We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic”

Antigua Casa de Guardia
Ranked #1 of 69 Nightlife in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 6 Contributor
559 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Magic”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Steeped in history, and a very popular bar. Many Malaga wines to try direct from the barrel. A small selection of food is available to. A visit is a must, when in Malaga.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    148
    30
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The Real Spain!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you only visit one place in Malaga for true Spain, make this your stop. This is your authentic Spanish bar. If you want designer frills and cocktails, this is not for you! What a great atmosphere, mainly old spanish men passing time, and sipping on the sherries straight from the barrel. We visited with our 6 year old daughter, and checked she was ok to go in to which we were told of course! The old way of chalking your bill on the bar was great to be seen. Can't wait to go back!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
180 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Staff appeared bored and disinterested”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Following good reviews on Tripadvisor we went to this Bodega but were unable to find anyone who was interested in either serving us or explaining what they had to offer. There were a few plates of insipid looking food in the fridge but no evidence of what else may have been available to eat, we took several photos of the barrels and then left.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Genuine and historic bodega where you can taste excellent Malaga Moscatel out of the barrels. No fuss in this popular place welcoming locals and tourists alike. A must do in Malaga! I will go back and send everyone I know!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank madamelamarquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Malaga must visit”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Was introduced to this Bodega by our friends who live out in Spain, what an excellent authentic place where the sherry is straight out of the barrel and you can mix and match to make your perfect drink.The tapas is excellent and the cost is reasonable to cheap depending on what you order, we had a plate of cheese which went well with the sherry, friendly staff and quick service, a must visit if you go to Malaga.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua Casa de Guardia also viewed

Malaga, Costa del Sol
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Antigua Casa de Guardia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing