We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel location was perfect for walking to the beach or Marbella old town area. And for day trips to Gibralter, Granada, Ronda and Nerja. Every day we managed to get a parking spot in the lot right out front. Breakfast was very good and options were endless. Not being in the peak season had some advantages but I did feel like we were the one young family surrounded by quiet older couples. Our requests at the front desk were always eventually handled, but they never seemed overly friendly or accommodating. The beach was nice but be prepared to pay 5 Euros for a beach chair if you accidentally assume they are there for hotel guests ;)

Room Tip: Avoid room 147 as it is right next to the elevator shaft and stairs and the noise kept us up. Also...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helixbonfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing Fuerte Marbella and for your review. As a piece of additional info regarding room 147: this is the biggest room in the hotel and for that reason is usually offered to families up to 4 persons. I am not sure if this was your case. We are going to check the lift, as we had not had comments on the noise up to know. Regarding access to that room, our alarm system is connected to presence detectors in this area. As you mentioned, we do get more families during school holidays, and in the winter we do get more older couples, guests who come to play golf as we well located to most golf courses in this area, incentive & conference groups, and so on. Regarding the beach, we serve sunbeds & umbrella in the summer season (usually starting Easter, weather permitting) at 7€ per day (waiter serviced from our beach restaurant). We serve free sunbeds & umbrellas on the pools area of the hotel. There are other nearby beach restaurants where you can also rent a sun lounger for the day at other prices. We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,605)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fuerte Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We so enjoyed this hotel last year we returned for a second visit last week. It is seeped in traditional old fashioned charm with excellent service from all staff in every department. We requested a high view room and we were not disappointed - having a brilliant view over the coast. It is certainly worth paying the extra for a front sea view room. Having arrived early our room was not quite ready but no problem we were immediately given a welcome drink whilst we waited. The breakfast buffet was superb although I was surprised to see sprouts on the breakfast menu but since others were trying them maybe I should have too!

Just a couple of small disappointments: there were no toiletries in the room nor tea and coffee making facilities - although in fairness there was a note saying we could ask reception for toiletries.

Overall a really excellent hotel and we will certainly be back next year.

By the way the nearby Messina Restaurant is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midge13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you very much for your second visit to Fuerte Marbella. We are very glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I also appreciate your comments: regarding toiletries, yes we serve a basic set; you may ask reception for extra toiletries. Regarding coffee/tea facilities in the room, we usually serve them in all rooms. Sorry for the trouble, I will make sure we really do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the time we arrived we were hosted by well trained, friendly staff. From senior management to frontline staff the ethos of good customer relations is evident without being overstated. Our first experience here was excellent and we will return for more relaxing enjoyment.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jebosonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

It is great to hear that your fist experience at Fuerte Marbella was so enjoyable. Thanks for coming and for your review. The team and I look forward to welcome you soon again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This has been our 3rd visit to this hotel and once again, we really enjoyed it so much. Breakfast Buffet was very good and when we have eaten at the restaurant in the evening, it has always been excellent.
The Hotel has a lovely, family run feeling to it and the service and cleanliness is excellent. An indoor heated and an outdoor pool. A lovely bar with great staff and charming gardens where we sat and enjoyed a glass of wine on the terrace.The location is brilliant, on the promenade and very handy for the old town. I would happily recommend anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loooves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for coming back and for your review. Would love to greet you personally in our next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend at the El Fuerte in Marbella. The hotel was perfectly located for seeing the sights and sampling the many restaurants and bars of Marbella. Rooms were a nice size and were very clean and very comfortable.
We were on B&B rate and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and the service was first class. It had a real family feel to it and I think some of the staff were part of the owners family. There's a great little musuem in the hotel grounds telling you all about the history of the hotel and that was a very nice touch.
The bar area really needs freshened up as it's a very dark and dingy place to sit, even with all the lights on.
The only downside for us was that we mentioned in our booking that it was our 20th anniversary weekend and hoped the hotel would have done a little something to make it special. We stayed at the H10 Andalucia Plaza for our 10th and they added some really nice touches to our visit although the hotel was not quite as well located.
All in all the hotel was great value and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the sea as itsa truly lovely location.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed so much your weekend in Fuerte Marbella, specially our buffet breakfast and our service. Thanks also for your suggestion about the bar deco, we will take it into account. for the next renovation works in Winter 2013/2014. I am so sorry we did not include our anniversary present in your room, which we normally do. Now I owe it to you!, so if you come back, please let me know in advance and I will try to compensate!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Returning here after a few years, we found the hotel and its staff to be in excellent shape.in a classic Spanish style. The staff are friendly and reception welcoming and helpful.Breakfast is wide ranging and of good quality. There are many restaurants within easy walking distance so we used those in the evening. The gardens are well maintained with plenty of sunbeds, though we preferred our full seaview balcony for sunning, peace and quiet. The only slight problem we had was with the electronic room key which kept failing. It's a pity also that the hotel now charges 12 Euros per night for parking though that is an increasing trend elsewhere.The parking is secure both above and below ground.

Would definitely return, especially if a discounted rate can be obtained.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _davidius61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Thanks for coming back to Fuerte Marbella and for your review. It is great to hear you found the hotel in good shape after a few years.
Thanks for your comment about the room key. Sometimes if you keep it near a mobile phone, it easily disconnects. Rarely does it occur just like that, although the lock is ok. I am sorry if this was a bit of nuisance.
Regarding the parking, it has been a few year since we charge for it as space is very precious in the center of Marbella. We charge guests a special rate of 12 euros a night when other public parkings near us charge 18€.
The team and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Just returned from a lovely midweek break at this hotel. We had early check in at 10.30am by very friendly staff and allocated a fabulous room 602, which had amazing Med views.
Lovely room with comfy bed and well appointed.

The buffet breakfast had to be one of the best anywhere. Wonderful attentive staff and simply everything to suit all tastes.

The location is perfect for both Old Town and shopping. We hired bikes and had a lovely cycle to Puerta Banus.

For sure we will be back again.

Many thanks to all !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. Lovely to hear you enjoyed our location, the atmosphere, the team, our buffet breakfast. I would be happy to greet you personally in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,775 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $115 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fuerte Hoteles, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing