We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food-allergy friendly stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at Melia La Quinta Golf and Spa as a family with 2 kids. The service were great with smiling staff and fantastic restaurant. The restaurant and bar could manage allergy food within gluten and milk, and all our requirements/wishes were fullfilled. Can only give Melia the best recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 526Bo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to help your family with your special requirements.

In the case of gluten allergy, we always have this kind of products to the guest disposal, and we only need that you inform us when you arrive to the Restaurant.

However, if a guest requires a special diet, we recommend him/her to inform us previous to the arrival to guarantee a fully guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your comments. I do hope to greet you personally in the future.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 607 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

We returned to La Quinta at the end of August and have nothing but praise for the hotel and staff. We were upgraded to a ground floor pool view room with a terrace enclosed by shrubs that led out onto the main grounds; almost like having our own private garden. the room was huge, immaculate and the bed just sumptuous.

We discovered that the hotel had an onsite deli/shop which we missed last year; inside were the most fabulous choice of products from wine to soft drinks, hams, cheeses, fantastic bottled oils and freshly baked bread. Plus an array of magazines and newspapers too in multiple languages.

There seemed to be more English families this year which was fantastic for my daughter as she made lots of new friends and a great safe environment for them to play in without disturbing other guests either. There was never a problem with getting a sunbed and everything was kept very clean and tidy under the watch of the most efficient lifeguard / pool girl ever.

All of the hotel staff were just as friendly as welcoming as before too so an added bonus as you always wonder with some of the reviews on here. We went into town a few times on the hotels shuttle bus but for the majority of the time we didn't feel the need to venture away and ate at the hotel exclusively. The only (and very slight) downside was the Japanese restaurant - the food is still great here with show cooking and a wide choice but the waitress is just plain miserable. Perhaps this is just her way but it is off-putting and such a contrast to the rest of the hotel staff.

We'll be back again next year and hope to for many more years to come.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SophiesHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

I have noticed that you are a repeated guest. So, it makes us feel great, and it is fantastic to know that you think in our hotel for next year.

Please, receive our warm thank you for the positive comments that you have dedicated us. We are very proud for reading comments as yours.

Next year, please, do not forget to ask for me at Reception desk. I would like to greet you personally.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This former Westin resort was a great choice for Marbella... if you don't need to be near the water.
We stayed here for 6 nights exploring southern Spain and wanted a low-cost upscale resort-y location. This 10 year-old facility was great. It feels like a smaller Hawaiian-style hotel... with a beautiful pool, lush landscaping and large terraces with sea views from the pool side.
The room was genuinely huge (we got upgraded as it was fairly empty near the end of the season... I believe it shuts down for winter in Nov.), the colorfully-tiled bathroom extremely nice, the beds very comfortable, and overall it was quite quiet. In fact, our room blew away the similarly decorated room at the Four Seasons Punta Mita for style, size and comfort.
The front desk staff is exceptionally friendly... and they were not treated that well by other guests... a few Brits were pretty unpleasant to them while they helped me with various requests. Gloria in particular went well out of her way to give us travel tips and Beatriz was very sweet... as were the young guys who also work there.
There is free wifi in the lobby and parking is 10 euros a night in the underground garage.
The downsides... the location is in an upscale golf development a mile or two up the hill from the sea, so you get great views... but the drive up to it is a long, confusing, narrow, twisty road through some pretty depressing sprawl. Once you navigate it, it's easy to remember the way but our first night we drove all around Marbella trying to find the hotel... and I never get lost. Just remember, take the Ronda exit off the tollway.
Annoyingly, there is no place within miles for coffee and a light breakfast... the hotel was buffet only. As Marbella doesn't wake up till 10am, we were really inconvenienced every morning. The hotel needs to remedy this... it's old-fashioned upselling of a buffet when you just need caffeine.
Also, the carpets in the halls are really disgusting, ripped and dirty. And to me, the worst part. The truly awful, awful post-Westin art throughout the hotel's public areas. It is everywhere. It's also amateurish, embarrassing and all for sale. If they replaced these two depressing features, I would recommend this as a great upscale resort for everyone. We chose to just focus on all it's great features and had an excellent stay.

Room Tip: The pool side rooms have Mediterranean views... especially good one from the top two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the details about your experience in our Hotel, and more over, for your positive comments about our personnel.

Please, let me to point out that one of our strengths is the size of our rooms. To give you some numbers, our Meliá room has 40 m2 and our Premium room has 49 m2.

Regarding your comment about how to reach Meliá La Quinta Hotel, I am so sorry if you had inconveniences to find our hotel. To avoid this kind of situation for future guests, please, send us an e-mail to melia.laquinta@melia.com and ask us for a map of how to reach our hotel. We always provide this map to all our guests when they book directly with us and we send them the confirmation of their reservation. In any case, I would like to inform you our GPS coordinates: 36 º 30 '48 N (latitude) and 4 º 59' 41 W (longitude). Honestly, it is not very difficult to find the hotel but if you do not know the area, it is better to be prepared.

On the other hand, I would like to ask you our apologies if some of our personnel informed you that you could not enjoy only a coffee or only a croissant or only toasts. Our Hotel offers a breakfast buffet but if a guest wants only to take a coffee or a light breakfast, we offer this kind of service too.

Also, concerning our carpet, as you mentioned is not the best in the hotel because it is an old carpet. Although let me to do not agree with you that it is ripped and dirty. On this sense, I would like to inform you that we are doing year by year some investments, and the carpet is included on our future improvements.

Finally, I would like to thank you once again for all your comments.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hi, Happy Traveller here

We stayed in Melia La Quinta in October 2011 for nights on a great golf package from Supertravel Golf. Initially it was five rounds on their course but the European Tour confirmed this for the Seniors Open then so it had to be changed for Los Narrangos a mile down the hill.

Yes Melia is a bit expensive - our pool view room B&B was 355 euros pn full price but we got this as a package for around half that. the rooms are spacious and have great views and have balconies to sit out on. The hotel was only recently taken over by Melia but the staff were friendly and helpful and the style of the hotel is very Iberian in character which is lovely. We did have a hire car but it was 10 euros a night but secure. Breakfast is a bit unadventurous but to a high standard and the main restaurant evening meal good. There is also a little Japanese restaurant by the pool and its authentic and good food there - a meal was 95 euros - a bit more than the main restaurant.
If playing golf at La Qunta then you don't need a car but it is a way out of Puerto Banus.

The Senior Open enabled us to be next to some good golfers and to chat to them and a friendly Sky crew in the hotel and it was a memorable experience. Experiences of Los Narrangos and other restaurants appear elsewhere.

A few makeovers are possibly needed and the breakfasts need some attention to variety but for the prices of flights, car and golf we got from Guy at Supertravel golf this was wonderful!

Room Tip: View over the bay/pool for some great sunrises and sunsets. Take insect spray for golf here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

We are very glad because you enjoyed your golf holidays in our Hotel, and I would like to thank you for sharing us your experience in Meliá La Quinta Golf & Spa Hotel.

I would like to invite you to visit us on many more occasions and enjoy our facilities. If you need assistance for further reservations, please, do not hesitate to contact us directly (reservas.melia.laquinta@melia.com)

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This is not a cheap hotel and everything costs extra. It is certainly not a 5* hotel anymore. However, that said, the rooms are large, clean and in relatively good nick. The pool area is good, especially for families, and the grounds are well kept. We had a great golf lesson followed by 9 holes. The spa was a little disappointing. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel are very good. The only gripe we had was the seating arrangements for breakfast. On more than one occasion we were shown to a table only to return to it after getting some food and finding someone else sat there. The waiters then left us stood in the dining room holding our food and ignored us. The hotel does run a shuttle bus to Marbella and Porta Banus but you need to pre-book your seat as it's a small minibus. However, beware that the Marbella one drops you seemingly in the middle of nowhere. We had to go into La Quinta's sister hotel by the stop (very coincidental!) and ask them to call us a taxi so we could get into the town itself. The return bus does not run very late but the taxis are good and not too expensive. On the subject of taxis, even though we agreed a price for a taxi to the hotel from the airport, we still got stung. It was so much cheaper on the return journey.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hinde81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent on sending us your comments about your stay.

Regarding your comments about the incident during the breakfast, I would like to apologize if another guest sat on your table, and of course, I remain our apologies if we realized this situation and we did not help you. We have spoken with the Maître for paying more attention to this.

Finally, I would like to inform you that one of the two bus stops is near to our Hotel Gran Meliá Don Pepe, as you mentioned, and it stops there because from that point begins Marbella city centre and normally guests want to see all the seafront. However, I am so sorry if you preferred a nearest point.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My wife, daughter and I, shared a golf holiday. Three nine hole courses and as beginners they were very nervous. Some marshals and other players can be frosty and uppity, here everything was fine. Facilities generally and staff were great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPDBridgendUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your visit, and we are very happy for achieving your expectations during your stay. We try to do our best every day and we work on this way.

I have forwarded your comments to the Management of the golf course, in order to avoid this kind of feelings about the marshals.

I am at your entire disposal.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at Melia La Quinta for work in May 2011. The hotel is very attractive, with good sized rooms, a lovely pool and golf course.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a break in Marbella, particularly if you want to play golf, but you are a short drive away from Marbella, the beach and Peurto Banus. Depending on what you want to do when you get therem that could be seen as a good thing!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbados_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melialaquinta, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments.

I would like to inform future guests that we are at 5 Km from Puerto Banús and 12 Km from Marbella city centre. There is not bus station near to our hotel, but this is not an issue for our guests. Normally they arrive by car or by taxi.

I do hope to see you in the future. I would like to greet you personally.

Yours sincerely,

Erika Cobos B.
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
3.8 mi away
Puente Romano Marbella
Puente Romano Marbella
#9 of 70 in Marbella
1,434 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
3.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#19 of 70 in Marbella
980 reviews
3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 70 in Marbella
1,784 reviews
5.1 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Urbanizacion La Quinta | Benahavis, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Marbella
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#7 Business Hotel in Marbella
#12 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range: $161 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa, Benahavis, Marbella is ideally located in the beautiful "Valley of Golf", Marbella, which makes it a unique destination for lovers of golf, featuring its exclusive club and a 27 hole private golf course. Situated between the Mediterranean sea and the mountains of Sierra Blanca, and only 10 minutes by car from the Costa del Sol, the hotel is surrounded by an exceptionally beautiful natural landscape. This unique destination, which is blessed with a warm sunny climate all year round, is ideal for couples and families to enjoy with all the amenities and services needed for relaxation and wellbeing. The 1,500 sqm SPA, the 2 exterior swimming pools surrounded by gardens and the Westin(R) Kids Club will facilitate fun for the young ones and tranquillity for adults. The Westin La Quinta rooms and suites are comfortable and spacious, featuring an authentic Andalusian-style décor flooded with natural light, private terraces, uplifting views to the mountains and all the amenities that distinguish Westin, including the Westin(R) Heavenly Beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin La Quinta Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia La Quinta Golf And Spa Resort
Melia La Quinta Golf Hotel Marbella
Westin Marbella
La Quinta Marbella
Marbella Westin
Marbella La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing