We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break, could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Excellent location, views and golf courses, very good spa and spa team, good food and bedrooms.

Reception team processed us and nothing more, no smiles but better than golf master, bar and restaurant team who just didn't want you there, the bar man especially kept on changing tv channels so he could watch stuff even when other residents watching things and gave no service what so ever I will give them all except bar man benefit of doubt just hard to get going with so few guests.

One last negative room service tr,ay outside room for 3 days.

But finally I would give it a go if you want beech front location, spa and great golf, I'm sure team would be better if busy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear guest,

We feel that their opinions are not good for our staff.
Our work is aimed to be nice to our clients.
The opinion of most of the customers is very good about the staff.
I'm sure in your next visit may check that everything will be fine.

Fernando Al-farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break playing golf on both north and south courses and bed and breakfast at the hotel. Firstly the golf was first class both courses are very good but the South is a real challenge but top notch. We thought the hotel was excellent our room was luxurious and staff very attentive with the breakfast room over looking the med fantastic. I would strongly recommend this hotel for both golf and holiday Superb thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Es para nosotros motivo de satisfacción, conocer sus comentarios tan positivos sobre nuestro Hotel y el campo de golf.

Ciertamente los dos campos son muy completos, pero ademas en en el Sur a lo largo de su historia se han jugado campeonatos importantes a nivel internacional.

En lo que respecta al hotel, agradecerle sus palabras ya que ayuda a que sigamos trabajando en la misma linea.

Atentamente
Fernando Al-Farkh
Dierctor General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

After reading some negative comments about this hotel, I feel I must interject!
I have stayed at this beautiful hotel twice in the last two years and plan to go back every year. The staff, the food, the rooms, the pool, the beach and the hotels location are all perfect for a chilled and relaxed week away. We couldn't have asked for more. The property most certainly does not need a complete overhaul!
I am fussy, I have worked in the travel industry for nearly 12 years and have travelled all over the world, but this hotel is simply fantastic, hence my repeat trips.
Myself and my 3 girlfriends stayed the first week in June 2012 and the same week in 2013 and we cannot recommend it enough. Its peaceful and very luxurious.
Well done to all at the Guadalmina, keep doing what youre doing! Cant wait to come back again next year :)

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views but the best we had was facing the golf course
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente
Antes de nada quisiéramos agradecerle el haberse tomado su tiempo en compartir su experiencia en nuestro Resort con todos los usuarios de Tripadvisor.

Recibir comentarios como los suyos nos emocionan y nos llenan de alegría, El saber que las habitaciones, nuestro hotel, nuestro personal, servicio de restaurante y el ambiente han superado sus expectativas, hace que queramos seguir mejorando cada día.


Les damos las gracias de nuevo por habernos permitido ser de nuevo sus anfitriones en Marbella, y esperamos con impaciencia poder darle de nuevo la bienvenida al Golf Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Resort.

Fernando Al-Farkh
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the last 10 years,both with groups which I organised and many trips with my partner, I know this hotel inside out. Ok the good bits first
Great location on the beach
Quiet and peaceful
Pool and beach area excellent

Now for the bad bits
Nothing has changed here in 10 years,all the furniture in the rooms and the outside decking,
The bar area has been renovated
The staff are sullen and never smile with 1 or 2 exceptions
The reception staff are a disgrace everything is a problem to them
Breakfast variety is extremely poor and never changes
We were on an all inclusive package for over 55s they had a specific menu for lunch and a buffet at night time which had teamed nights like Itialian nights etc, the lunch menu was a disgrace you could not eat the food it was cold and bland
The buffet dinner menu can only be described a "dog food".when I complained to be fair they allowed us to order from the a la carte menu, only problem here this never changed,and I would say this was the menu for the whole year
Wine list was very poor no decent wines on list and when I asked for information about no one seemed to know or care
Rooms are very outdated and housekeeping standards both in staff and linen, towels etc need to be changed
In summary this hotel needs a major makeover,first money needs to spent urgently on the accomadtion
It needs all staff need to be trained in what customer service is all about you are treated as an interference in their daily schedule.Management need to be much more visible to the PAYING guests, and in particular senior management must take the blame for the overall very poor standards in customer service and quality of food
And finally the reception staff have absolutely no greeting manner whatsoever, when I arrived I was giving no information about the hotel amenities , the over 55 package details, basically I was handed my room key and asked to pay for my accomadtion and meal package there and then
Lucky I have stayed in many different types of rooms in this hotel so I knew my way around
Also I noticed the suites on the ground floor were unoccupied and we're not available to book on the website,I would be a nice touch to have an "free upgrade" policy to returning guests.But alas I am sure this is not on any agenda with this hotel. This criticism is giving constructively and I hope it is taken that way,if you just do 1 thing in the future teach your staff to greet and smile at your customers

Room Tip: Check your room before you check in
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Specky456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Customer .
First of all I want to thank you for spend time to sharing your experience and personal opinions about Guadalmina Hotel .
I also want to thank you for so many years you have stayed at our hotel, especially after all the negative that you think it has.
I'm sorry you did not have perception of the many things we have improved during the past three years, as new mattresses in all rooms, new flat TV’s , especially all bed linen and towels are fully renovated ago less than a year , and all this without the constant maintenance work, for example in year to all the rooms have been repainted three times, the exteriors of the buildings on two occasions , the bar and restaurant renovation , how you said, and construction of a new pool bar, Balinese beds on the beach, and customer parking closed and guarded and etc. I'm not going to reflect here in full, but investments in improvements exceed 1 million euro in the last two years.
Another thing is the style of furniture you call outdated. These, I 'm sorry to say , are part of the spirit , personality and decorative style of the hotel and frankly I do not imagine this hotel with modern melanin furniture , so sorry to tell you this is not going to change in the near future.
In connection with the friendly staff, really appreciate your comments. Indeed we are working to improve and just last week we have made a dedicated training to improve customer empathy and attention. I apologize if at any time we have failed to attend to you how you expected.
For breakfast and other services , we continually try to offer the best to our customers and in our case we chose a variety every day , instead of the formula smaller variety that changes daily. In this regard I would like to remind that our breakfast each day has more than 100 different products, among which are more than 10 varieties of bread , 8 varieties of pastries, 6 prepared natural fruits , 10 types of yogurt, 6 kinds of juice, 6 of ham, 3 fresh cheese, diferent types of eggs, bacon sausage, 6 cereals and many more ... even cava . With this wide range everyone can certainly drawn up daily a different breakfast to their liking.
Finally thank you very much again for all your comments as useful as constructive, which we will have it in consideration to help us to improving every day.
I hope have the opportunity to see you again in our hotel soon and to assist you personally.
Fernando Al-Farkh
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel was fantastic, located on the beach with wonderful food, ambience and service. The room was superb and a real luxury hotel. I enjoyed a lovely manicure and they even did the two girls a varnish free of charge, really nice spa area, if only I had the chance to make the most of it. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples so that you can make the most of the spa area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bex0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente
En primer lugar permítame, el agradecerle el haber compartido su experiencia en la red y haber escogido el Hotel Guadalmina Sapa & Resort en su estancia en Marbella.
Es un verdadero placer leer un comentario tan bonito como el suyo, ya que nos ayuda a seguir mejorando día a día.
Nos es grato saber, que ha disfrutado de nuestra área de Spa, durante su estancia.
Nos gustaría volver a contar con su visita muy pronto.
Reciba un cordial saludo

Fernando AL-Farkh
Director general

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in Guadalmina Spa and Golf Resort in October. The setting is beautiful. Best for couples, Golfers and families with small children. No iron or kettle in the rooms as everything is available from room service. Best to take your own for convenience. Live entertainment once may be twice a week. Quiet location, you will need a car to get around. We really enjoyed our stay. We visited Gibralta, Puerto Banus and San Pedro during our stay. The staff are really friendly.
Superior Room has large seating area and king size bed and balcony with table and two chairs.
We would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in Malaga.

Room Tip: Take an Iron and a Kettle - Ask for a room with a golf course / sea view
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shell6257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente

Muchas gracias por haber escogido el hotel Guadalmina Spa and Golf Resort para. pasar sus vacaciones
También nos gustaría agradecerle su tiempo en dejarnos un comentario tan positivo sobre nuestras instalaciones
Es un orgullo que nombre a nuestro equipo humano, el cual se esfuerza cada dia en ofrecer el mejor de los servicios a cada uno de nuestros clientes.
Esperamos poder darle la bienvenida en un futuro muy próximo.
No dude en contactar con nosotros para lo que pueda necesitar. Nos quedamos a su entera disposición.

Atentamente
Fernando Al-Farkh
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Golf trip of 4 nights for 16 people organised by me. I was readily upgraded as the team organiser to a nice sized suite. Décor is about 10 to 15 years old but good size rooms and clean.Perfect for a short break but not too sure I would want a week with the family.
Its a little isolated so not easy to walk anywhere and particularly for golfers its a 10 euro taxi ride to the clubhouse which is inland and the other side of the motorway which takes some getting around.
Sea views from the room were very nice and the breakfast terrace is lovely right by the beach.
There are two courses. South is good generally (though some weak holes) and well maintained with excellent greens but the north course is very poor and wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sgordon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado Cliente,

Muchas gracias por sus opiniones sobre nuestro Hotel.

Sentimos que nuestro mobiliario clásico le haya parecido antiguo.Nuestra ubicación ha sido siempre motivo de buenos comentarios ya que a la tranquilidad al estar a la orilla del mar se suma el estar cerca de campos de golf y las zonas mas interesantes.

Sobre los campos de golf, le informaremos de sus palabras a los responsables ya que no pertenecen al Hotel al ser otra empresa privada.

Atentamente,

Fernando Al-Farkh

Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.8 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
945 reviews
7.5 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,488 reviews
5.0 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Urb. Guadalmina Baja, s/n, 29678, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $130 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guadalmina SPA & Golf Resort. MarbellaAn unbeatable location right on the Beach and by two Golf Courses. Located only ten minutes from Marbella and Estepona and only five minutes from Puerto Banus. Restaurants offering International cuisine, Cocktail Bar, Beach Club, Business Centre, WIFI, Outdoor Sea Water Swimming pool, Solarium, Pool Bar, Meeting Rooms for events & Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guadalmina Spa And Golf Resort
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Marbella
Guadalmina Hotel Marbella
Golf Hotel Guadalmina
Marbella Guadalmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing