We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thrid time and even better”
Review of Skina

Skina
Ranked #173 of 1,412 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Thrid time and even better”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We returned to Skina third time, twice last year and this year with some friends. The meal and the service was up to the mark. We can't understand the complaints from some of the customers of the price of bread and the set menu. We know it's a custom in Spanish restaurants to charge for bread, some more and some less. However, we enjoyed the dinner and the food was beyond excellent. We love this place and will return again, if you have the capacity then go for the tasting menu, where you will be taken on a taste experience. Keep some room for the final chocolate sweets you will be served. Excellent wine list and well done Marcus, the Chef and the rest of the team.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fce270444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    58
    36
    16
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

For our last night in Marbella our friends wanten to make it special. And special it was, Our host was waiting at the door, served Some delicious cava, we chose the desgustation menu, from The start till the end fabuleus! And such a lovely server and host! Big applause!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChloeAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“tiny cute place, but overpriced menu”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had heard about the manager / waiter's temper issues so we were expecting the worst, but the waiters who served us that day were very nice. The manager was probably not working that day.
The food was OK, some dishes were just fine, others really stood out, like the yellowfin served with crispy peas and herbs.
Their home made organic bread is delicious, but I think that charging 8 euros for 2 slices of bread is just plain rip off. I know it is a spanish thing to do, but when you're spending 150 euros par head it should be complimentary.
The portions are tiny, which I expected, but it was really just ridiculously small. I know modern gourmet restaurant don't think it's "cool" to actually feed people, and call me a savage, but when I go out to dinner, I like to, well..eat.
Last thing, they only have one tasting menu, so the choice of dishes is crucial. There are so many succulent, very special foods they could work with, so why choose foie gras of all foods? It's barbaric, ethically appalling, and most famous chefs have already said they would be taking it off their menus. Let's evolve a little!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pakqom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh,Suffolk,United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“looking forward to Skina again”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have been going to this restaurant for may years. Even before it had its Michelin star.We have a holiday home in Marbella and Skina is always the first place we visit.Marcus is always the perfect host and his knowledge of wine is second to none.We always ask for his choice and the wine is always perfect to go with your dinner. And he does,t choose the most expensive wine.The food is always presented perfectly and we come away(after a few Gin and tonics with Marcus) thoroughly satisfied.If you want quality rather than quantity the go to Skina.Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morrismen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London , UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner with a a crescendo of culinary satisfaction!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thanks to a friend living in Marbella who knows the Chef Marcos of this small, but a gem of a restaurant, I was able to reserve a table for me and my wife last week without notice. The restaurant has not more than a dozen tables, but it is tastefully decorated and the atmosphere is very pleasant and relaxing. We chose the tasting menu Andalusia and the succession of dishes from tapas to desert banana, has been a crescendo of culinary satisfaction.
The wine list presents an excellent selection of small producers of high quality and the service it was just perfect.
The bill paid, it was not really expensive considering the quality and enjoyment of the splendid dinner.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zaki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skina also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Skina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing