We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Golf break to Marbella” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rio Real Golf Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rio Real Golf Hotel
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Golf break to Marbella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Myself and 3 friends took a short break lastvweek tobthe Rio Real golf hotel in Marbella.
It wasn't our first visit and I won't be our last.
The hotel (5km from Marbella) is sited on the Golf Course and is a small boutique style with about 30 designer rooms. Although not a good when opened 10 years ago, the rooms are splendid ( overlooking the course) and the staff very friendly & helpful.
The Clubhouse is also excellent and just a few paces from the Hotel. It too isn't as impressive as it once was but nonetheless still retains it's appeal.
The Course is maintained to a high standard with many very challenging holes.
I would recommend it highly not least because of it's close proximity to down town Marbella.

Room Tip: Go for the standard "Par Superior" room - you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bh249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    41
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Nice and spacious rooms (incl. spacious bathroom) right on the golf course - it is tugged away in a home community not too far away from the highway yet due to its location (in between some lower hills), it is quiet and has views of the golf course. The service quality/speed in the bar/restaurant depends on the waiter - some are good, some are just slow and forgot your order.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in September as required somewhere near Marbella for a wedding. You definatly need a car to get to this place, as the hotel is the opposite side of the golf course to the A-7 Motorway. However it is easy to get on the Motorway and then either into Marbella, around the bypass towards Puerto Banus or back towards Malaga. The hotel itself is great. We had a standard room (I think) which had larger than king size double bed, sofa, balcony, Bathroom with shower room, wc room (inc. bidet) and bath. Plus Molton Brown shampoos and gels. The restuarant has an a la carte breakfast option which was very nice and then pool (although small, as I guess most people come here for golf) was perfectly fine on a nice sun terrace. So if you want a nice quite hotel close enough to get to Marbella then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tregonings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
never never land
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

The rooms and reception staff at this hotel are truely perfect!! Beautiful golf course away from the craziess of marbella and puerto Banus!!

Room Tip: Ask to be upgrade on off-peak times on check-in always done it for me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosebud07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one week from August 14th to 21st to enjoy Golf & evenings in Marbella and we have liked it very much.
The hotel is a small capacity one and of very good quality. Rooms are large and very clean with quality furniture and a nice balcony towards Hole 11, the signature hole of Rio Real's golf course.
The small swimming pool was very pleasant and restful after 18 holes.
The club-house served quality sandwiches and snacks and the restaurant we tried once for dinner is excellent with quite inventive cuisine.
The Golf course is of average difficulty and quite nice to play, but use an electrical trolley or rent a buggy as some holes are quite hilly. The Golf offers competitive packaged green fees with buggy included for two players.
The personnel was very nice and service was efficient.
Now, one bad surprise: we were visited during one night while sleeping and all our money was gone as well as one pair of gold shoes that we had left on the balcony, but not the credit cards and wallets. The hotel manager was quite surprised claiming this did not happen in the past but nevertheless, we did not get any apology letter from the hotel Director nor did they offer a discount to buy a new pair of golf shoes from their golf shop. (I bought a replacement pair at Golf US in Puerto Banyus where service BTW is very good).
The hotel and Rio Real compound have security guards and the hotel is protected to prevent robbers to climb the balconies. I do understand the hotel is not responsible for such events and do their best to keep the place secure. I simply wish to remind any traveler that it is always better to close the balcony doors while sleeping to avoid any such bad experience. I usually do it.
I still highly recommend this Golf Hotel which is really close to Marbella’s city center and I wish to be back there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rolandl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masko, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel itsel is very good. The rooms are luxurious and really fresch. The front desk serves limited hours, thouhg they are friendly and helpful when they are there.
The service in the restaurant is terrible, but the food is ok. The staff is rude, impolite and straight out unfriendly. They really need to work on their attitude!
We were two couples spending an extended golf weekend in an almost empty hotel, I think a better service would help out in getting more customers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TourcoordinatorFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at the Rio Real for 5 days to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We chose the hotel because of its fantastic reviews for both the hotel and restaurant. We were told when we booked in March that the restaurant was closed for refurbishment and would be open again in June. Unfortunately this was not the case, the restaurant was still closed and would be until August as the hotel had not been busy and was short on staff. This was really disappointing as we had planned lazy evenings at the hotel with good food and wine. Luckily we hired a car, as there was nothing else nearby, we had to drive 15 mins to Puerto Beanus to eat. The hotel had a snack bar which was very nice and we were told on arrival that it was open until 9pm each evening, we tried to eat here on the Tuesday evening only to find it closed at 7.30pm on Tuesdays, if only someone had told us.
The hotel was very pleasant, the outlook from our room and the bar terrace was lovely. It was very quiet and relaxing, we had the pool to ourselves most of the time. Our room was spacious and very clean, attended to every day. The staff were very friendly and mostly helpful.
It would have been very useful to have had information in the room or displayed in reception with snack bar times etc; also the facilities were not advertised anywhere. We had to keep asking for information for example the tennis or massage etc on offer. We would have liked a brochure and price list in the room or this could have been displayed in the wellness area. The wellness section was always closed, it was by appointment only and had to be booked at least a day in advance, luckily we asked before our last day and managed to book a massage, which was very good.
Tea and coffee in the room would have been nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginny44_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
9.5 mi away
Hotel Guadalmina Spa & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
5.0 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
4.2 mi away
Casa la Concha
Casa la Concha
#25 of 71 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Real Golf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Real Golf Hotel

Property: Rio Real Golf Hotel
Address: urbanizacion Golf Rio Real S/N, 29603, Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 71 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Real Golf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Rio Real Golf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing