We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely pool area - needs an update!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location just 10 mins walk from the centre of Marbella along the lovely beach walk way. Spacious and inviting pool area with lots of grassy areas for kids to play. However the pools were FREEZING (typical in Spain though as no one seems to heat pools in Spain) so neither us nor our kids could actually swim. A shame that other guests felt the need to reserve beds right next to pool at 8am and then not actually occupy them until midday - when are hotels going to take a stand on this and chuck their stuff off??? It means that us with our 3 young kids under the age of 7 can't actually sit by the pool as we can't see our kids from the only loungers left. Annoying.

Anyway. Queued around 20 mins to check in - why? Surely the hotel print off a list of who is arriving each day and get the forms ready and keys ready to go so that there are no hold ups? no - apparently not.

Breakfast was superb. Lunch and snacks at the Cappucino Bar on the beach was great (although service a little unpredictable!) Room was average - very expensive for what it was. Great shower. Depressing lobby area - very dated. Bar very 80s - circa Wham!

Very nice and helpful staff HOWEVER I did object to the lady at breakfast trying to flog me a timeshare when I am trying to feed myself and my kids and I'm on holiday. She actually followed me out the door - not acceptable.

In summary, great location and a lovely pool area. A few niggles - stop the sales pitches and sort out the queues at reception and it would actually be rather good!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Michell M.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Gran Melia Don Pepe.

We do apologise for your coment about our check in procedure, we do our best to prepare everithing necessary before the guest arrival. As you know by law we must take all the personal information from the passports of our clients. And that is why we need some time before giving the keys of the room.

Thank you indeed for your comment about our food and service. We will share it with the rest of our staff.

Do not hesitate we will take good note of your comments for our daily improvement plan. Hope we would have the opportunity of hosting you again on our resort in a near future to exceed your expects.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,774)
There are newer reviews for Gran Melia Don Pepe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very Disappointing! No relaxation.
After booking the holiday months ago we were surprised that nobody informed us of the refurbishment programme. Week 1: Grass by pool removed and decking laid. (Constant noise of saws cutting the wood) Week 2: Re-thatching of roofs. Hammering and nail air-gun used constantly. Week 3: Renovation of indoor swimming pool. Woken at 8.30am each day. Saws, drills and a bucket crane used to remove roof which took approx 4 days. Told this will go on for at least another 3-4 weeks. Forthcoming refurb is conversion of outside lunch/bar area into a gym.
Also fed up with being harassed by lady in red on entry to breakfast trying to get us to have free lunch to talk about "Melia Rewards". Alarm Bells (Time Share???).
Bedrooms are very tired. Bathroom is tiny with shower over bath. Had to call housekeeping a number of times re replenishing shower gels. Drinking glasses were also not replenished, mini-bar was not always replenished. Our toilet overhead lightbulb blew one evening so we thought the cleaner would automatically report it to maintenance to have it replaced as we were sure she wouldnt beable to see to clean the toilet. On return to the room later that day the bulb had not been replaced so we had to go to reception to notify them that four things needed addressing: We needed, yet again, shower gel, drinking glasses, water for the mini bar and the light bulb changing.
The hotel has an arrangement with cappuccino cafe where general public can acces the cafe through the hotel gardens. I cannot see any reason why the residents need to use their room key to open the gate when staff at cappuccino let anyone who asks thru the gate with a key of their own. Somewhat concerning with regard to security,
Im sure that somebody staying at another hotel could easily go via cappoccinos into the hotel grounds and use all the pool facilities without any questions being asked.
The Grand Melia is meant to be a gran luxe hotel but we have visited and know many 5 star hotels on this coastline that are much much better.
The only thing going for the Melia is the location, being in central Marbella.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear MR Keith W,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time in sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor.

We do want to apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. It is a must for the entire team to make sure that all our guests have enjoyable time in our hotel, despite of the facilities inconvenience that could come out, which was obviously the case during your time with us.

We would like to inform you that in any case we have decided to go through the works it is because they might be done in order to avoid any bigger inconvenience to our guest or because of a security matter.

The entire team is very concerned about your comments because the feedbacks we receive from our guests are of invaluable assistance. Your comments allow us to identify and focus our efforts on those aspects of our operations that require special attentions.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies. We hope you give us a second opportunity to serve you in any future stay in Marbella.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a disappointment our second visit was to the Don Peppe, we visited last July and decided we'd come for a long weekend.
We arrived on Thursday to find the indoor pool was being demolished, no mention of this on booking or we would have booked another hotel. Worse than this we had said to family it was a lovely hotel in a quite location, with an indoor pool.
The nose of the demolition continued all day till 6, the following morning we were woken by the work starting at 830 am. After much discussion with the hotel customer service, she moved out room. The worked stopped that day at 6 as there was a wedding at 8'; the music continued till 1, not great but not too bad.
The following evening another wedding music and noise until gone 230 am....
The hotel is not a place to go to on a weekend unless your having late nights yourself.

The manager has so far to speak to us regarding the pool (Friday), we could have checked out but our parents who are here till Thursday are unable to do so. We leave Monday thank fully after not having a very restful time and feel disappointed.

The location, food and staff have been very friendly, the hotel rooms do need updating, not an oasis of calm

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leemap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Mr Leemap1,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Marbella and for sharing your opinion with other travelers in Tripadvisor Website.
We are very concerned about your comments. As you know the feedback we receive from our guests are of invaluable assistance. They allow us to identify and focus our efforts on those aspects of our operations that require special or immediate attentions, ensuring that your suggestions should not be cause for complaint in the future.
We are really sorry for all the inconvenience caused during the weekend. We had to take immediate actions due to the incident occurred in the ceiling of the swimming pool in order to avoid a bigger problem, considering always the best choice for our guest. We do apologize for the disturbances caused during the works.

Thank you very much for your good feedback about our staff. We work every day to go for the extra mile.

We beg you accept our apologies for not having achieved expectations.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I was impatient to see how the renovation has transformed this traditional old melia, very well located in marbella.

I am very disappointed by almost everything.

It is supposedly a beach hotel but they actually have let a company managed their beach restaurant which is overpriced for a very boring menu and they charge the hotel client for the lounger on the hotel beach! Incredible.. Just walk a few meters to marbella club, same room price but a real resort private beach where not everthing is extra. The big sunbed by the pool are also extra at the melia... Nonsense... They are always empty obviously!

Overall, the bedrooms are the biggest disappointment. Although i had a large room, sea view, the decor was horrible and already quite in poor state! The bed mattress was hard and very uncomfortable! The pillows were the worst ever. Tiny bathtube and just overall, really poor state of the room. The balcony are not maintained and paint is completely out.

There is generally a feel of very poor maintenance through out the hotel! Some paint, more refurbishment and truly a resort free beach is urgently needed or then reclassify as 4 star hotel and lower your prices! This is in no way comparable to other 5 star beach resorts!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joker37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaadA691, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Joker37,

On behalf of myself and all the staff at the hotel, I would like to thank your for choosing our Gran Melia Don Pepe for your stay, as well as taking the time to send your opinion.

We are very concerned about your comments. As you know the feedback we receive from our guests are of invaluable assistance. They allow us to identify and focus our efforts on those aspects of our operations that require special or immediate attentions, ensuring that your suggestions should not be cause for complaint in the future.

We would like to apologise for the inconveniences you have had in your stay. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are really sorry to know that we have not reached yours.

We will take good notice of all your comments to try to avoid these incidents in the future and give our guest the best quality of service and product.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

We send our best greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Having recently returned from a superb week at the Don Pepe we're eager to book again. We treated ourselves to the Red Level experience and it was worth every penny from Maria's warm greeting on our arrival to the super complimentary Red Level Lounge where one could obtain food and drink all day. Not to mention our complimentary champagne cocktail every evening at the Champagne Bar in the lobby - Fabulous.

Our room 715 was on the seventh floor with beautiful sea views. The bed was huge and comfortable with a selection of pillows. It was very quiet and hard to believe that we were in a large hotel, I actually haven't slept so well in ages especially with the sound of the sea in the background (window open). The bathroom was well equipped but could have done with a separate shower as opposed to one over the bath. The Clarins goodies were lovely and replenished regularly. One gripe... the hairdryer provided was one of those awful wall mounted ones situated in the bathroom, so my advice is to take your own (or perhaps the Don Pepe could supply one in the bedroom!)

Food... breakfast was a fabulous buffet with gorgeous fruit, pastries and any amount of cooked items. We ate in the hotel's steak restaurant on our first evening where we had a very good meal, I had steak which was cooked to perfection and my wife had 'cod-fish' which was delicately and lightly cooked, just how she likes it. After our first evening the weather was so good that we ate at Cappuccino's where we could sit out until late and people watch, the food was very good and well served and not over priced. We also went and sat out to eat a little further along the prom towards Marbella at Garum, a super find and well worth a visit.

A small mention must be made about the scented candles lit every evening and the gorgeous relaxing aroma in the hotel which lent a spa like atmosphere throughout.

Our congratulations goes to the management and staff at this really super hotel for making us feel very special. We will return!!

Room Tip: Room 715 - situated on the highest floor other than the penthouse suites also located in the middle...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelcritic30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaadA691, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Travelcritic30,

On behalf of all the team of The Gran Meliá Don Pepe, thank you very much for giving us the esteemed opportunity of serving you during your stay in Marbella and for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is very much appreciated to read such a good comments. We are really proud that you had such a wonderful experience and our Oyster & Champagne Bar met your expectations as well as the Café Cappuccino. The hotel wants to give the widest selection of bars and restaurants because we truly believe it is a very important part of our guest holidays experience. Our team works every days to exceed our guests' expectations and our goal is to make your dreams come true, to give you unforgettable experience; therefore we are very happy that you have had a very nice stay with us. Thank you four the feedback about the hairdryer, we take it into account. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at the hotel and working to exceed your expectations.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with very attentive staff.
We were BB and was the best breakfast experience ever!
The sea view rooms were a bit small but lovely and clean.
This is a proper old school 5 star hotel.
I would defiantly go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Robsti,

On behalf of all the staff of The Gran Meliá Don Pepe, we would like to thank you for sharing your kind opinion on Tripadvisor Website.

When we read a comment as your we can just thank you for being our guest.

We will be more than pleased to share your comments with the rest of the team.

We look forward to meet you again soon in Marbella.

A greeting from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a trully great hotell, with all facilities you might need, including a (really) warm pool, gym, a variation of restaurants etc. A specific mention should be made of the tennis pro, Mr Ernesto Arrigo, who gave fantastic lessons for all the familly (including a four and a seven year old son) as well as for myself who previously never had any idea that I could actually learn to play tennis! We will come back soon, mostly because of Mr Arrigo!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohanO935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear JohanO935,

First of all we would like to thank you indeed for having taken some of your valuable time to send us your opinion.

We really appreciate your positive comments, do not hesitate that we will share it with our tennis instructor Ernesto, who will be so happy to know that he reached a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay an unforgettable experience

We send our best greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#14 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $250 - $2,713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing