We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveler rating
554
410
137
59
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
554
410
137
59
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto banus residential area san pedro hotel is lovely great pool beach restaurant sea view taxi ride quiet location private beach relaxing break buffet style mini bar per day pool area is short break euros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2018

We had 2 tables of 12 for lunch on Christmas Day, we arrived at 2.15 and it appeared that we were the last 2 tables to arrive. The starters were very nice with a lot to choose from, we then went up for our main course all at various times and alot of the food was running out and not being replenished. My husband had to wait 5 minutes to be served his meat as no-one was tending to this section and when he did get it, it was cold! After a little break from the main course, we all went up for the desserts, to find nothing left, we kept asking the waiters if there was more to come but they didn´t have any idea. A very disappointing end to a lovely day, surely the food (the buffet) should be at its best even for the last diners? As it would be impossible for everybody to eat at once.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuadalminaMarbella, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your experience in our Restaurant.
We regret to know that all our efforts to make this special day had not been appreciated. As you may notice the Christmas day was a huge buffet with a lot of different dishes to choose. We apologies in case you should wait for replacement but we assure that we treat all our clients equally, even if they arrive at the middle of the lunch service. Our Christmas buffet was opened from 1 to 4.00 pm.
We hope you could give us another chance and you may change your impressions about our Hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

We were three nights to do admin in town.

It was great. The people were extraordinarily nice. Maybe speaking Spanish makes a difference but we had great service.

The breakfast was great. And though they had eggs already on the buffet, there was a lady ready to make you whatever you wanted right there.

There was a very large spread , from several cheeses, variety of meats, excellent yogurts, cereals , everything we could possibly wish for for breakfast. Pan con tomate, nice breads, croissant and pain au chocolat. And we watched the golfers while we ate.

Everything was easy , like the parking, etc. I didn’t get to take advantage of the spa or gym, unfortunately...

Our view was spectacular, in the room as well as from their great terrace restaurant.

Super easy access to a beautiful beach.

I’m going back for certain, golf clubs in tow.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Maybellehoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio V, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice review about your experience with us. It is a pleasure to read that everything was really easy for you in our Hotel and that encourage our team to keep working to improve our service every day.

It has been a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2018 via mobile

The Hotel Guadalmina has an excellent location right on the beach and in a part of town away from the hustle and bustle. A car would be pretty much essential to really get to explore the area, which offers both sea and mountains.

The room was a great size, in good condition and kept very clean by the staff.

As my visit was very much off season, the pool was closed for the winter, but everything else was open and available. I had a great massage in the spa and the gym looked to have all you need for a workout (I only looked... I was on holiday after all). I also saw an on-site hairdresser, in case you forgot that all important holiday haircut.

The breakfast offered a very good spread and allowed me to sit and watch the sunrise over the sea and the early morning golfers. Fantastic!

The staff in the bar and restaurant were very friendly and helpful, especially Pepe, who coped very well with my awful attempts at Spanish.

The food on offer was of a very high quality, prepared freshly.

I can highly recommend this hotel for an off-season break.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank nickhS2163TB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio V, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review about your stay in our Hotel. Our goal is to make your stay happy and criticism like yours means that we are doing a good job.

We thank you for the acknowledgement of our staff, specially Pepe our Maitre. We are very proud of his work.

It has been a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We stayed here for four nights at the end of November and had a standard room with a view of the golf course. Reception staff were very helpful throughout our stay and our room was spacious and very clean.
The hotel is about 2 km from San Pedro and 5 km from Puerto Banus. It is on the beach and approached via the residential area from the main highway. The journey from the airport was 50 minutes by car. If you wanted to get out and about you would need a car or taxis. Bus stops are from the main highway.
This was a bit of a nostalgia trip for us as we had visited here and played golf at Guadalmina some thirty odd years ago, and we wanted to play the courses again. We were blessed with dry and warm weather, perfect for golf and we played both courses, which are a separate entity to the hotel but can be accessed from the hotel as there is a small golf shop on site and buggies can be hired from there. Both courses lived up to expectations and were very enjoyable to play. We found the rates offered by the hotel were the best compared to other green fee sites, although best value is probably an inclusive hotel and golf deal.
Meal wise we had breakfast each day, and after trying the hot food we stuck to a more continental choice which was very good.
We ate in the restaurant one evening. Our food was well cooked and well presented but after that we ate at a local restaurant and also ate in San Pedro.
The position of the hotel is lovely, right on the beach and the South golf course comes right down to there. There is an outdoor pool and a spa. My partner had a sports massage and we both had the thermal experience whilst there. That was a great experience and well worth having, you will feel totally relaxed afterwards.
Overall our short break was very relaxing and with the golf courses and a good local restaurant on the doorstep we had a very nice stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank ShazEarlybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio V, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your constructive criticism about your experience in our Hotel. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed our Hotel rooms and Golf offers.

It has been a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2018

A group of 13 of us arrived across 2 separate days mainly for golf but to also to spend some time away from work together.

We have previously travelled to other areas and this was the first time that we have visited Hotel Guadalmina.

From the very start we were impressed with the courtesy of the staff and cleanliness of the large reception area.

This carried onto the clean rooms all located near to each other which was very convenient.

Breakfast was fairly limited but on a buffet style there was always something we liked and sitting on the outdoor area just above the beach was a great way to watch the sun come up and enjoy the scenery.

The location of the hotel on the beachfront meaning you could wander from the pool area straight onto the sand was great and the overall ambience of the hotel was very relaxing and peaceful.

The only slight downside to being on the beach was that the nearest shops were a good 30 minutes walk away or more realistically a taxi ride just to buy water and snacks as there are no facilities on site or in the housing area that surrounded the hotel.

Overall our group liked the hotel and we may well be booking to return next year.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barrie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio V, Gerente at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Dear Mr Barrie,

Thank you for your nice comments about your stay in our Hotel. We are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and you wish to return next year.

Do not hesitate to contact us in case you wish to book. We will be very happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews