We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burned food at very high price”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Buenaventura

Buenaventura
Ranked #362 of 1,373 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: BUENAVENTURA The Gourmet space at Marbella Old Town. Andalusian & Mediterranean updated Cuisine. NON STOP TIMETABLE: Open dialy for Lunch & Dinner from 1 pm to 23:30
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burned food at very high price”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

After sending back the burned fettuccini, the dish came back unchanged. They really should change the chef. But of course the staff thinks every tourist knows nothing about quality. To avoid.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    60
    26
    26
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor service, high prices”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is a restaurant which makes too big of a deal of some of its past customers, Most likely customers like myself who will not return.
the staff are rude, the food is good, but tiny portions, the wine is expensive. its a no for me

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank mayotom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious food in a charming restaurant.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first visit to Buenaventura and we were very happy with the quality and standard of our food. We sat in the inner courtyard at a big table as there was ten of us which made for a slightly haphazard dinner, but the waitstaff did a great job in helping each of us to choose from the menu something to suit all of our tastes, from the young children in our party, to vegetarians to meat eaters, we all found something delicious to eat. I love sushi so I started with Red Tuna Tataki with cardamom puree and a soy sauce reduction which was light and refreshing, but I was really taken by my partner's Sea Bass Tartar, this was just incredible, served blended with chopped avacado and shallots, topped with bright orange salmon caviar. I will definetely order this if its on the menu when we visit this restaurant again. My main course was a big hit, Beef Fillet with a Fondue of Idiazabal Cheese, served with a black pudding praline on a bed of truffled mash potato - sublime! Where as my partners tuna main course in comparison was very pleasant but not outstanding in any way. We were kindly given delicious amuse bouches as a pre starter and again before the main course. Afterwards we all shared huge plates of tempting miniture cakes and puddings to try all the pastry chef's creations for dessert. Fabulous. The only problem that arose was when we were paying the bill, they either didn't hear or understand us when we said to put the tip on top of the bill. So we just paid and left only to realise afterwards they hadn't added the tip! They must of thought we were a really ungrateful, mean bunch! This was such a shame as they had all been so fantastic with us and we had such a lovely dinner. We will definetely return as soon as we back in Marbella!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KikLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is our favourite restaurant in Marbella and we keep it for special occasions as it's not cheap. Set in the Old Town in the corner of a square where the church is, we prefer the inner courtyard setting. We've always found the service is good and the food and wine is fabulous. Its encouraging to see the same staff there year after year. Don't expect this to be cheap but hopefully you won't be disappointed. We've being going to this restaurant for the last eight years, so that must say something.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not very helpful”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The service was very slow and the waiters kept going off in the middle of taking orders. Some of the orders were mixed up and the wrong food given and service was so slow we had to double up on drinks

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suziewammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buenaventura also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Buenaventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing