We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Dani Garcia lost the plot”
Review of Calima - CLOSED

Calima
Price range: $144 - $216
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marbella, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Has Dani Garcia lost the plot”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Been going to Calimas once a year for 6 years. used to love it and felt it was an expensive but value treat.Last year was not so impressed with the new 19 course menu and price but still loved the food. This year the food was not good. Far too much foam, liquid and soft textures. I never expect to love everything on such a large menu but this year I struggled to like anything and it was a random and ill thought out series of combinations. On top of this out of 7 of us 6 were decidely sick.

This time no second chance I will not be going back unless he goes back to reasonable size taster menus with inventive but exquisite food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    32
    14
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Easily deserves it's 2 stars”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Had a great experience here. We were 2 who got a great table, amazing service and outstanding food. Of the 22 dishes there was only one i didnt care for, the rest was excellent and very inventive. The whole restaurant just feels modern and classy. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sauce111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fat duck in the sunshine”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Amazing, clever food with impeccable service. A hefty bill but well worth a visit for a special occasion as it truly is a special restaurant.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank SM123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible, terrible, terrible .......”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

What an absolute waste of time and money. Our party of 6 adults who live in Marbella visited Saturday at the minimum charge of €140 per person. With drinks etc this soon passed €200 per person and I have never wasted money so easily.
Service was poor - with all staff very young and inexperienced in basic principles of table service. Of the 22 courses, I did not enjoy 1 and neither did the majority of my companions (3 men and 3 ladies). We all enjoy a varied mediterranean diet, but did not find any dish good.
There are so many restaurants in Marbella that serve good food for a fraction of the price.
I would never ever visit here again, and would strongly urge anyone not to visit.
It is a terrible, terrible waste of time and money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overkill”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

22 courses is a bit of overkill. About two thirds of the courses were excellent. The other third somewhat average. I think it would work better with 14 couses. Presentation and service were excellent

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calima also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing