We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel & Restaurant and 2 Quality Golf Courses”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #20 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful setting of this hotel, almost on the beach and adjacent to 2 holes of the South golf course. The golf course is not owned by the hotel but priority 'T' times are available at various times. Up until approx 09.00 hotel guests have access to the 11th 'T' of the South Course directly from the hotel which is literally a few minutes walk from your bedroom. For other 'T' times on the South Course and access to the North Course you have to travel approx 5 mins by car to the main Golf Club House; this can also be achieved by a golf buggy. The Hotel facilities are excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. The bedroom, en-suite (with bath & shower) and adjacent lounge area was more than adequate and was cleaned every day. The Buffet style Breakfast and Dinner were excellent with a great choice of dishes and wine.,there is also an alternative dinner menu; all at reasonable prices.You can breakfast overlooking the meditearanien sun rise and drink complimentary bucks fizz adjacent to the beach watching golfers on the 10th & 11th holes. We played and enjoyed both courses with a slight preference for the South who's greens were scary fast, We didn't have time to use the Spa facilities. The weather was brilliant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ-Harrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your wonderful review and thank you for having taken the time to comment about our Hotel.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Hotel facilities and you found the golf course easy accessible.
It is very rewarding to find that all our hard work really does leave a mark on our guests and you think to come back to our Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in our Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ok, well I stayed here for a 3 night golf break after staying 3 nights at Almenara Golf Hotel , Sotogrande and 3 nights at Hotel Gran Elba Estepona which were both excellent.
I'm afraid we were disapponted from the start at this place. We booked this hotel as it was protrayed as having the golf course on site which we assumed belonged to the hotel, the pictures show it next to the hotel, running along the beach -appearing to be all part of the same complex.
The hotel is in a large residential area which is not very well sign-posted to get to. On a arrival we parked in the car park through the barrier after taking a ticket. On arrival first impressions of the hotel were that it is a bit dated and in need of a total re-vamp. We checked in, and stated were were here for a golf break. Check-in was unfreindly but efficient.
Our room was large, bed large, but rock hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom was large but bath/shower small, dated and moldy round the seals etc. Balcony looked out onto the garden.
The spa looked nice but cost an extra 15 euros to use, and not included int the stay at all. The outdoor pool was not heated, and the guy cutting the grass blew the cutting into it so it looked dirty.
Breakfast was a buffet service, which was fine. We had our first tee time booked for 9am, so went to the golf shop adjacent to the hotel, there were buggies, trolleys etc there, so assumedthis waswhere we checked in/tee's off. We were told that we had to travel to the golf club, and couldn't tee off from the 11th (the hole adjacent to the hotel) as it stated in the hotel information. It soon became clear that Guadalmina Golf Club was independent and Guadalmina Golf hotel and Spa resort just get discount green fees. The golf club is a ten minute drive away from the actual hotel, so IS NOT ON SITE. By the time we loaded our clubs back in the car we were obviously late. Then we couldn't get out of the car park as the ticket which reception had validated wouldn't work. The drive over to the golf club was tricky and not well sign-posted. On arrival the Staff at the golf Club were vary unfrindly and asked for our tickets - what tickets? The hotel were supposed to have given us tickets to hand in at the club, the club were annoyed with the hotel for not telling us that. Buggy hire was 40 euros - more expensive than most courses/clubs. The staff at the club seemed like they couldn't be bothered to assist the hotel residents and didn't really want them there. Tees times were difficult to get as you have to book around the club competitions.
Eventually we tee'd off - on the north course, the course was very busy and we were waiting at every shot. Tee times too close, cramming as many in as possible. The course is nice and well kept, although in the middle of a residential area and adjacent to main roads. There were long walks between holes along roads and through residential areas, so can't say it was that pleasant.
The following days we played the South course which was much nicer - less roads and one hole runs along the beach and next to the hotel. Again the staff were unhelpful and unfriendly - barely managing to look away from the computer screen when serving you. The course was busy the second day, not so bad the third.
We attended at the hotel reception to get out golf tickets, only to be told the golf lady isn't here -so had to keep going back to catch her in.Staff all seemed to be confused whenever you asked for anything, to be honest all a little unfriendly old and past it!
Everything just seemed too much like hard work, nothing straight forward. Every time we tried to get out of the car park the tickets wouldn't work. The restaurant was understaffed - again they were unfriendly etc. A la carte food was nice, large prtions though - probably only need one starter between two.
They charge you 21 euros per beach towel, and then refund you when you take it back.There were empty bottles etcc around the place which didn't move the whole three days.Othere than that hotel was clean, although there were birds in the dining room and pecking at the croissants at breakfast.
All in all, just everything seemed a bit difficult, frustrating 3 days wouldn't reccommend the hotel to anyone - especially after staying at Almenara and hotel Gran Elba. The main thing to remember is that THE GOLF IS NOT ON SITE AND THE SPA COSTS EXTRA - the name is misleading - hotel Guadalmina Spa and Golf resort!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Beccy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your personal opinion about our Hotel in this site.

Reading your comments it seems we did not meet your wishes and expectations during your stay in our Hotel. We are very concerned when we read this kind of comments because if we had had any news from you about it, we would have made your stay a better one according to your special wishes. But what we cannot accept the offensive comments to our employees for the mere fact of hurt; employees that are working day by day with the only wish of satisfying our guests.

Around the Hotel we have the Guadalmina Golf course, specifically the tee 11 of the South course which our guests can see it from our Reception. As you are a golf player, you know that the golf courses are really extensive so in that case the tee 1 for both courses, due to its dimensions, is located at the other side of the main road (only 5 minutes by car). The golf Club allows our guests start from tee 11 but this depends on the availability and in case they do not have any tournament; in that case, our guests have to start from tee 1. In our Proshop you can rent a buggy which cost 40€ as you mentioned or with your car / taxi 8€ around per way. We have doubts about your comments you had not been attended by the Golf Desk; for sure we would help you in this issue.
Once more, knowing that the Golf course is not part of Guadalmina Hotel, like in most Hotels happened, you continue evaluating the golf staff with offensive comments as part of Guadalmina Hotel.

As in most hotels in the world, unless you book an offer including SPA, it is an extra facility and we have it like that in our website. Although we have some offers that involves accommodation and Spa as our “Eastern Break” or special prices on the Thermal Circuit for guests when they do not have it included.

Thanks to our location in the heart of nature and right in front the Mediterranean sea ... sometimes an unwanted bird appears into the restaurant, etc. While not desirable, is very difficult to prevent a bird into interior areas.

We would like to inform you and all our guests that we always have the correct and truthful information about our activities, facilities and prices.

Finally, you are continuously surprising us with your comments praising others Hotels which are located in the region but not in Marbella… Nevertheless, we hope to see you soon in a possible next stay and do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to give you the best service, adapted to your special requirements.

Yours sincerely,
Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Guadalmina at the end of December. The hotel is located on the Costa del Sol, right on the Mediterranean. All of the rooms have a view of the beach and the sea. Rooms were nice and large and clean. Check in and check out were very easy and parking was free right next to the hotel. The hotel is a little hard to find but if you exit the highway at San Pedro de Alcantara and go towards the Sea eventually you'll see signs to the hotel. Follow the signs carefully. Breakfast was absolutely fanastic every morning. You can sit out on the terrace with a beautiful view of the beach and Sea. The beach does not have the best sand but you can walk for quite a distance in both directions. The swimming pool looked very nice but it was closed while we were there. San Pedro de Alcantara has all the amenities you need (grocery stores, restaurants, shops, etc.) but you do need a car or you will pay a lot on taxis during your stay. I recommend the Hotel Guadalmina although it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLS419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife took my to the Hotel Guadalmina after she spent a long weekend there last year for her honeymoon. The hotel is the perfect combination of a traditional Spanish hotel and a modern cosmopolitan hotel. It's very clean, the staff are friendly, there are great views, the breakfast is fantastic, the buffet evening meals were very good and the spa room is fantastic. It's a little way from anywhere else (except all the amzing multi-million euro house that surround it) but it's only 10 euros to get into the centre of Puerto Banus. We're going back again in July.

Room Tip: We had a 'premier room' (or something similar) which had the largest balcony ever over looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tullmove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are truly thankful for your kind comments about our Hotel. Reading your words it seems we did and we are doing a good job.

We are happy to know that you like our facilities as our Breakfast and Spa room,
and our staff who met your expectations and made your stay unforgettable.

We are looking forward to see you soon in our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent five nights last summer, and I must admit it was a lovely experience. The hotel offers everything we asked for: good features, a quiet location out of the hectic Puerto Banus (but just 5 minutes drive), and a very helpful staff.

As a professional of hospitality, I pay a lot of attention to the service. As I've noticed in previous visits to the Costa del Sol, service can either be too relaxed or too standardized. I was missing that special touch, that efficient friendliness, but I must admit I was satisfied in this hotel. A great special thanks to Mr. Manuel Rebora (general assistant manager). I had a chance to meet him and I realized he found the right way to improve service standards without becoming bossy. A great labour you can notice in every single member of the staff.

Thumbs up for this hotel... looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask for an upgrade. It's value for money, junior suites are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhyNotATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. It is very important for us to know that our guests meet their needs and expectations.

We really appreciate your words about our staff and we inform you that we are working to improve our service and facilities day by day. We are sure you will see some changes in a possible next stay with us.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any requirement or in case you want to book. We will be very happy to assist you.
Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We spent about a week over at the Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort. We were a couple of friends, traveling to play golf, and discover nice golf courses. Nice thing was the implantation (next to the see) of the hotel. Service was good, but the buffet style was enough after a week. The food was great, but almost every day the same. The golf course is not the reason why we stayed there. Anyway, the hotel is good, although many of the hotels I've stayed at, had more to offer for about the same price.

Room Tip: I don't remember there was a large choice in the different rooms. The nice thing was that all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Froanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for writing you comments about your stay in our Hotel in this site.
I am glad to read that you have enjoyed our Hotel and you discovered nice golf courses we have at the Costa del Sol.
Do not hesitate to contact our Reservation department nearly your Holidays in order to be informed about our Golf offers that for sure, you will find them much attractive.
Kind regards,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location of this beach-front hotel is great; five minutes from Puerto Banus by car and in a quiet area on the new golden mile. The area is an upmarket residential villa area. The hotel is truly value for money and offers good food, nice architecture and a good ambience. The rooms are a bit simple and needs better beds, blinds to make the rooms dark in the morning when the sun shines, updated mini-bar products and international TV-channels. The service is overall good, but it has great potential to be so much better. Some of the older waiters are close to being rude and ignorant, but most are nice and friendly. The location is also directly on a beach-front golf course - not easy to miss if you are a golfer! We had a venue at the hotel, and it was very professionally carried out and at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room with a view near the beach..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gudleiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalmina, Director General at Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guest,
We agree that our Hotel has a lot of potential and we are working in order to improve our service and facilities day by day.
We inform you that at the moment we have international channels in all rooms and concerning the darkness, they have blinds behind the curtains.
We really thank you for your review and we hope you come back soon in order to see some improvements meaning that we are in the right way.
Kind regards,
Fernando Al-Farkh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#13 of 70 in Marbella
1,518 reviews
3.8 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,750 reviews
7.5 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 70 in Marbella
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#8 of 70 in Marbella
1,408 reviews
6.4 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort

Address: Urb. Guadalmina Baja, s/n | Calle 9, 29678, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#9 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#15 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $131 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Guadalmina SPA & Golf Resort. MarbellaAn unbeatable location right on the Beach and by two Golf Courses. Located only ten minutes from Marbella and Estepona and only five minutes from Puerto Banus. Restaurants offering International cuisine, Cocktail Bar, Beach Club, Business Centre, WIFI, Outdoor Sea Water Swimming pool, Solarium, Pool Bar, Meeting Rooms for events & Celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Guadalmina Spa And Golf Resort
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Marbella
Guadalmina Hotel Marbella
Golf Hotel Guadalmina
Marbella Guadalmina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing