We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly, less than I expected at twice the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Sadly, less than I expected at twice the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

We reserved a junior suite at 765 euros per night. Very pricey but being July and a junior suite we decided to pay the premium for the extra space, the service and the views. The "extra space" was not really there as this suite was smaller than for instance any Marriott-type standard room in the USA. Two twin single beds (!!) and a sofa and an extra table, plus a balcony with great views of the pool, the grounds and the sea. Bathroom very small with separate toilet and both a bath tube and a shower but two people cannot really be here at the same time. Views, again, very good. The quality of the floors was sub-standard for a 5* Grand Luxe hotel. Just basic ceramic. I guess being a "beach hotel" this is what you get, but the decor and furniture was really poor. More a 3* hotel than a 5.

No radio, no CDplayer, no MP3 player, nothing... and this was a junior suite...
The hotel had no Air conditioning working on any floor other than the lobby and the rooms, but in all corridors and the elevator it was terribly hot and humid at around 98 degrees farenheit. I asked two Staff members and they confirmed that Air Con is never working in the corridors! The system was there -apparently- but it is not used I guess for saving purposes! This is Marbella and summer time! At 765 Euros (around 1,000 dollars!) per night I would expect something more. Much more in fact.

No concierge desk, so you have to rely on the front desk Staff to advise you on local amenities but they are few and extremely busy with guests so after a while you just give up. I have no idea how you can get a 5* rating like this. It has nothing to do with other Melias 5 stars that I know, like the one in Palma de Mallorca (much, much better hotel)

The location is great, the grounds are good as is the swimming pool BUT, no safe guard (is that even legal?) in the 4 days we stayed we saw no safe guard and when we asked about it were told they do not have one. The only pool attendant was the chap giving out towels, but at 6 PM they start taking them off, although you could have 3 more hours of sun at least.

They have one redeeming feature if you are extremely lucky and get a reservation to dine at Calima, One Michelin star restaurant in the hotel. Innovative food, great views and service and two menus of 106 or 116 Euros plus drinks. But it will be unlikely you will be able to get a reservation.

All in all, a below-average hotel, pricey and not worthy of a 5 GL rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    379
    106
    33
    35
See reviews for
385
802
54
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donahgadee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Melia Don Pepe hotel is in a wonderful location overlooking the sea and promenade which provides a pleasant walk into Marbella in one direction [ with numerous and excellent restaurants] and in the other as far as Puerto Banus [ 3 miles].The facilities are top class with an extensive beautiful garden and pool areas with plenty of umbrellas and sunbeds to relax.The bedrooms are on the small size for this class of hotel but are well equipped with a seating area - the superior rooms with a sea view are recommended.The standard of housekeeping is high. The public areas are pleasant. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and ranks with any other 5* hotel. All the staff were very professional, polite and helpful.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malDonahgadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

Just enjoyed one weeks relaxing break at this hotel which does everything well.

All aspedts of the service were very good with helpful polite staff. The ambience was perfect for relaxing couples vacation. The room was very good although the shower was disappointing. Breakfast ws excellent. The pool area was busy but quiet and relaxing, and the location was perfect for a walk along the sea front. Would recommend and will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachboy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Very efficient check-in and out. The staff were polite and friendly but always had respect for us as clients. The room was clean and well maintained and there was everything we required. No tea/coffee making facilities but in this quality of hotel there is always room service which we found most efficient. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on with pillows to match. We had breakfast served in the room each day (not quite as ordered but ok) and ate on the balcony, from which we had a beautiful view of the Mediterranean and the hotel grounds. There seemed to be plenty of sun loungers to go round and on our last day we rented a bed by the pool. This was pure luxury. A bottle of cava, fruit, ice tea & nibbles plus a comfy bed shaded from the heat but allowing a warm & gentle breeze to blow over us (heavenly).
The evenings we spent in the piano bar. Manuel (the pianist) was excellent and just perfect for this hotel. He could play almost anything and tailored his music to suit the people & atmosphere at the time. The cocktails were superb too!
We ate in the restaurant on two occasions. Very classy but a little too fancy for me but my wife loved it. On other occasions we ate at La Ola in Puerto Banus. This was very busy but equally very good and watching the people, cars & boats whilst we ate was a bonus.
On one evening Abraham, the hotel deputy manager was there to chat with the guests and genuinely wanted to know what they could do to improve our stay. What a refreshing change from the meaningless "Is everything alright" but couldn't care less, you get in most places. All hotels & restaurants please take note!
We wanted a quality hotel to relax together. It delivered even more than we expected. Pricey, but you get what you pay for. Well done Don Pepe!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpyoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leinster
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

Just recently returned from my second visit to the Melia Don Pepe.
Unfortunately, the hotel was hosting a conference while we were there. The people attending the conference totally took over the hotel. At lunchtime, the pool restaurant was taken over. They were loud (lots of strutting on mobile phones around the pool - great when youre holiday!) and complained a lot about service in the restaurant when in fact their presence only added to the service problems.
That said, the hotel is in a great location on the beach with a good selection of restaurants close by.
Apart from being aware that a conference was going on, I was disappointed about the cost of internet access, the size of the rooms and the awful shower.
Would I go again? probably, but definitely not when a conference is being held

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

We recently stayed at this hotel and we chose it for its position on the sea front , 10 mins walking distance to the old town of Marbella and immediate access to the sea front walkway. The hotel is a seventies looking hotel but has lovely gardens and pools with lots of sunbeds . The pool attendants will supply towels and move umberellas and one of the young attendants was one of the only members of staff here who always had a smile on his face and wanted to help.We did find that the younger members of staff were eager to please and help, the others tended to fall into the grumpy old men group who did the minimum.The rooms are smallish compared to other five stars hotels we have stayed in but are nicely furnished ,king sized bed was very comfortable and the bedding and towels were excellent. The towels were changed twice a day. The breakfast was good with lots of choice both continental and cooked but sadly while on holiday the roof was being repaired on the existing breakfast room and breakfast was then moved to a dingy banqueting room that did not have opening windows or even the air conditioning put on ,more budget hotel than five star ,more suiting the staff than the visitors . The hotel staff didn't seem to be bothered that most english visitors thought this provision was dire. Enjoying a leisurely breakfast in the early morning sunshine is something we look forward to on our holidays. Pool lunch restaurant was good . We did not dine here at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beechnut_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, England
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for three nights in early/mid June for a conference. Having just stayed the 3 nights previous at the Vincci Estrella de Mar which is another 5 star establishment, I was disappointed in this one. I found the place fairly souless, a typical conference resort. I am glad I wasn't paying full rates having had the benefit of conference rates as it is certainly not worth the full price. The service in pool restaurants/poolside area was abysmal.
Prices of drinks and food was sky high and food was of OK standard.
The location was smart. Steps led down to the beach and you could easily walk along the paved promenade into Marbella (about 15 mins away)
Would I go back - only for business and only if necessary

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank damo0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.3 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing