We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (924)
Filter reviews
924 results
Traveler rating
679
181
34
14
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
679
181
34
14
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferris wheel rooftop bar big wheel open to non residents great location small pool old town breakfast room is until noon loved this hotel lovely hotel lovely bathroom perfect stay walk in shower powerful shower a city centre hotel junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 924 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

The hotel is boutique style and only 2.5 years old.Trendy imaginative design. Everything is spotlessly clean. Beautiful spacious bedrooms considering it is a city hotel. Very comfortable beds with superb sheets and soft pillows. Amazing powerful showers. Fantastic location. Excellent friendly staff. Lovely rooftop bar with super comfortable sun beds but it is not cheap - €5 for a Cappuccino, €10 for a Pina Colada and €8.50 for a Martini and Lemonade. This is not a deal breaker for us as it is a lovely hotel - just b e warned and make sure you have plenty of euros. The current poor exchange rate makes it expensive for UK visitors.

If you like a nice view from your room spend a bit extra on a room with a view as the street view rooms look out onto some very uninteresting buildings.

Malaga is a beautiful city. Restaurant selection is generally expensive and not great if you are not a big fan of Spanish food and tapas. Do your own research before arriving to avoid disappointment

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Exactlyhowitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateValeria, Front Office Agent at Room Mate Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2018

Dear Exactlyhowitwas,

Wow, what beautiful words!! Thank you, thank you and thank you for dedicating this comment and for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Malaga.

We regret that the food you have tried in Malaga has not been to your liking. For your next visit, remember that we will be happy to give you some great recommendations so that you have an unforgettable gastronomic experience.

Waiting to see you soon in Room Mate Valeria.

María Palma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We didn't stay at the hotel but liked the look of the place as we walked by. Smart entrance and uniformed staff. We wanted a glass of wine and were informed that there was a nice roof top terrace that we could enjoy.
It had a fabulous view of the Port, and the service excellent.
I would imagine that Hotel guests would spend quite a lot of time up there.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NeilfromGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateValeria, FRONT DESK at Room Mate Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Mr. NeilfromGib,

Firstly, many thanks for your review about your experience in the roof top bar.

It is a pleasure reading you have enjoyed with the amazing views to Málaga.

Hoping see you next time.

Regards,

Mariajo Ayala
Front Desk Agent RM Valeria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2018 via mobile

Just home after a fantastic weekend in Malaga. Room Mate is a fabulous hotel with very helpful staff. The hotel itself is very central and in a great location.

Our bedroom was really lovely and equipped with everything you need from toiletries to a great hairdryer and a well stocked minibar. There is a safe and plenty of USB points to charge your phone so no need for an adapter.

Breakfast is served until midday which is very handy. Great selection of hot and cold food, juices, fruit and tea and coffee.

Finally, there is a great roof top bar which is a must, day or night.

Would highly recommend the Room Mate hotel. Thank you for looking after us.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Crusherh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateValeria, FRONT DESK at Room Mate Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Carolyn G,

Thank you very much for choosing Room Mate Valeria for your recent stay in Málaga, as well as for your time in sharing your opinion with others.

We are pleased that you have highlighted our fantastic location, right in the heart of Valeria, and our special breakfast as well as your comments in reference to our staff and the work they do. Thank you.

We thank you again for your opinion and we hope to see you again in Room Mate Valeria or in any Room Mate in the world.

Sincerely,

Mariajo Ayala
Front Desk RM Valeria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2018

We chose this hotel because of the many positive reviews on Tripadvisor and stayed here for one week.

The location is excellent. The hotel is very close to the old town and all the sights and only 15-20 mins from the airport!

The rooms are very clean but with a wall to wall carpeting which I personally don´t like very much. No manual shower or cleanex in the bathroom and the water from the shower didn´t dry off the floor making it quite slippery.

We had a room with a balcony on the fourth floor (view towards the ferris wheel) which was very nice! Sadly the room was situated below the roof terrace (bar) making it a bit noisy (until about 1 am and 3 am on weekends. Also the noice of the wall TV in the room next door resonated to our room making sleeping quite difficult especially if you are a light sleeper.

The rooftop bar was expensive and according to the experiences we had in the elevator, mostly visited by others than hotel guests.

The staff was friendly but many of the ladies in the reception were mostly preoccupied with their computer screens. A nice hello from the friendly male staff was in contrast very much appreciated.

Room tip: Pick a room with a balcony on the third, not on the top floor.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janH1000EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights in October, the beds and pillows are out of this world - I don’t know what they are but I need the at home. The rooms are lovely and spacious and also really quiet, had 5 great nights sleep.

The locations is fabulous, a few minutes into the old town where there are plenty of bars and restaurants, short walk to the port and also only 10 mins down to the beach. The airport bus stop is also just around the corner and only costs €3.

The roof top bar is a great addition, cocktails are more expensive than in the town but they are well made and you’re paying for the brilliant view. It’s a great place to spend some time day or night and the sun loungers and small pool are an added bonus - an excellent spot to sunbathe after sightseeing.

The staff here are also extremely friendly and helpful and I must say the hotel is absolutely spotless - as is Malaga in general, a very clean city. I thought the breakfast was good for the price, enough options to set you up for the day and great fresh orange and coffee.

Malaga is a great city to explore and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting. I usually use Booking.com for hotels but check direct with the hotel as I got a discount on my stay because I stayed over a certain about of nights.

Hopefully not my last visit to Room Mate Valeria and I will definitely be checking out other hotels in the Room Mate brand for future city breaks!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Ellie_banner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoomMateValeria, FRONT DESK at Room Mate Valeria, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2018

Dear Ms. Ellie_banner,

It is a pleasure to read comments like this and share your experience with other travelers.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our rooms with this peculiar design designed to offer you the maximum comforts so that you feel at home in the center of Málaga and have highlighted our rooftop bar with which we try to satisfy you and surprise you in every moment, but above all thank you for your mention to our staff, comments like this motivate us all and makes our work easier every day.

We hope to see you again soon and we are at your disposal for future reservations both in Málaga and in any other Room Mate.

Best regards

Mariajo Ayala
Front Desk RM Valeria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews