We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Sukhothai

Sukhothai
Ranked #359 of 1,398 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $15 - $45
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Genuine and delicious Royal Thai cuisine, on the Golden Mile in Marbella. Large variety of traditional Thai dishes served in an intimate and cozy atmosphere with a modern feel.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We came here with our friends, who are fans of this place. It was our first time to try thai cuisine and we like it. I can't say it was superb and outstanding, but still it was delicious. Some kind mix of indian (big fan!) and chinese cuisines. I really can not remember the names of dishes, there were dishes with duck, prawns and mine was lamb in some peanut sauce.
Service was very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BanneMoskvich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible, overpriced, avoid if you can.”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Got a takeaway here and was charged 52 euro for 2 curries with rice and one starter ,7 euro for a plain portion of noodles. Because I was on holidays I did not make a fuss and headed back to my hotel. On opening the Thai curries the container was half full of poor tasting food but worst of all the other half of the container was full of oil, sickening I have never seen this before and my wife was unable to eat anything. I tasted the food for the hell of it after pouring off the oil into the sink and it was rubbish. I cant understand all the good reviews maybe my experience was a once off but cant see how that amount of oil could be used by mistake. The 7 euro noodles were stuck together if you were interested! so much for our nice night in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Lovely authentic Thai Food great service and lovely small friendly restaurant. If you like Thai food then you must try the Thai beef salad it was the best I've tasted a must try restaurant

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank colthebrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

How thrilled were we to come upon Sukhothai after being lost in a search for another restaurant. A great find with delicious, tasty starters, including tender chicken satay skewers and steamed vegetables in peanut sauce. If you like spicey, order the garlic chicken. For a milder experience, the ginger chicken was equally delicious. We completed the Thai experience with sweet sticky rice with mango, and fried banana with vanilla ice cream. The staff could not have been more hospitable. All in all, a great change-up from your typical Spanish fare.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK but hardly special”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Prominently situated, with car parking outside, this is a typical Thai restaurant with friendly staff but pretty unremarkable food at prices that are probably to be expected in fashionable Marbella, but would be considered high almost anywhere else in Spain. If in the area for a short time, it is certainly possible to do better for less.

Helpful?
Thank douglas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Sukhothai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing