We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed there in April and although the weather was not brilliant the hotel and staff made up for this. The accommodation was first class with beautiful views in an idyllic setting. The breakfast was superb and the evening buffet meal, one of the best I have had. Each night had a particular theme and there was plenty of variety, quality and quantity. A car would be essential as the nearest amenities are in San Pedro De Alcantara. The pool was well kept and there were plenty of sun loungers around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GibraltarGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read your kind review about your stay in our Hotel.
We are working everyday to improve and update our facilities to make our guest’s stay unforgettable.
Once more thank you very much for your nice comments about our staff and we hope to see you soon in our hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,003)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 1,003 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have just returned from a fantastic 3 day break here, I am not normally one to leave review's but it was such an amazing Hotel I feel I should let any potential guest scanning this site know what a top class establishment it is. Nothing was to much trouble for the staff. The vista's are beautiful, the food top draw and the spa lovely and relaxing. Before I went away some of the comments on here about it being remote and 30 euro in a taxi to Puerto Banus slightly worried me as I didn't want to be spending copious amounts on transport, however depending on the time of day it varied between 9 and 15 euros each way. Thanks for a great stay, I will defiantly return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room for Sea views... worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karltownsend87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to see that you had a wonderful stay in Hotel Guadalmina.
It is always a pleasure to see that our guests have enjoyed our service and all our facilities.
Thank you very much for your comments about our staff. We are very proud of their work due to they are continuously working to offer the best service to our guests. We will pass all your comments to our team.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My friends and i traveled to this hotel for our friends 50th birthday celebration. The hotel is beautiful and clean and the rooms are lovely with great views. The breakfast is fabulous and the staff helpful, Helena who works in the pool area is delightful happy lady and works extremely hard!! We ate in the hotel once for lunch and the food is fairly expensive for pretty basic food, the drinks are also extremely expensive (3 euro for a small bottle of water!) On booking I asked if it would be possible to have inter joining rooms but unfortunately this wasnt available and when we arrived the rooms were on opposite sides of the hotel which was a bit annoying; While I would recommend the hotel and possibly stay again I would definitely arrange a hire car as spent a small fortune on taxis.The hotel has a spa but isnt included in the price so bear that in mind (I expected to pay for treatments but not the spa indoor pool) Perfect place to go if want a romantic or chilled out few days around the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madwife28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest,
We really appreciate your comments about your stay in our Hotel. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially during this important occasion.
Thank you very much for the acknowledgement and attitude of our staff. We are very proud of their work.
Your suggestions and comments have been taken into consideration and forwarded to the pertinent departments of our hotel.
Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Please do not hesitate to contact us in case you need further assistance.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel was quiet when we visited which was nice and staff friendly. Rooms spacious and clean and tidy. Breakfast was good and we ate several evening meals in the resteraunt which were also good. Theme night was particularly good. To stay here it is sensible to have a car. Starting golf at the hotel is hole 10 and good but a bit of a distance to the club house and the 1st hole so need to drive. It is a busy golf club and can be long rounds some days.Puerto banus was literally 10 minutes by car and nice to go for a late lunch in resteraunts around marina. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon54785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us. It is very grateful to see that we have satisfied our guest’s needs with our services and facilities.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to welcome you to our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I really enjoyed my two night stay here. On the positives the breakfast was incredible! And our room was fabulous with a massive balcony we could lie out on our sun lounges on. However we had a four poster bed but as it had no curtains it just looked like a big metal frame and I found
t quite odd! A normal bed would have been alot nicer!!!

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere. A taxi to marbella is just under 20 euro. This is worth noting since the restaurant is awful (despite the excellent breakfast) the food was overpriced and the service in the restaurant at lunch was the worst / slowest iv seen in years.
The pool looked nice but I wasn't in it.

Overall I'd recommend staying here f you're looking for a quiet romantic getaway and are willing to pay taxis to bring you to other restaurants outside this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishGirl-late20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay in this site.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your room and our breakfast area. On the other hand, we will take all your comments about the Restaurant into consideration in order to improve our service.
As you mentioned, it is true that our Hotel is a bit far from the city, but that’s makes our Hotel special due to its privilege location in front of the sea at the Costa del Sol.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would like to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Nice quiet hotel, beautiful location- surrounded by elegant villas, but far from Marbella. If you don't have a car it'll cost about $30 each way to get to Puerto Banus, where the restaurants and bars are. The hotel has a restaurant and bar but it was very quiet when we were there, even though the place was sold out. There was a very loud, obnoxious and rambunctious group of middle aged British men staying there that could not be avoided. The pool area was beautiful and they offered those beach beds (70 euros for front line). The only problem I had was with the overpowering smell of bug/roach spray. More suited for romantic getaways than girls trip

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margeauxmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay in this site and we apologize in case you were disturbed by any other guests.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our pool and beach area with our Balinese beds; we are continuously working to improve our facilities.
It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to see you soon in our Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Returned to Guadalmina in June 2013, after a superb vacation last year. Had a very very nice vacation. Some comments:

- we had a sea view room which is well worth the extra money, since it comes with a small terrace/ balcony, perfect for savouring the views.

- we rented a car from Mallaga airport which is very good to have, given the hotel location; it also gives great flexibility to see Costa del Sol and also travel to nearby resorts and restaurants. The hotel this year introduced a€6 parking charge per day, this obviously was not appreciated since last year parking was free for hotel guests and parking space is not an issue.

- restaurants - the hotel offers a buffet breakfast, very very nice, specially option to have breakfast on the terrace, overlooking the sea. Variety and quality of breakfast dishes was quite good, although pastries were a bit of a dissapointed since they were usually not fresh. For dinner the hotel organises theme buffet dinners, which are quite nice (we tried on couple nights). Around the hotel there aren't that many eating choices, hence we usually drove 5-10-15km to some very nice places including L'Oriental (excellent Lebanese), Da Mario (excellent Italian), Tanino (try the Wok dishes!) and Medditeraneo (nearest Italian place, by the highway, quite nice and convenient, with good pasta dishes and salads).

- pool / beach - hotel has a very nice pool (large and clean) and also access to the beach. Compared to last year, the hotel introduced a further charge for using the beach €6 per person per day, which was likewise not appreciated particularly since the hotel location which is quite secluded means that there are no external visitors to the beach; as a result people usually crowded around the pool while the beach remained generally empty.

- wi-fi - this was a complete disaster, crashed multiple times a day for quite long periods (system needed to be reset frequently!). I am not exactly sure what the issue is (hotel servers or capacity problems at the internet provider?) but this needs to be fixed as a matter of priority/ urgency. We stayed quite a long period at the hotel and this issue continued throughout (ie was not a one off).

- service was generally very good, pleasant, nice throughout - in the restaurants, poolside, rooms, etc Level of cleanliness was also very good starting with the rooms and continuing throughout the resort.

All in a superb vacation, we would highly recommend the hotel and may return. Only suggestions include a) fixing the hotel wi-fi and b) including the various incidentals upfront in the hotel booking / tariff instead of introducing these parking, beach access, etc incidentals on site, which do not create a pleasant atmosphere or set the right tone.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your thoughts and opinions regarding your stay in our Hotel.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed once more our rooms, pool and breakfast area. We will forward your comments about the restaurant to our Food & Beverage Department in order to improve our service.
Regarding your comments about our Wi-Fi connection, we are very happy to inform you that our technicians are working at the moment and the internet connection is working properly. We hope you see some changes in your next stay with us.
We thank you for your loyalty and please, do not hesitate to contact us for any requirement or bookings; we will be very happy to assist you.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.8 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,715 reviews
2.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
945 reviews
7.5 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,779 reviews
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,488 reviews
5.0 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Urb. Guadalmina Baja, s/n, 29678, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $130 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guadalmina SPA & Golf Resort. MarbellaAn unbeatable location right on the Beach and by two Golf Courses. Located only ten minutes from Marbella and Estepona and only five minutes from Puerto Banus. Restaurants offering International cuisine, Cocktail Bar, Beach Club, Business Centre, WIFI, Outdoor Sea Water Swimming pool, Solarium, Pool Bar, Meeting Rooms for events & Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guadalmina Spa And Golf Resort
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Marbella
Guadalmina Hotel Marbella
Golf Hotel Guadalmina
Marbella Guadalmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing