We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb and innovative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurante Messina

Restaurante Messina
Ranked #35 of 1,332 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $86
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oslo Norway Scandinavia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Superb and innovative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went twice in January 2013. The food is exquisite, so is the wine. The serving was very innovative - I shall not reveal too much here... I had a "soupe poularde", with an egg yolk. They poured hot soup onto it slowly - at the table - so the yolk cooked in the steamin hot fluid. The colour scheme is subdued - I have seen this in other gourmet restaurants as well. it gives peace and focus on the food and drink. Wonderful, comfortable chairs. The service was of course excellent, lovely young ladies in some specially designed (?) black, short dresses, both sophisticated and sort of sweet. When will they get a Michelin Star?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linklater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    98
    37
    18
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service to match”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had to organize a sales meeting for our EMEA team as well as colleagues form the US and after many menus and checking out the only five star restaurants open in January in Marbella, Messina caught my eye from the start here on Tripadvisor. Pia, the owners wife, shared many emails with me, constructing a menu which would appeal to all 34 of us, including vegetarians. We were also able to chose all the wine for the evening beforehand and again, the friendliness of the staff and efficiency amazed. Something, that can be adrift in the UK these days. The food looked and tasted beautiful, different flavours wonderfully combined and presented in a very creative manner. The only thing I would like to point out is, that if somebody has a larger appetite, this might not appeal. The portions are very danty and elegant, but certainly not on the big side or what one might be used from other good restaurants. It reminded me more of a combination of appetizers and starters. Never the less, a very good place to come to and should not be missed when being in Marbella. Very close to the gorgeous Old Town, with its own Andalucian charm and beauty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a lovely romantic intimate restaurant with exquisite food and service. I am a massive foodie and travel all over the world to sample Michelin star restaurants. It's well priced with a large meal for 2 and bottle of wine costing around 150 euros. Real fine dining!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

We went to Restaurante Messina back in 2008, and circumstances have stopped us returning.
We went to see our daughter in Spain at Christmas and on our last night we asked if she would drive us to this Restaurant.
To cut a long story short, it was even better than we remembered...if that is possible. And, the Chef's Wife can speak English even better than before, although our daughter chatted quite happily, and at length, to her in Spanish.
The only drawback, was that the pudding, Vesuvius, was not on the Menu, but it didn't matter as every mouthful was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank barbara10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“First the bad news”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

It's terrible to park nearby even in low season ( so maybe use a cab) and the lighting is very dull inside. However the staff (4 young women when we visited) are very welcoming and the food is terrific, and beautifully served. For main course we ( bravely we thought) tried neck of baby goat, Iberian pork and pigeon. All were delicious! Excellent selection of mainly red wines at sensible prices. In our view, well worth the very high Tripadvisor rating. Cost per head 63 e.

Helpful?
1 Thank douglas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Messina also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurante Messina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing