 stars ranking not a 4 stars.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jihad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

The team and I are happy to know you enjoyed your stay us. I always say: the 5th star is our guest. Look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had never been to Marbella before, so wasnt sure what to expect.
I was pleasantly surprised with Marbella as a resort, not tacky like some resorts you can find along the spanish costa,s. A lovely old town and a great cycle to nearby Puerto Banus.

The Hotel was great, in a fantastic central location for everything the resort has to offer.
Clean modern rooms, nice breakfast, lovely lobby and seating areas overlooking the beautiful gardens and beyond to the med.

Very nice friendly staff, especially in the bar, where we would have that nightcap before bed. The drinks are HUGE..but very nice.

I think i would rather go later on in the year when the weather is much warmer and you could make much more use of the hotel facilities and beautiful gardens to relax, swim etc.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravels_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

We are happy to read you recommend our hotel, after your first visit. The team and I are look forward to welcome you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This tired old hotel deals with compaints after guests have left, as we noticed on trip advisor before we booked it (making us foolish, but optimistic) and discovered when there. The rooms look nothing like they do on the internet - photos taken are with wideangled lenses making beds look a good size - they are in actuality single beds , not double, and a double room normally is two singles next to each other (big gap, no toppers). When we complained about room on check in - they display the 'take-what-you're-given' attutude. The booking.com website is also deliberatley misleading. Read the fine print on every aspect of your booking.They make you wear useless swimming hats in the pool (which of course you have to purchase, miles away form the pool). No reason for a cap - people can and do pee in pools, so this is silly. They don't believe in customers being right. My hotel -when getting faced with complaints, I would deal with, upgrade, apologise, not argue! Bad, bad job people. Even my boyfriend's furious and he's so laid back. You need to pull your socks up!

Room Tip: Get confirmation in writing re bed type. Be very specific with this hotel - they work on false adver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank bluecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. Sad to read that “we deal with complaints after guests have left”. It was indeed not your case: we offered you a sea view room (although your reservation was for classic room) and we did not charge you for breakfast (as you thought your reservation was on bed & breakfast, which was not). Thank you for recommending the travel community to “Get confirmation in writing re bed type”, as I think you were not aware of what you booked.
Sorry that you found the pictures misleading. Just to clarify, most of our rooms have twin beds (1x2 meter). We also have double beds on request. We do get many bookings based on the pictures you mention.
Regarding the cover heated pool, we sell caps in the pool itself (during opening times), we sell at the hotel reception (20 meters away from the pool) and also we sell at the sports club reception (100 meters away from the pool). The use of caps is compulsory in heated covered pools according to Spanish health law.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel location was perfect for walking to the beach or Marbella old town area. And for day trips to Gibralter, Granada, Ronda and Nerja. Every day we managed to get a parking spot in the lot right out front. Breakfast was very good and options were endless. Not being in the peak season had some advantages but I did feel like we were the one young family surrounded by quiet older couples. Our requests at the front desk were always eventually handled, but they never seemed overly friendly or accommodating. The beach was nice but be prepared to pay 5 Euros for a beach chair if you accidentally assume they are there for hotel guests ;)

Room Tip: Avoid room 147 as it is right next to the elevator shaft and stairs and the noise kept us up. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helixbonfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing Fuerte Marbella and for your review. As a piece of additional info regarding room 147: this is the biggest room in the hotel and for that reason is usually offered to families up to 4 persons. I am not sure if this was your case. We are going to check the lift, as we had not had comments on the noise up to know. Regarding access to that room, our alarm system is connected to presence detectors in this area. As you mentioned, we do get more families during school holidays, and in the winter we do get more older couples, guests who come to play golf as we well located to most golf courses in this area, incentive & conference groups, and so on. Regarding the beach, we serve sunbeds & umbrella in the summer season (usually starting Easter, weather permitting) at 7€ per day (waiter serviced from our beach restaurant). We serve free sunbeds & umbrellas on the pools area of the hotel. There are other nearby beach restaurants where you can also rent a sun lounger for the day at other prices. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We so enjoyed this hotel last year we returned for a second visit last week. It is seeped in traditional old fashioned charm with excellent service from all staff in every department. We requested a high view room and we were not disappointed - having a brilliant view over the coast. It is certainly worth paying the extra for a front sea view room. Having arrived early our room was not quite ready but no problem we were immediately given a welcome drink whilst we waited. The breakfast buffet was superb although I was surprised to see sprouts on the breakfast menu but since others were trying them maybe I should have too!

Just a couple of small disappointments: there were no toiletries in the room nor tea and coffee making facilities - although in fairness there was a note saying we could ask reception for toiletries.

Overall a really excellent hotel and we will certainly be back next year.

By the way the nearby Messina Restaurant is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your second visit to Fuerte Marbella. We are very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I also appreciate your comments: regarding toiletries, yes we serve a basic set; you may ask reception for extra toiletries. Regarding coffee/tea facilities in the room, we usually serve them in all rooms. Sorry for the trouble, I will make sure we really do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 69 in Marbella
1,883 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 69 in Marbella
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 69 in Marbella
1,539 reviews
6.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $145 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing