We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Hotel Guadalmedina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Guadalmedina
Ranked #35 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is within easy reach of the train station and close to the shops, bars and restaurants in the centre. This modern hotel offers clean, bright and spacious rooms with good size modern bathroom, flat screen tv and minibar. For these with a hire car there is also the added advantage of private parking which is available to guests for an additional charge. Overall I would recommend this hotel for those on a short break or if travelling on business.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBoughey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    161
    94
    12
    11
See reviews for
43
165
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
611 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

At the start of our five days, and at the end, we met Carlos. A very welcoming and informative member of staff. As one of a party staying at the Guadalmedina, I did wonder if the 'restaurant' would cope with our numbers for breakfast. Cope in the sense of space available and dishes available. Because our arrivals were somewhat staggered, this did not become a problem. The hotel is not too far from the historic centre but is well-placed for the coast railway or the main RENFE station.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel is just a few minutes walk to the city. You just head north go over the bridge and you are there. It is 30 seconds away from one of the smaller entrances to Malaga centro train station and a couple of minutes to a large entrance if you prefer more light. Its less than 10 mins to the main Maria Zambrano station which is near the bus station. We took the bus to Nerja (1hr 20min) from here.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was a little smaller than anticipated but was nice and bed very large.
The drinks in the fridge are chargeable and as usual a little pricey.
We were on the first floor directly above the restaurant/breakfast area and this was a little irritating. We could not hear voices but could hear them them setting up in the morning and water going through pipes. To be fair I did not ask to be moved as I hoped it would get quieter and we really didnt want the hassle of moving our things. There was also some traffic noise on the first floor but this was not excessive.
All in all it was okay/fine but thought it was a little inconsiderate to put us in the room they did as I am sure others have complained- so avoid first floor if you can and make sure you are not above restaurant/cafe area.
We found a very friendly very Spanish and great value bar/cafe called Almijara round the corner. Great if you want to brush up on your Spanish.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BrightMJJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Stayed here for a week, courtesy of insurance company whilst our motor home was being repaired in Malaga, nice comfy rooms Queen sized bed, very clean, and it was centrally situated ,within wailking distance of the city. They also take dogs ( well behaved) The only down thing for us there wasnt any tea or coffee facilities in the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great hotel, Friendly efficient staff. The hotel is within a 10-minute walk of Malaga’s old town and the shops and bars of Larios Street. Location is great and just a 5 minute walk from malaga central train station. The rooms are clean and modern with with free wifi that worked great in our room 510 and free safe, comfortable 2 metre double bed, great shower with plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beach_Boy_Malaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

It's a reasonable distance walk (15 min) from the train station to the hotel. The hotel is also around 10 min walk from the city centre. The room is clean and the wifi connection is fine. The receptionists are friendly. It is quite close to the department store El Corte Ingles so if you need some basic items (e.g. water) you can get them from the supermarket.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Hotel Guadalmedina was clean and modern. Everything worked as it should and the room was quite roomy with comfortable beds and a large bath. It was within walking distance to the harbor, gardens, train and bus station, art museum and the main part of downtown. It was close to restaurants although, it also served breakfast there at the hotel. It is also within walking distance to the metro that takes you to the airport. It is more like a business travel hotel, however as tourists not looking for a pool and spa, we found it to be in the perfect spot.

The staff was helpful and efficient. I would not hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: The hotel fronts the canal which was dry when we were there. Should be a great view when the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Eurostars Astoria
Eurostars Astoria
#33 of 88 in Malaga
501 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
#11 of 88 in Malaga
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sercotel Malaga
#34 of 88 in Malaga
818 reviews
Prolongación de la Alameda
Tryp Malaga Alameda Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Guadalmedina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Guadalmedina

Property: Hotel Guadalmedina
Address: Pasillo Matadero 16, 29002 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Husa Guadalmedina)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro , Perchel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Guadalmedina 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guadalmedina Hotel is a modern and comfortable 4 stars. Especially appropriate for stays of business and leisure given its privileged location in the centre of historical and financial district of the city. In front of the Contemporary Art Centre and just 5 minutes away from the main monuments of the Old Town. In front of the station with direct connection to the Airport and walking distance from the railway stations Maria Zambrano, Bus and Malaga Port. It offers 60 wide and luminous rooms totally equipped with full bathrooms with hairdryer, bath and shower. Work desk, minibar, direct telephone, TV Satellite, air conditioning and heating, free wireless connection and free safety deposit box. It facilities include a social lounge and private guest garage. The Marengo Bar-Restaurant is an addition to all the other attentions and services provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Guadalmedina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Guadalmedina Hotel Malaga
Husa Guadalmedina málaga
Hotel Guadalmedina Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing