We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little bit of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach to your Saves list
IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera Cadiz-Malaga, Nacional 340 Km 176, 29602, Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special offer
Ranked #9 of 76 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business and social event. It had be nearly 35 years since I spent any time near the Meditteranean and it reminded me of how much I love this sea. The hotel was beautiful in the stucco open spanish motif. The rooms were large, with tile floors, and open to a nice balcony where you can sit and enjoy the Mediterranean breeze. My room faced the pool, and you can look out over the trees to see a bit of the sea. It is not directly on the beach. You walk out the back of the restaurant, across a little street, that puts you in their beach house, which is direclty on the sea. In front of the beach house if a small sandy beach. We had a catered dinner in the beach house one evening, and it had a nice bar for our event, and obviously available for use during the day.
The breakfast was extensive, with too many choices to list. it is a short walk or 5 Euro cab ride to Puerto Bano, where the "rich and famous" hang out. Lots of multimillion yachts in the harbor, and upscale night clubs and restaurants. Unfortunately, according to some of the locals, the place has been more take over by lower class party animals, frequenting the not so classy gentleman's clubs and cheap bars all along most of the streets. Reminded me of some of the ports I navigated my 4000 ton US Navy destroyer in 35 years ago. I couldn't help thinking how the drunken young European gents reminded me of my crew, making up for lost time in all the bars in every port we hit.

But back to the hotel.. if you like a toned down, quiet, relaxing, luxury place.. perfect service, food to die for, and wonderful memories.. I recommend.

Room Tip: I would pay a bit more to get the room overlooking the pool. I attached a pic of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nonnino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Recently stayed in above hotel, arrived prior to check in time, reception staff were excellant showed us to our room with no problem, reception area, lifts, communal areas, and rooms were so clean. Rooms were spacious with good sized bathroom. Room safe which was a plus. Pool area clean and constanly looked after by staff on a daily basis, we were slightly out of season so quiet, situated on the golden mile 1.60 euros on the bus to marbella town. a good 10 min walk to beach. Very pleased with my stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel made ​​me disappointed. It is classified as a 4 star but not quite live up to it. Good location and friendly staff but if it rains, there is nothing to do. It is not in any English movie channels, you can enjoy on Tv, only English information channels. Nice garden and walking distance to Puerto Banus. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Although we feel very sad to read that your stay was not as enjoyable as it could have been, we would like to thank you for sharing your observations with us because this gives us the opportunity to make improvements and thus offer all our guests a better service, which ultimately is the goal of Iberostar.

Marbella is the pearl of the Costa del Sol, in the heart of Andalusia. It is an exclusive destination where you can find magnificent beaches, beautiful natural surroundings, and a fantastic range of complementary activities as well as a wellness center SPA Sensations, gym, lounge area with library and Internet corner. We deeply lament there was not enough to discover on rainy days.

On the other hand, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the breakfast our chefs prepare as also the nice location, friendly staff and beautiful garden.

We hope you had a nice journey back home and that your stay in Andalucía was as pleasant as it could possibly be.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had difficulty driving to the hotel as they had not given us a street address for our GPS and e-mails directly to the hotel requesting it and recommendations for parking were not answered. Reception was adequate - no bag man to carry your items. Room was a good size, but nondescript. They charge for internet, use of the safe, chairs at the pool. Toiletries were ok. Room service dinner - husband's burger was great; my chicken and veggies were not! Very dry and unappealing. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Pool area and access to the ocean were top notch. Room was quiet. Nice balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandJbusytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor, we strongly believe that listening to our guests is the clue to success. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not answering your e-mails. There must have been an error in the mail address you´ve sent it to because our reception-team lays much worth on individual guest service and our protocols prescribe how to follow up each and every request.

In order to avoid any difficulties on coming occasion, we kindly invite you to contact our Iberostar call center so that we can provide you with the correct e-mail address of the chosen hotel as well as all the details you need to easily find our Iberostar hotels.

It is our target to open our doors to offer a wide range of dishes to sample the best recipes not only from Spain and Andalucía, but international dishes for all tastes as well. In Iberostar we believe that the culinary part of your holiday is very important and therefore we only work with professional chefs, using products of prime quality. We will continue working so that next time we can also conquest your palate.

Further, it fills us with joy that you liked our four-story Mediterranean style complex with bright fully equipped guest rooms and extraordinary views as also the splendid pool area and stunning surroundings.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience leaving a good and lasting impression.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel in our way back from Aguas Amargas in el Cabo de Gata. The hotel room was nicely decorated in white colours and was pretty big for a standard room. The bathroom was also big and had a bidet. It was spotless and clean> We also had a terrace and a minibar with reasonable prices.
The common areas were also clean and taken care. The restaurant was the basement and it looked a sad place as it was lacking of bright light. We had dinner the first evening we spent in the hotel and we were extremely dissapointed with the choice of food (low cost like tortilla de patata, pizza and things like that) which was expensive, 35 eur per person plus drinks not included. Instead, breakfast was delicious and with a broad variety of things, including cava.
Wifi is only possible under payment and this was another negative point to be highlighted. In our days, internet is free of charge in almost every hotel around the world, even in some coffee bars and restaurants. On top of it, it was something like 7 eur an hour, very expensive.
The staff at the hotel were very nice and professional, even the cleaners. Everyone tried to do their best to please us.
The beach club was really nice, we only used it to have our welcome drink (only two choices: San Francisco, a mix of fruit juices o Sangria)
Puerto Banus was 15 minutes walk from the hotel but Marbella was pretty far and we had to take the car each time we wanted to go there.
The hotel is ok but I don't think we will come back as it didn't meet all our expectations.

Room Tip: Don't go for a sea views room as the beach club will block the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

It is our intention to make you taste the best of Mediterranean and international dishes at the Alhambra buffet, a space decorated in Andalusian style with Arabic touches. You can enjoy a live cooking show every night while enjoying one of the restaurant’s theme dinners. The new Snack Bar next to the pool also features live cooking and we work hard to achieve that the gastronomy is a pleasure at the Iberostar Marbella Coral Beach hotel. Therefore, it saddens us to read we were unable to conquest your palate and you didn´t like the setting. On the other hand, we thank you for highlighting that you find that breakfast was delicious and with a broad variety of things.

In relation to the cost of the wifi connection, we are pleased to inform you that we´ve passed your concerning remarks to the head office is this rates are established by them on a global level. Nevertheless, we would like to point out that you dispose of our wifi hotspot where you can enjoy this service without a charge during 30 minutes every day.

Further, we are satisfied to read that we were successful in many of our services. As you wrote that you enjoyed the nicely decorated room with big bathroom, the very nice beach club, the spotlessness cleaning and the efforts of our outstanding staff, we know you took some beautiful holiday memories back home, and to us this is part of our goal. We will certainly congratulate our human forces; they will be delighted that you wrote “Everyone tried to do their best to please us”.

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

A good quality hotel: spacious, clean and well appointed rooms; food pretty good,especially breakfast (dinner was less appealing and it paid to ask for freshly cooked meat/fish rather than eat the slightly older food on the hotplates). Pleasant outdoor pool and space. We went in the low season and the beach bar had reduced its opening hours. Still issues over poor free internet access (access in rooms is charged). No character but convenient - easy stroll to Puerto Banus. We thought that the hotel was on the beachfront but it is 50 yards back. Still very easy access.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the garden on the side of the hotel, not looking onto the pool in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skippo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is really well located, the staff are lovely and friendly and the rooms are well kept. It's a quick walk into Puerto Banus, or a cheap (€7-8) taxi ride to Marbella to put you in the action. The breakfast is pretty good, offering the standard stuff such as pastries, fruit, omelettes and the like.

I wasn't really convinced that this place cost as much as it charges, it values itself a little highly. The rooms, although well sized and clean, have little privacy due to the walls being so thin. The atrium also does carry noise which can be a touch loud at times. The suites are a little bit of a let-down; the hot-tub was filthy and didn't seem as if it had been cleaned for a good while. The food on offer aside from breakfast is simply dreadful, I can't tell you enough to avoid it! The pool area is a bit on the cramped side but this can be remedied by escaping to the beach club.

Still, not bad due to the location and the service, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LJMellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for the review you wrote. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We took good note of your remarks related to our culinary offer and we feel sad about your disappointment regarding lunch and dinner. The gastronomy is one of the pillars of our chain and we can assure you that it is essential for us that our customers enjoy our cuisine. For this reason, Iberostar is reinvented year after year, improving facilities and renewing our hotels with themed restaurants, special effects for the buffet, Show Cooking, etc. We have passed your constructive critics to the head of the department and we are checking the protocols in order to guarantee the compliance of our demanding quality standards. Even so, we would like to mention that currently we only work with professional chefs of great recognition that use only top quality products. We are glad that you could enjoy breakfast and we will continue working to surprise you on your next visit, offering lunches and dinners that conquest your palate.

Further, we deeply regret that the bright guest rooms and their bad weren´t satisfactory to you. For Iberostar thorough cleaning is an absolute must and we want to apologize for not fulfilling your expectations. We have protocols and procedures to guarantee satisfying results regarding hygiene and cleanliness; nevertheless, they seem to have failed in the case of your hot-tub. For future occasions we strongly encourage you to contact our reception in case any lack is encountered. As to us it is of prime importance to offer total confidence in this area we will be enchanted to adjust any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards.

In addition, we feel proud and glad that you have enjoyed all of our prime pillars to offer splendid holidays to our guests. In Iberostar Marbella Coral Beach we find it important that the clients feel comfortable, that the surrounding areas are attractive and over all that they feel well attended by our staff. Client orientation and satisfaction through a personalized and individual service is for us the clue to surpass guest expectation and it is wonderful to read how much this contributed to your well being whilst staying among us.

Once more we want to thank you for having shared your opinion, rest assured it will help us to improve. We hope to may receive you soon and surprise you positively offering a perfect holiday!

Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Marbella Banus
Melia Marbella Banus
#16 of 76 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 76 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
9.5 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
1.2 mi away
H10 Andalucia Plaza
H10 Andalucia Plaza
#1 of 1 in Nueva Andalucia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach

Address: Carretera Cadiz-Malaga, Nacional 340 Km 176, 29602, Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#4 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#12 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the first moment you step into the IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach hotel, you'll find a sense of peace and tranquillity in every corner. Surrounded by palm trees, courtyards and exotic gardens, this 4-star hotel on the Costa del Sol boasts a fine Mediterranean style with Arabic and Andalusian influences and details. Located less than a half mile from the famous Puerto Banus, just over 2 miles from the centre of Marbella, the IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach hotel enjoys spectacular views from right on the beach. Renovated in 2010, this quality hotel has 170 comfortable rooms of cutting-edge design, which make it a magnificent, quality hotel for couples on vacation in Marbella. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your IBEROSTAR Marbella Coral Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Marbella Coral Beach Hotel Marbella
Occidental Coral Beach Marbella
Occidental Coral Beach Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#