We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Don Pepe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Well worth upgrading to a junior suite, especially if you are staying for a few nights. All, for example, face the sea, have extra space and a good range of freebies. All staff we met were very welcoming and helpful. We ate 1 night in the restaurant - good quality and value; as were lunches around the pools. Breakfast was a joy with good choice and service. As for location, the hotel is on the beach, the Old Town of Marbella is about a 15 min walk and Puerto Bunas is around a 45 min walk - both very pleasant along the beach. Malaga airport is a 45 min drive to the hotel (or about 70 euros by taxi). We really enjoyed our stay here and would have no issues about returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaleNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    364
    105
    31
    34
See reviews for
377
783
53
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

El hotel esta bien situado con un area de alberca importante. Los cuartos estan bien pero no son de gran lujo como dice ser Esta lejos de los Hoteles de Gran Lujo en el mundo.

Al llegar el lunes 19 por la noche tuve que bajar las maletas yo y no vi un valet hasta que me encontre dentro del lobby... un hotel de lujo siempre tiene alguien en la puerta sin excepcion, temporada baja o alta. Esta fue la primera impresion del gran lujo.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gbarrutieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week in march '11. I found the hotel was outdated, dirty and way overpriced. Our room was not cleaned properly, the staff were rude and unhelpful, it's advertised as child friendly - we didn't think it was, at all!

I would never go back or recommend it to anyone!

I was.charged 12 euro for a carton of milk for daughter, when I questioned the price I was told " this is a 5 star hotel not a supermarket!"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Johnemmerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had carried out my customary research on Trip Advisor into 4 and 5 star hotels in Marbella for our five day break. I saw little real difference in price between the two categories when taking into account travelling expenses, taxis etc, so we decided to stay in the centre of Marbella being convenient for Restaurants, Shops and the usual sightseeing.

As we had hired a car we arrived at the Hotel within 45 minutes from Malaga Airport without any difficulty. The Hotel is easy to find and of course well known if you have to ask directions involving some hand signals !!.

From the time you enter this magnificient Hotel and drive into their large free carpark you would have to be impressed. The entrance behoves a five star establishment and Reception is both large and modern. It contains a Beauty Salon, Cocktail Bar, Restaurant with adjoining Bar, free internet access if required and a beautifully designed Reception Desk. The check-in process is business like and we were upgraded to a standard room with sea view from the one we had booked, which was a mountain view. The difference it makes would be well worth the extra charge if one had to pay on pre-booking. The room was on the third floor, roughly in the middle of the Hotel and had the most marvellous view over the extensive Hotel gounds and gardens which lead down to the sea. Just sitting on the balcony lifts the spirits.

The room is nicely furnished, not exactly large, but more than adequate for relaxing when not seeing the sights and sun of Marbella. The ensuite bathroom has both a bath and shower, but the WC section is rather small and slightly awkward to move around in. Not exactly a minus but noticeable. There is an ice dispenser on each floor so that cool glass of wine on your balcony is easily arranged.

Breakfast consists of a very large choice of fruit, cereals, cheese, cold meats, numerous types of breads and hot food and the veritable baked beans for the more discerning diner. If you want to live the dream, there is also free Cava and fresh orange juice for your early morning Bucks Fizz.

It is a buffet style breakfast with attentive Waiter Service for your coffee or tea and clearing of tables etc. There is a hot food service section at one end of the Restaurant where you can obtain a freshly made omelette or pancake prepared by one of the Chefs. There are also a selection of stuffed mushrooms, sausages (Iberian) and various other types of prepared delicacies. However we found this food to be consistently cold on most mornings.

We were obvioulsy visiting at the end of the Season and I would say that the Hotel was only approx 1/4 full with Guests. There are numerous relaxers dotted around the two outdoor pools and there use is free with an Attendant who will supply the necessary items such as towels and drinks while you are relaxing. There is also an indoor pool, massage rooms and a Michelin Starred Restaurant, which was closed during our stay.

One tip I would give is to walk down to the back steps that lead down from the Hotel to the promenade and sea. The Hotel has a Cappuchino Coffee Bar and Restaurant, virtually on the promenade. It had wonderful coffee, hot and cold meal choices and the standard of food is great. The Staff are also extremely friendly and efficient.

There are numerous choices of Restaurants and Bars within a fifteen minute walk from the Hotel on the promenade side, which cater for every palate. One tip I would give is look for the ones with a largely Spanish Clientele. The food is far better quality.

I would recommend the Don Pepe to anyone except Hens and Stags. It is not that type of establishment. Other reviews often describe the Hotel as full of "auld wans". In other words elderly Guests. Lets just say it is not a lager lout destination.

-'s

It seems a shame to mention these as they are not major, but here goes.

The bathroom sink unit had a great deal of dirt built up on the top of the black marble facia board under the sink top.

The bedroom lighting system is a little complicated.

The ice machine which are located on every floor was out of order for at least 48 hours during our stay.

The Hotel Bar is featureless and devoid of any atmosphere.

The Hotel Grill Restaurant appeared to have a nice menu, but was empty every night as far as we could see.


+'s

The Hotel grounds are beautiful and very relaxing.

The pools are kept in excellent condition

The breakfast is one of the best we have experienced.

The Staff are both friendly and efficient, especially Marianna, sorry we had to cancel (you know what I mean)

The location is extremely convenient for everything.

For those who require taxis, there is a rank immediately outside the Hotel.

I will be hopefully be going back to the Don Pepe next year and would recommend the Hotel to anyone who wants high standards, good location,relaxing breaks, friendly staff, free parking and free Wi-Fi. In Marbella I would not stay anywhere else after experiencing this Hotel.

Look at the photographs of the Hotel on the booking sites and just count the days till you arrive. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if budget allows. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetartanleprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

It all looks great until you start paying attention to details. The bathroom frame had no paint at the bottom and was rotting due to water contact. After taking a shower the washroom is all wet because the design of the shower is poor and water will just go everywhere. If you open the closet doors completely to have access to the drawers you can't close the door by the handle because it disappears behind the other closet door. Painting over mirror hooks (for a 5 star hotel? seriously?), there was a hole in the wall at the base of the bed. Clearly the previous guests had a blast. The door frame is an inch away from the wall making it clear the hotel got poorly renovated. One of my colleague's room had a bug in the bathtub. oh, and if you need ice you'll have to check three floors before finding a working ice machine. This is without mentioning what might have been an occasional glass of bad milk or undercooked bacon. Fine... all first world problems.

The real issue was the lack of safety systems. There are no emergency lights in the room in case of a power outage. Their fire system consists of candles and, according to the front desk, in case of fire (with no power) someone would run up the 7 floors to alert everyone.

The one thing that 'saved' this hotel was how incredibly nice the staff is (except a waiter in the restaurant that will point at your outfit if it's not according to the dress code). Within 24 hours of us being there I called the front desk several times for several reasons and they couldn't have been any more helpful. With a baby we asked for hot water every two hours including at night and always got it with a smile. I praise their efforts.

Room Tip: Get a room close to an emergency exit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Me and my partner had a lovely short break at this hotel. The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The hotel is just at nice as the photos and the sea view from our room on the 7th floor was just phenomenal.
It has a nice relaxing environment and you can also take lovely strolls on the beach from the hotel.
I recommend the hotel breakfast as it has such a wide selection one of the biggest and best i have ever seen.
The rooms and bathroom are very neat, and the balcony was lovely.
However we were not impressed our double bed was 2 singles beds joined together so kept moving apart.
Also lots and lots of ants in the indoor Jacuzzi area a bit of a put off!
Besides from that is was a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Depends what you like i know the options were mountain or sea view. The mountains were beautiful, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel has a great location overlooking the sea and a 10 minute walk along the lovely seafront promenade into town, The garden and pool area is spacious with lovely mature trees and shrubs. The room is spotless and comfortable. I kept hanging up towels but they were changed at least once a day which is excessive from an environmental point of view. The breakfast buffet has a great selection of fresh fruit,cooked food and pancakes,continental meats fish and cheeses but didn't have a decent muesli or a croissant.
After leaving I realised I had left my spectacles in the room- the reception staff could not hve been more helpful in dealing with this,kept in touch and posted them back free 0f charge very promptly.

Room Tip: We decided not to pay an extra 30 euro per night for a sea view therefore overlooked the town and mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.6 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.6 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
#10 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Don Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Don Pepe

Property: Gran Melia Don Pepe
Address: Jose Melia s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Business Hotel in Marbella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Don Pepe 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Gran Melia Don Pepe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel Marbella
Gran Melia Marbella
Gran Melia Hotel Marbella
Don Pepe Marbella
Don Pepe Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing