We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting right on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect setting right on the beach”
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Staff were really helpful and friendly and would go out of their way to say hello or 'ola' to you. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which was very spacious and typically Andulasian in style. As we were on the lower floor our room was always lovely and cool even in the late 30's early 40's heat. The hotel is unusual in design as it was like separate apartments but with the use of the hotel facilities. So yes you had to walk outside and up the road to the main building for breakfast but it was so glorious in the sunshine it was fine. The main thing we enjoyed was the very short walk (2 minutes)down onto the lovely sandy beach, usually if you went before 11am you could easily get sun loungers and the cushions and towels were brought to you by attendants and once you had paid (which you could put on your room) the loungers were yours for the day (just make sure you put something on your sun lounger if you go for lunch)

I know some people have said it was expensive for drinks etc on the beach but it is an exclusive part of Marbella and to be expected. You didn't have to have beach service (at £5 per small bottle of water in a glass with ice and lemon) you could buy a 1.5litre bottle for £2 from the little beach shops which you pass on the way to your loungers anyway.

The biggest problem with this hotel was the breakfast area, the food itself was fine but it was all squashed into one area, the toast machine which was very popular was right at the end of a table which crossed with another table with juice and cereal and milk, so you had to push your way through then keep moving for people who wanted milk on their cereal then pushing back in to get your toast, small moan but.... the cooked food side was minisule as well but we never used that, stuck to the fruit toast and cereal because it was easier. There was almost a rugby scrum if you came for breakfast in the last half hour which most people seemed to do, but that happens wherever you go.

Not much to do for younger kids, our son is 6 and if he didn't like the beach we would have struggled, there is a water park but 45minutes drive away so didn't go.

We really enjoyed this holiday and would recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJAY2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Hoel Manager at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sincere comments about our Hotel. We are very please that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us to the people who wish to visit Marbella.
We are sorry that the breakfast area seemed somehow not to your best of satisfactions, we appreciate your opinion and we do take it very seriously and we shall try to use your advise for better improvements.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel Puente Romano.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    281
    88
    35
    28
See reviews for
340
463
33
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Had a week in the Puente Romano and couldn't fault it. We stayed in V block, and had a one bedroom apartment which was spotless, plenty of room and beautifully furnished. Yes, the hotel is sprawling but isn't that it's attraction. Nice low level buildings and not an eyesore like some of the hotels along this strip. Breakfast is really top drawer and the staff are efficient and helpful. Room was serviced mostly before we even returned from breakfast. The location is great if you enjoy a relaxing walk into Marbella. Probably 25 mins, but all on the flat, and along the coast. Very clean. Grounds of the hotel are gorgeous, like a little mini tropical garden and incredibly well maintained. The hotel has a very inviting bar, unlike many hotels which sort of attach their bars onto the reception. This is a proper bar with the best G&Ts in town!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Hotel Manager at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments of our property and service. We highly appreciate you taking the time to comment of our resort which is helpful for other travellers and future guests of ours to pin point the best spots in the hotel and the close surroundings to make their stay unforgettable.
Thank you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Leading Hotels of the World brand is usually one which I trust. This hotel falls far short on so many counts. The property seems to be a collection of apartments which someone decided to rebrand as an hotel. The signage is abysmal and, with a property as complex as this, it is almost impossible to find the reception if arriving by car. We booked a three night stay directly with a charming lady called Mercedes who gave us a free upgrade and an excellent off-season rate. We took her email with us to reception on arrival and were questioned as to its validity by an arrogant, surly and extremely unhelpful member of check-in staff. This made is feel both uncomfortable and unwelcome. When asked about the sea view which we were promised, we were told that was not possible as there were only 'two apartment blocks which had sea views'. The insinuation here was that we were certainly not going to be given one of those as a result of the rate we had been offered. The first room we were taken to had no separate shower enclosure, as we had specifically requested so our luggage was bundled into a golf cart where we were given a choice of two others, neither of which was ideal and both of which were much smaller than we had expected. We were tired after a long journey and only discovered after accepting the keys that the room we had settled for was a smoking room! Eeeeeee-eeew!

The room itself was nothing special. Very shabby round the edges and with a peculiar layout. The wi-fi did not reach that particular block and the broadband access point was high up on top of the TV bench nowhere near any suitable place to put your laptop. The double bed we requested was two singles which they eventually agreed to make up as an Italian bed but only when asked.

Breakfast was included in our rate but the waiting staff at breakfast made us feel just as unwelcome as the check-in staff had done. It is not often that we have stayed in a hotel where we are made to feel this way and we certainly did not expect this from a member of The Leading Hotel of the World group - irrespective of the rate we were on! Surly, rude, unhelpful and totally disinterested in the guests would be the most appropriate description which we would apply to them. The buffet was quite reasonable but the waiters were so lazy and disinterested that they would not be bothered to put up the labels for the different products so there was no way of knowing if the milks were full cream, skimmed or soya. I had to ask the waiter to put up the labels for the juices as they all looked mostly the same. He shrugged and just put the labels wherever he thought they belonged. I took a glass of the juice marked 'pineapple' and discovered that it was actually grapefruit. This was not good for me as one of my regular medications which I use - a statin - has not to be used with grapefruit.

Back to our room. The web advises of 'safes big enough to fit your laptop.' Ours wasn't. In fact, it malfunctioned on the first day as we were going out. We called security who arrived on about 15 minutes, only to be told that the people at reception had to come and fix it and they would not be able to come for an hour as they were 'too busy.' Incredible!

Our first floor room had a view of the main road - the A37 - and the local mosque from which prayers were played several times a day from very loud speakers. This was disturbing and made us feel uncomfortable as we did not feel it was appropriate for a restful break.

Room service was ok. Nothing special but the prices were horrendous for the value we received. The GB pound is very weak at present so this did not help but I would have had no issues with anything at all if the service mentality we witnessed had matched the level of prices charged. I have never complained about hotel prices before in my life but have never come across such a negative service experience in a hotel of this standard before either.

I hate reading these TripAdvisor reviews which are totally negative and can't find anything positive to say so I am trying hard to find something to say to redeem this property.

I can't really except to say that the gardens were very nice.

On our departure, we met the lovely Mercedes who had made our booking for us and she was just as charming as she had been at the time of handling our booking.

So, in conclusion, I would say that this hotel is most certainly not one I would or could recommend to anyone.

  • Liked — Seeing it in our rear view mirror as we left!
  • Disliked — How long have you got?
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank DCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Hotel Manager at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear Guest,

We regret to hear that your experience in our resort was not one which we wish our guests to experience.
We have taken all your comments very seriously and are continuously striving to improve our service to our guests. We have refurbished many of our current rooms, improved the wi-fi connection in all areas of the resort.
Once again we would like to extend our sincere apologies for your experience and hope to have you as our guest in the future.

Thank you very much again for your constructive comments,

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

This hotel, once famed for being the most exclusive on the southern coast of Spain and playing host to the likes of Princess Diana, is now a time -worn relic. In the age of the boutique hotel the rooms appeared dated, dirty, poorly maintained and furnished in a style that fortunately hasn't been seen since 1981. There was mould growing in the bathroom, stains everywhere, the sink was blocked, the ageing electronic door key (state of the art circa 1980) didn't work, so we were repeatedly locked out and had to wait 15-20 mins for a replacement. The management had an air of desperation as though they were dealing daily with 2000 complaints; a fact that I can well believe. The staff were irritatingly tip hungry- who wants to walk around with bags full of change in their swimming trunks? Room service was a joke, we once had to wait an hour to be served and were told that our meal had unfortunately been delivered to another room by mistake!The food in the restaurants was poor and the service pompous. The only thing 5 star about this hotel were the prices!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank verity9london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPuenteRomano, Hotel Manager at Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your sincere comments about our installation, they have certainly pushed us to make some changes for the better.
Our hope is that should you choose our property on your next trip to Marbella, we will be able to meet and surpass your expectations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

One of us visited this hotel 25 years ago and was interested to see how the fabulous botanical gardens were doing. They are truly lovely. We booked one of the more expensive beach side suites and apart from the long hike for breakfast and meals (at the other end of the grounds) we found it comfortable if a bit in need of end of season sprucing up. The hotel was empty apart from us and two small golfing parties so only one restaurant was open and while it was fine, one does not want necessarily to eat in the same place as breakfast, so we mostly went out to sample fare in Marbella old town, which is of a high standard overall.

Hotel room was adequately cleaned but often a replacement item was forgotten, 3 days went by before the minibar was restocked, the curtains weren't always straigtened. At approx £400 per night we expected better. On the other hand staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was comfortable, had a fabulous view, and we could have played tennis and gone to the gym every day (fraid we didn't).

  • Liked — Large comfortable room and sea view
  • Disliked — Too far from main hotel and not quite up to scratch housekeeping
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2008

This is my favourite hotel in the world! I've stayed there many times and love it. The food and staff are excellent and the rooms are luxurious and spacious.

  • Liked — the rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann1e3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

We enjoyed a long weekend at the start of September...just after the school holidays. Weather was fantastic, very high 29s, so if you're not keen on sharing your holiday with other peoples kids, I'd recommend this time of year. However, the downside of it not being 'peak' season is that the facilities on the beach are pretty much non-existent. Not a problem for me though as I thought the beach area was horrible. The sand is quite 'dirty', it was windy, and very dusty.

We stuck to the pool area during the day and really enjoyed just lazing around, reading the papers and sun bathing. There are actually three pools (one near the beach, another in the main complex, and a third for kids, which was shut). There are several restaurants...we didn't try the one near the beach (they seemed to have a similar menu to the main restaurant, but charged more money!!!)...If you turn up early enough (or late enough) and it's not too busy you can get a table outside in the lush grounds...food is nice enough, but fairly basic...The main bar is enormous and includes a large outside area where you can relax with a cocktail all evening...they also have a singer and keyboard player providing entertainment for a few hours...if you're only here for a few days you wont need to leave the grounds of the hotel...7 days or more and you'd probably get very bored of the same food and music...but you're only a short cab ride away from the town or Puerto Banus

We booked a suite, which had a balcony complete with sun lounger that overlooked the pool...if we had been on the other side of the pool, it would not as been as sunny. The rooms are spread across separate 'apartment' buildings and we were lucky to get one right next to the pool and a short walk away from reception...our room had a nice living area, huge bathroom (with jacuzzi) and a superking bed...the decor and the TVs etc are a bit dated but overall I liked the room...

My only gripe was that they don't have an ironing board or iron, however they will happily launder and iron your clothes at a cost!! One night I rang up to ask for an ironing board and they said I could get laundry done up until about 4pm...this was at about 6pm...I moaned a bit (as the excuse for not having boards in the room was ridiculous) and they sent a very stunning but irate looking lady to collect my shirt and trousers...she returned about 15 mins later with my perfectly ironed clothes...I tipped her some euros and she left with a huge grin on her face...a great example of the overall service at the hotel, which was excellent...

My girlfriend thought the bathroom smelt a bit...possibly the drains?

Buffet breakfast was included in the price and is highly recommended, if you can get up in time to get down there...if you're late, you'll miss the hot food or will struggle to get a table...if you're happy to eat fruit and cereals then don't bother getting up early...they also have chilled bottles of champagne should you need to kick start your morning, which was a nice touch.

Cost-wise, it's fairly expensive, particularly the mini-bar! Bring your own water and champagne for the fridge!

The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and efficient...particularly on the front desk...

Overall, the place is great and I can't recommend it enough...I'd definitely return.

  • Liked — Relaxing pool
  • Disliked — The beach
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Domino2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
1.3 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
1.4 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 70 in Marbella
1,622 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amare Marbella Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella

Property: Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe s/n, 29602, Marbella, Spain (Formerly Hotel Puente Romano)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#5 Business Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#8 Family Hotel in Marbella
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puente Romano Beach Resort & SPA Marbella, member of The Leading Hotels of the World, is situated on the southern coast of Spain in the Costa del Sol within the "Golden Mile", a residential area between Marbella and Puerto Banus, just 35 minutes' drive from Malaga Airport.The heart of the Resort and its social focus is the Roman Bridge (Puente Romano) from which the property takes its name. This ancient artefact from the first century is a remaining structure of a road which once linked Cadiz with Rome, the Via Augusta.Resembling an Andalusian village, the 278 spacious guest rooms are spread in 27 three-storey villas, scattered around 55.000 sq. m. of lush, sub-tropical landscaped gardens, gently cascading down to the Mediterranean Sea. Over 400 species of plant life have been brought to the gardens from all around the world, many literally in a suitcase courtesy of HRH Principe Alfonso de Hohenlohe, the founder of the Puente Romano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puente Romano Hotel
Puente Romano Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing