We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in the perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Fuerte Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I knew nothing about the Fuerte Marbella before arriving, as friends had booked this for me. I don't think there could be a better location to base yourself in the town - right on the beach and just 5 minutes stroll from the atmospheric old town and also the bustling marina. Breakfast service is excellent. We loved the fact there was an omlette and crepe chef and even a glass of Cava on hand for those who could manage it! Our room was in the new wing and although only had a side view, was perfectly comfortable, with a large modern well-equipped bathroom. However, as a party of 7 girls, we had ordered twin rooms beforehand, which actually ended up as doubles. We complained on arrival and were met with shrugs until we pressed for some free drinks to compensate! Another friend didn't like the lingering smell of smoke in her sea view room and got a free bar lunch. This is a large, busy hotel, which largely operated smoothly and efficiently. A wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Opt for sea view in the new wing. If you book a twin room, for some reason you must specify separa...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieVP207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for staying with us. Thanks also for your review, many travellers will find it useful: yes, if you wish to book twin bedded rooms, please let us know in advance!.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,608)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Fuerte Marbella
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,608 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

All the things you expect from a good hotel (but don't always get) like free beach towels, free room safe, crisps or nuts with drinks, etc. Fabulous buffet breakfast including many different breads, meats, cheeses and cakes ... its a challenge to try it all before you leave but we did our best (already missing the glazed donuts!). Location is pretty perfect - 2 minutes from the sea, tons of restaurants within a few minutes walk and the old town just up the road. Our original room didn't have a balcony/terrace (the fault of our booking agent not the hotel) and the staff managed to change our room the next day. Staff all very friendly and helpful and everything kept spotless. Can't think of a thing to complain about.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify balcony or terrace room as some rooms have neither.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FMARBELLA, Manager at Hotel Fuerte Marbella, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thanks for staying with us. Yes, if you wish to have a balcony, we need to know a lot in advance as we are usually very well booked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just got back from a week in this hotel. It is practically on the beach and with a sea view room we really did go to sleep with the sound of the waves. Old town, two minutes away, had a fabulous selection of restaurants and individual shops and boutiques in lovely clean, winding streets and tiled squares.
Location was great for us as we just wanted to relax by the pool or on the balcony and have some nice evening strolls along the promenade or through old town followed by an enjoyable meal.
So many people had mentioned the towels on the loungers issue that I was a bit wary but, maybe because it was September, we did not have a problem. I liked the fact you had to have a room key to use the elevator or stairs to get to the bedroom floors, good security measure.

The hotel has a lovely bar area and lounge and a very good lunch menu. Many people have raved about the breakfast and it is good. We ate in the hotel one night and the buffet was OK but nothing special. However we found three restaurants nearby that we would recommend. If you come out of the garden entrance onto the street next to the beach and turn right, one minutes walk will take you to da Fabios which does very good pasta and pizza, a further ten minutes walk in the same direction and look for da Brunos for an excellent selection of fish dishes, steaks and the best chicken parmigiano I have had. In old town Gran Plaza restaurant just off Orange Square was our favourite, we had three meals here and all were excellent. Loved the complimentary liqueur that finished off the meal.

Our only disappointment in the hotel was the bed which was two large singles pushed together instead of a king bed, which would have been preferable. Also the wifi was not great in the bedroom, the best reception we got was out by the pool. It is free though which is a bonus.

Room Tip: The balcony on the sea view rooms appeared to be a better size than the balcony on the rooms on the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel about 4 years ago, as before a very good beach side hotel, close enough to the town to walk into at night very clean our hotel has good sized rooms with sea views the restaurant food is of a high standard the spa has a list of treatments which are well price People are friendly and helpful. good selection of restaurants and coffee cafe. The prom which runs from one end of the beach to the other about 3 miles is great for your morning run. All in all a great break.

Room Tip: Ask for above 300 for a good view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Okay, my views on The Fuerte Marbella,
We stayed for a week at the end of August, 4 adults and 2 kids 4 and 14.
We arrived on a Sat at 1100, it states on the website that check in is not until 1400 so we knew that the rooms wouldn’t be ready, the reception staff were friendly and gave us some free drinks for the bar whilst we waited which was a nice touch.
We has a suite which was fine for a family of 4, with a side sea view again fine for what we needed, it was very clean and the AC worked really well.
Breakfast was suburb with a wide choice of everything, we ate most nights in the hotel as we had booked half board, the food was really good with a choice of hot and cold buffet or the excellent chef would cook you fish, steak as you wanted it. The staff were superb and there was a decent wine list with the house whites and red as good as you need, and very reasonably priced.
Sun beds were fine, if you get out early there is no issue getting them ( there were 6 of us and we never had a problem ) despite what other people have said on this website.
The location is ideal, beachfront and city centre location is hard to find, and the hotel in general offered everything we needed for a family holiday, the evening entertainment was good, but not geared towards the younger generation, and prices for drinks in general in my opinion, having holidayed in Italy for the last few years were excellent.
Service in general was very good, the waiters sometimes went around with their heads down but it wasn’t the end of the world.
Hotel transfers were arranged by the hotel seamlessly to and from the airport.
My wife left her purse in the safe when we left and the hotel arranged it to be returned to her in the UK a week later ( thank you Moses) complete with cash cards and everything intact.

All in all the Hotel Fuerte Marbella is an excellent hotel, we didn’t have any problems at all, and would definitely recommend it for a family holiday and will return for another stay.

Room Tip: side or full sea view is important, and half board is not much more when booking upfront and gives y...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed for a week at this excellent hotel. The rooms were clean, well appointed and had great sea views. The food was uniformly good with variety to suit all tastes.The hotel is located on the main promenade, adjacent to the fascinating old town and the view from the outside dining area at breakfast and dinner was breathtaking. Yet it is not the wonderful weather, easy access to the beach or old world charm of this hotel which sets it above so many others, though these are all noteworthy. What created good holiday memories was the courteous and professional sevice provided by the staff. From reception through housekeeping to bar and restaurant this team made our contentment their priority. No hotel is perfect but the Fuerte Marbella comes close and is the standard others must strive towards.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the El Fuerte. We were there 3 years ago and were attracted again because of it's close proximity to the Old Town and to the beach. This time we booked a suite. On arrival we checked-in and found that the suite, whilst a good size, consisted of 2 single beds. In addition, the photo's on the hotel website suggested a nice contemporary bathroom, whereas ours looked like it hadn't been refurbished for 10 years.

Breakfast at the hotel is excellent. The staff are highly efficient and the range is superb - no complaints at all.

A few issues we did come across which one shouldn't expect from a hotel which claims to be 4-star (and at a cost o Euro 2000 per week bed & breakfast). The cleaner didn't clear cups / glasses / ashtrays from our balcony on 3 of our 7 days. In addition, the room next door had had room service one day and their used plates and glasses were left outside their room for 24 hours.

We reurned from dinner and asked the gentleman on Reception if he could provide us with a clean cup so my wife could have a cup of tea (the cleaner had taken ours away without replacing them!0. He refused - in fact, he was downright rude. We had to scour the hotel to find our own cups! Unbelievable!!

Lastly, our suite was on the 1st floor and directly above the function room which meant that on several occasions we were unable to sleep due to the noise from the flamenco etc.

As stated before, the advantage of this hotel is location. The downside is the very average service. They'd clearly double-booked several rooms as when we arrived we saw at least 3 groups of guests turned away and re-directed to their sister hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank YashinS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
895 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,777 reviews
3.5 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
0.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fuerte Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Marbella

Address: Calle El Fuerte s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#9 Family Hotel in Marbella
#11 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $116 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuerte Marbella, the most emblematic hotel in the centre of Marbella, combines tradition and innovation. On the beach front and surrounded by 4000 sq. Meters of garden, Fuerte Marbella Hotel is an oasis walking distance to the Marbella old town, with restaurant and shops. Most of the rooms have magnificent views of the Mediterranean sea. A 7 km long beach promenade allows gentle walking to the famous Puerto Banus, with international shopping and restaurants. Fuerte Marbella offers a complete sports centre with covered heated pool (winter only) and a beach restaurant with sun beds (extra charge, summer only). Easy access from Malaga International airport (60 km) by rental car, shuttle bus or private transfer (book through the hotel). Public direct bus to Marbella bus station is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fuerte Hoteles, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Fuerte Resort
El Fuerte Marbella
El Fuerte Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing