We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rio Real Golf Hotel
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Played the course only but if the rest of the facilities and services are anything like the golf then it must be 5 star. Course was great views fantastic staff excellent from arrival to leaving.
Play if you get the chance. Cant recommend highly enough.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gogsy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of Río Real Golf and for awarding us such fantastic ratings.

Also for all the information you have included in your review about our golf course.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    47
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from a first visit to this hotel and golf course. Room (Birdie Suite) was excellent, peaceful with great views of the antics on the 11th. Did not find one member of staff who was other than charming and helpful. Restaurant food was very nicely done, at a fair price for this type of venue.

Taxi into Marbella was around €15 (10 minutes) each way giving loads of options for eating and drinking.

Played the course 3 times in 4 days, and found it well kept, occasionally quirky and great fun. There was plenty of "holiday golf" being played, with many walkers (non buggy). Some of the holes were therefore a little slow, but with these surroundings, who cares.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of Río Real Golf Hotel and for awarding us such fantastic ratings; it is great to hear that you would return.

Also for all the information you have included in your review, which we trust any traveller will find very useful.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We've been visiting Rio Real Golf Club for a number of years. This year we decided to spend a night at the hotel there. We booked a superior double and it was superb! The room was very large, with a lovely terrace overlooking the golf course. The bathroom was spacious with a walk-in shower and a large bath. The pool area is small but idyllic. The most disappointing part of our stay was the continental breakfast - a croissant and two bread rolls! Lunch was also slightly disappointing - the chicken caesar salad was a chicken and bacon salad with a mustard dressing - not caesar dressing. My partner meanwhile ordered chicken stuffed with mushrooms and blue cheese, but when it arrived it was chicken covered in shiitake mushrooms in a coconut and red curry sauce. All in all however, we love this place, and we will certainly go back.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seetheworld477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Río Real Golf Hotel.

We take note about your comments regarding our restaurant services.

About continental breakfast, we recommend you for your next stay A la carte breakfast that has more variety.

We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and it is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Hotel is new, rooms on ground floor definitely 5 star, hot tubs on the balcony, lovely close up view of the course and mountains behind, wet room and very spacious. Food and beverage of high quality at town centre prices. Only 3 Kms from centre of Marbella, and about 3/4 Kms from beach.

The golf course is well maintained, a classic traditional layout, plenty of trees, not too many fairway bunkers, some water hazards and Rio Real river. Good for ladies, many of them playing. Definitely one to play in the area as matured nicely, built in 1965.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotswolds47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of Río Real Golf Hotel and for awarding us such fantastic ratings.

Also for all the information you have included in your review about our hotel and golf course, which we trust any traveller or golfer will find very useful.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are regulars at the restaurant and the bar as we live by the golf course of Rio Real .
The cats are NOT stray and the are resident of the hotel and very lovely and they Do NoT annoy any one !
We love the the cats here and so dose all the other regular customers and we look forward to seeing them

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank coco26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel surroundings are gorgeous but the room we had required extensive updating as it was very dark and the TV was old with a bad signal.

No kettle in the room to make tea/coffee or free still water which after staying in numerous hotels should be essential. Mini bar prices are also over priced as well as the breakfast.

Had to ask reception for an iron and ironing board as there is none in the room. Was told another guest was using it and had to wait 45 mins!

When we did receive the iron the first time, the plate had come away and was very dangerous which resulted in us having to wait another while to receive a replacement.

The hotel is not cheap so small things which you expect in a standard hotel should be essentials at Rio Real.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay from last year. We endeavour everyday to improve our quality of service and facilities, it is very important for us to hear all comments from our guests.

Some improvements have been done in 2013.

New flat screen TV´s have been installed in every room. Also, we reinforced our ironing assests in order to match our guests needs.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Rio Real hotel with a friend from 20th May to 24th May. The 40 min coach transport link from Malaga airport to Marbella was very good at 8 euros per person and then it was a short taxi ride to the resort costing 10-15 euros.

The hotel staff were very pleasant on arrival. The Par Superior room was amongst the best hotels I have stayed in, clean and spacious featuring free Wifi and an amazing view from the balcony of 11th hole.

The golf course was a good challenge for golfers of all levels and the green keepers were out early every morning to ensure it is kept in prestige condition.

The breakfast included was limited but you could pay for optional extras. The lunch and dinner was very good quality and value for money.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone whether you play golf or are just looking for a quality boutique hotel a short taxi ride to Marbella town. I will certainly be returning in the near future.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelRioReal, Director de Recepción at Rio Real Golf Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive review and for awarding us such fantastic ratings.

Also for all the information and photos that you have included in your review, which we trust any traveller will find very useful.

It is great to hear that you would recommend our hotel and you would return.

Thank you once again from all staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Río Real Golf Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.3 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
2.2 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#33 of 70 in Marbella
298 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Estrella del Mar
3.3 mi away
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
#29 of 70 in Marbella
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Real Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Real Golf Hotel

Property: Rio Real Golf Hotel
Address: urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Real Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 12 minutes from the beach. The Rio Real Golf Course is a luxury resort situated 5 km outside Marbella. The hotel has an 18-hole golf course, wellness area and outdoor swimming pool. Free on-site underground and open-air parking is available. The rooms at the Rio Real Golf Hotel are stylishly decorated and feature balcony with views of the hotel golf course. All air-conditioned rooms have satellite TV and private bathroom with L'Occitane toiletries. Other facilities at the Río Real include tennis courts, terrace, club house and restaurant. The hotel spa offers a range of treatments, including massage, facials and wraps. A free shuttle service to the beach is provided to guests in July and August. Located on the Costa del Sol, the Río Real is located close to several beaches. Puerto Banús and the Sierra Blanca mountain range can be reached in under 30 minutes, by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Real Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing