We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and good accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banus Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Banus Lodge
Zurich
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel is a 45 monute bus ride from malaga airport and you can easily take the airprot shuttle to marbella and then take a taxi for a ten minute ride. The hotel is well located and 2 minute walk from guadalpin hotel. however, it is well marked when arriving by taxi. It is barely a 5 minute walk to the beach.

Loes and Wilhem were very welcoming and warm. They gave us a lot of tips and one important one was to spend the time on Espigones beach rather than msitral as the day rate for the loungers are cheaper than the other two. this we found out quite quickly as we spent 8 days. They welcomed us explaining all the important things to do and places to eat at. Very helpful. It is these small things that differentiate one hotel from another. A very family feeling.

We had a studio which was a good size and crisp and clean with good decor. Very comfortable with the mod coms.

We will definitely recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: It all depends on what you want in terms of size. Sure all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Lovely place with lovely owners situated close to the beach in Puerto Banús (2 min walking).
The owners were serving snacks and drinks in the bar with low prices, making friends with the guests and the atmosphere of the place became like everybody was a big family.
The bungalow was good with its own little private area outside. Only negative thing would be the beds, even though they are better than most of three star hotels in spain.
This is a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonSandvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We are staying at Banus Lodge right now and it has to be one of the most relaxing retreats in Puerto Banus. Only 10 minutes walk and you can enjoy the bustling centre with restaurants and bars galore. The owners of Banus Lodge are truly amazing. Labeled as self catering, but they have a very reasonably priced bar where you'll often be served delicious bar snacks. I would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyburns55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Friendliest owners you will ever meet, so kind and helpful. The rooms are lovely and spacious and the best thing is the position of Banus Lodge. It is a 5min walk to the beach and 10min walk to a few bars and clubs. We went in April for my 21st birthday and would definitely go back because we loved it so much. We are looking at booking again now. Really recommend it!!!!

We love the owners!!!

Amy & Tracey

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_lou90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We loved it here, having just spent a fantastic week at Banus Lodge. The proprietors Loes and Willem are so helpful and friendly and have done a wonderful job to create such an ideal venue to stay. Situated just outside of Puerto Banus, the Lodge is only 2-3 minutes' walk to Mistral Beach, and about 10-15 minutes' walk along the beach to the marina itself. The rooms are modern, clean and comfortable (including a large, double shower), with many overlooking of the rooms opening straight up onto the lovely gardens and pool. A truly great place to stay and wonderful value-for-money. We are looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulupton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Banus Lodge is perfectly sited for the beach (less than 200metres away) and the front at puerto banus (10 minute boardwalk stroll away). The accomodation and hosts are the real joy though. Each of the twelve lodges is beautifully fitted with its own lounge area, kitchen, bedroom and private garden or deck area. Most look onto the pool area. The decor is crisp and clean. The lodges have a wonderful serenity, but are close to the buzz of Puerto Banus. At the heart of this oasis is a pool and bar/deck area where the owners serve a great dutch breakfast with first rate omelete made to order. They also serve drinks (including a great free welcome drink when we arrived late after a long flight) and snacks, while offering great tips on local restuarants and places to experience. We were made to feel instantly at home, and they continued to provide every support and comfort during our stay. Theres wifi at the bar area and in some rooms, and flat screen tv with wide satellite channels in each room. It is slightly hard to find but is only 100 yards from the Gran Guadalpin Hotel. It is very good value, given the quality of the accomodation and facilities on offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevegrimmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

We were looking for a relaxing long weekend break and stayed for 4 nights in April at Banus Lodge. I cannot praise the owners (Willem and Loes) enough for their service, making it feel like a home from home. Banus Lodge only opened in Summer 2010 and has been refurbished to a very high standard, consisting of approximately 12 bungalows, a pool and bar area in a gated location which is safe for families with children. The Lodge itself is about 200 metres from the sea and a 15 minute beach walk to Puerto Banus, where there is a selection of bars, restaurants and shops (and expensive yachts).

The self-catered bungalows are modern and well catered including free wi-fi and a full selection of UK TV channels. The bungalow we stayed in was a one bedroom bungalow with a double bed. The bungalow consisted of an open-plan lounge, dining area and kitchenette. The bathroom was spacious and contemporarily fitted, with an excellent walk-in power shower. The bungalow also includes a private garden area if you want to sunbathe in private.

The bar area offers a selection of food and drink for breakfast and lunch at very reasonable prices (Omelette - €2, Toasted sandwich - €2, a beer - €1.50).

From the start, the owners couldn't have been more accommodating. For example, our taxi dropped us near the Guadalpin hotel, but we weren't sure where the lodge was. I called the lodge and the next thing I see, is Willem on a bicycle (which was also lent to me to go to the local store) who has come to find us to make sure we get there. Throughout our stay, we were offered free finger food such as cold meats while we were drinking at the bar (including a few free beers thrown into the mix). Willem also offered to take to the local supermarket so that we didn’t have to get a taxi.

Finally, the lodge offers a taxi service back to Malaga airport at a discount to the cost of a normal taxi, which we duly used.

This is an excellent location for families, couples and groups and doesn't cost a fortune (which it can in the Puerto Banus/ Marbella area). We look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonHeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
#20 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
1.3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#15 of 71 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
Benabola Hotel & Apartments
#2 of 3 in Puerto Banus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
PYR Marbella Hotel
PYR Marbella Hotel
#36 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
BlueBay Banus
BlueBay Banus
#39 of 71 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banus Lodge

Property: Banus Lodge
Address: Cuartel de Duque | El Rodeo Bajo, Nueva Andalucia, 29660, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 59 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Banus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing