We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special hotel with special service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special hotel with special service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed many times but went in jan for my 50th, didn't mention the big birthday to hotel but when we arrived we were offered champagne and on the big day they delivered chocolate strawberries to my room and when I went down for breakfast the waiters sang happy birthday and presented me with a cake!! As if that wasn't enough upon returning to my room a very special bottle of champagne had been delivered to me with the compliments of the hotel...wow !!!
As i said I've been many times before and I will be going back again, if your going to marbella and enjoy a great hotel, good service and folk looking after you the very best . This is the one!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 6th floor sea facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Pamela H,

Let us thank you for sharing your comment about your birthday experience in the Gran Meliá Don Pepe with other Tripadvisor users.

We knew that it was an important date. That is why all our staff made all the efforts to offer you a delightful stay.

We will be really glad to have the chance to accommodate you on your next stay in Marbella, we are waiting for you!

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    411
    121
    36
    35
See reviews for
433
872
56
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

First class hotel, the service was excellent, food excellent, and the hotel is located in a fantastic location on the beach. This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back.
The Red Level service was run excellently by the very friendly Marie and Jennifer. Canapes & sandwiches + Cava etc were served all day. It is certainly worth upgrading to sixth floor and
above to have red level service included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julia1503221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear julia1503221,

I would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marbella, as well as for your kind comments about the hotel, food and staff on the Red Level; be sure that I will share them with the entire team.

It is a pleasure for us to know that your stay at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe was an incredible experience.

Our principal aim is to give you our best service, make your stay unforgettable and reach your expectations.

Your positive comments will help us with our continuing effort to improve the service quality.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed again with my wife for 10 days at the Melia Don Pepe, Red Level. This Red Level rooms starts from 6th floor and up with sea view, it also gives some small luxury benefits like thick nice bathrobes, amenities in the bathroom and the access to the Red Level lounge equipped with snacks and cava, in the evenings also with spirits. Also included is every evening free cava cocktail at the oyster bar, unfortunately it does not include free oysters but they can be ordered to a reasonable price.
The hostess at the Red Level was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is quite, well located, a few kilometers from the Marbella center and clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jerry59,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your last stay in Marbella, as well as for taking the time to share your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We are proud to know that you had a good stay with us and I we are delighted with your comments about our Red Level staff, do not hesitate that we will share with them.

Once again thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marbella and for your feedback, we will take good note about your comments.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Gran Meliá Don Pepe.

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Don Pepe in 2008, my partner decided he wished to spend 5 nights here before his 60th birthday. On arrival on the 7th February we were greeted again with a warm welcome & complimentary cava & chilled water with lime. Just what we needed!

Our room on the 6th floor had wonderful views over the Straits of Gibraltar to Africa, The 'Rock' & Puerto Banus. The weather was very kind to us. Our room was very comfortable but had not been updated since our visit over 5 years previously. The views though from the balcony were great.

We had a leisurely lunch at the restaurant by the pool on two occasions. The service, food & 'nibbles' were excellent.

On two evenings we ate in the hotel restaurant. Although the steaks had to be returned as they weren't cooked as per our request, they were eventually cooked to our liking & were very tasty. Again the service was excellent.

One evening we ate at Cappuccino'. There was a lovely fire burning & the atmosphere was very cosy.

Breakfast was a lovely experience. The choice was excellent, as was the service.

Lluis, a lovely young member of staff, showed us a Junior Suite. This was very contemporary & twice the size of our room. The price to upgrade was rather expensive, but if you want to 'push the boat out', I would imagine this category of room would be worth the extra.

What makes the Don Pepe unique is the exceptional service. You would struggle to find service like this at many hotels today. I do think though that a little bit of 'TLC' needs to be given to the rooms other than the Junior Suites & above.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high level (5 & above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Elizabeth E,

First off all we would like to thank you for taking some of your precious time to share you opinion on the web site. Also we would like to thank you for your amazing comment, we are very proud of our kind words.

We are very happy to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and our Hospitality and Service met your expectations. Thank you for choosing us and for being our guest.

Looking forward to welcoming you again and making your stay an unforgettable experience.

We send our best greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just returned from three weeks at the majestic Don Pepe which is a bit like an ageing queen who has seen better days and now feeling a little tired. The tables and chairs are a bit scuffed and the stair carpets worn in places. With no carpet in the rooms the 'clip-clop' of high heels above while you are trying to get to sleep is annoying. But we disliked most the 'MUSACK' played in the beautiful gardens completely destroying the peace and tranquility of nature's sounds - birds singing,the sound of the sea etc. We could not sit there because of this! Having said all that, the staff are first class, very attentive at breakfast (which is excellent!) and most helpful and pleasant at all times. Christabal on reception, Lluis & Mithat of Red Glove and Paco & Pedro plus many others at Breakfast. Pleasant walk along the promanade to Marbella. If only they would get rid of that darn 'musack' in the garden!! Brian& Patricia

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
 Dear Brian L.,

First, we hope you have had a pleasant journey to your home after staying at the Gran Meliá Don Pepe.
 
We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your recent stay at the Costa del Sol and for taking the time to share your feelings.
 
On behalf of the hotel team we would like to inform you that it has been a pleasure having you with us, and we are very proud to your positive feelings regarding to our staff, we agree with your comment, they are our most valued valour.
 
As you know, we really appreciate the comments of our guest which help us to know in which services  we should turn our attention to keep improving, and we work really hard to ensure that our guest feel like at home.
 
We hope to welcome you one more time and have the opportunity to offer you our best smile and the peace and tranquillity that you are looking for.
 
Please be reminded that we are at your entire disposal for anything you may need,
 
Many thanks for your time and cooperation,
 
Our best greetings from heart, 

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotels in which we have stayed in Spain, the service is exceptional and the food superb. The location and amenities are first class and we would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Julie S.,

First of all let us thank you for your kind comments about our resort and for sharing it with the rest of Tripadvisor’s users.

We are really proud to know that our service and food have exceeded your expectations; we do our best to continue improving our facilities to satisfy all the requirements of our clients.

In the name of all the team of the Gran Meliá Don Pepe, we hope to see you again and have the opportunity to offer you a delightful stay,

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First class hotel, the service was excellent, food excellent, and the hotel is located in a fantastic location on the beach. This was our first stay at this hotel and we will definitely be back. It also has secure private parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank DSAIslay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lluis Miquel G, E-Guest Experience at Gran Melia Don Pepe, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear DSAIslay,

We can not start to answer your nice comment posted on Tripadvisor’s website without giving you thanks.

Is a pleasure to know that we offered you a first-class stay on your first experience in Gran Meliá Don Pepe. Do not hesitate that we will keep working for upgrade our service in order to offer to our clients an unforgettable holidays.

We look after to welcome you again as your destination in Marbella,

Greetings from heart,

Lluis M. González
E-Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.4 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,673 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella
Barcelo Marbella
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,419 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing