We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course, well maintained”
Review of Golf Rio Real

Golf Rio Real
Attraction details
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great course, well maintained”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great course and a very good deal provided by the club to accommodate 16 golfers on a stag trip. Buggies are a great idea. Some fantastic holes on the course.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    45
    18
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great course. A classic in Marbella.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Only one problem: buggies not allowed in the fairways. The service is good but the refreshments very expensive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank InigoApa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in spain”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I love this golf course it is always in great condition winter and summer . I played it last week and it is in tip top shape

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank akaalanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little course”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A very pleasant golf course, not to long as a 16 handicapper I found the greens a little slow, but the front 9 was very tight and very pretty, and the back 9 a little longer but more open. I would recommend, club house quite small but food was OK.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice course shame about no buggies on fairways”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my 3rd visit to play Rio Real last weekend with 7 others. The course was in very good condition, the greens were rolling well and fairways in good shape too.
The bunkers were terrible unfortunately, with lots of stones and little sand.....I guess the trick is to stay out of them!
The back 9 has all the attractive holes with water features etc. The 11th, 12th and 13th in particular.
We really enjoy playing this course but find it frustrating that buggies aren't allowed on the fairways. Golf in Spain always seems to be slow anyway but this adds to the frustration and is a pain carrying 5 clubs across the fairway to play your shot.
I could understand if you teed off at 8am hen the course has just been watered but after 1pm surely the rules should be relaxed!?
I should add that this club has an excellent club house with a nice bar overlooking the course. A nice way to wrap up the day having a cold beer on the terrace.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RJhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golf Rio Real also viewed

 

Been to Golf Rio Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing