We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Welcome to paradise!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Padre Aviles

The converted stables of Padre Aviles
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The converted stables of Padre Aviles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The converted stables of Padre Aviles
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
11 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Malaga, Costa del Sol, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Liz C
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Welcome to paradise!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 fabulous weeks at Padre Aviles in August - the first time we have ever returned to a summer holiday location we have visited previously. Always keen to explore somewhere new, we just coudn't better what Padre Aviles has to offer. We have 4 children aged 3-10 and finding somewhere that is both relaxing, beautiful, well equipped and offers enough - but not too much - entertainment for the children is a tall order. We stayed in Bougainvillea (head for the apartments near the convent to make the most of the views) which opens (through a gated terrace - important for littlies) straight on to the enormous swimming pool which we shared with the owners' (lovely) children and the apartment upstairs. I would challenge anyone to find a bigger and more perfectly proportioned pool in a self catering house. It is especially fab for families with kids who are both swimmers and non-swimmers - there is a large shallow area (perfect for our 2 younger children to potter around in - they did in fact both learn to swim in it) and then there is a dividing wall which you can jump/dive off into the 3m deep section - perfect for our older 2 who spent 2 weeks retrieving objects from the bottom of the pool. The deep section is 20m long so also ticks the box for the parents who want to do a few lengths every day. The best bit is that the non-swimmers can't just wander out of their depth - genius. This is the first time my husband and I were actually able to relax with kids and the pool. The dividing wall also serves as a great spot for various jousting battles and Harry Potter-esque spell contests. Plus you can pretend you are walking on water. The property has a huge terrace with a range of ride ons/trikes/bikes/scooters, a climbing frame and swings for the kids, plus 2 sensational sky seats hanging from the trees with awesome views over the med. Perfect for a sneaky read of the book and beer while the kids whizz around. The apartments themselves are big and spacious, spotless, comfy and perfectly equipped. Claire and David are fabulous hosts (my kids keep asking when they will come on holiday to our house) - home made cakes on arrival and an absolutely brilliant paella evening on our penultimate night with 2 other groups of returning guests. Their 3 daughters are charming and great fun and our kids loved seeing them again. We returned to Padre Aviles because we wanted to be able to relax properly for once - tough with 4 kids. Well, having done a monster shop at Carrefour the day we arrived, we then didn't leave the property for 9 days. We just didn't need to, the kids were having a great time and we were relaxed for once! Top tip - play your daily tennis match first thing in the morning - it's too hot after about 10.30. We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, pool, tennis courts, hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennie15
Romsey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for two fabulous weeks in the summer, Claire and her family were so helpful and kind, even hosting a party to say goodbye to all the guests at the end of our stay.
Clean white linen, no insects (how??) spotless swimming pools and fabulous double tennis courts.
We recommend staying in one of the stables with balconies, that way you have a more private setting for evening meals when the kids are in bed, as the pool is often in use in the evening (which is lovely, so pretty all lit up)
The acres of unspoilt perfect grounds make for lovely evening walks, lots of sketching and drawing (seems to attract artist, 3 whilst we were there)
Lovely local villages too with some fabulous seafood to be found along the beaches.
We really cannot recommend this flawless location enough, we all felt totally recharged after good nights sleeps and lazy days, we loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully simple and tasteful decor and clean calm pools.
Liked least: Nothing, was perfection!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friendand...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate just book - high spec/ modern apartments, great get away, charming owners”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We highly recommend this as a family holiday as there are a variety of high standard/modern apartments which would suit groups/families of any size. We had the largest 3 bed apartment which had the bonus of an ensuite but all apartments have spacious accommodation and open plan kitchen/living space ideal for families. The apartments are all fronted by patios with dining tables which increases the living spaces. There is ample free parking and it is easy to reach many places like Malage, Ronda & Granada. We had a lovely relaxing break in tranquil surroundings and our teenagers were occupied and particularly enjoyed playing tennis as there are 2 good quality courts always free. Finally to top it all was the most charming hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Apartments are fabulous
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padfink
Cambridgeshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Pretty, tranquil and good value”
Reviewed October 7, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We chose Padre Aviles because we wanted somewhere that would have a swimming pool for the kids and close to the beach and local town. Firstly the good: The location is stunning. The views are amazing and the cottages are extremely clean with good facilities. Clare and her husband are very accommodating and the kids toys are a nice addition so our 3 year old was easy to entertain. It is very safe because the pools and gardens are fenced. The slightly less good things were (a) the pools are unheated and they were freezing so we didn't use them at all which was a real nuisance but our fault for booking somewhere with an unheated pool and (b) various minor things didn't work and when we mentioned them at the end of our stay they clearly knew about them but hadn't fixed them which was slightly irritating and shows a slight lack of attention to detail which makes a holiday great (eg blinds were broken so difficult to open and close, the fridge leaked on the floor so had to have newspaper down all the time...) The major downside for us as a family was the drive into town which was a good 20 minutes down a wiggly road so you couldn't just pop out for milk as it was a good hours round trip to get a newspaper or a pint of milk and the unheated swimming pool. Would I stay there again? Unfortunately the answer would be no because of the above. If you didn't have young children then it would probably be lovely because of the tranquility and the cottages themselves which are lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: pretty view, very tranquil
Liked least: Isolated location 20 minutes drive down an extremely wiggly road.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing