We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and inviting atmosphere for locals and travelers. Kept coming back for the delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clandestino

Clandestino
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Clandestino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #430 of 1,956 Restaurants in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Centro
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and inviting atmosphere for locals and travelers. Kept coming back for the delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The menu is superb. The best tasting food and presentation I've seen in years. Even the Exotic foods were amazing. I was a solo traveler so thanks for the good eats and time well spent. Definitely a must go to place if you looking to impress someone special.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sillysullyputty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    101
    43
    28
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Atmospheric friendly restaurant in the heart of Malaga's old town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great little restaurant only 200m from the Plaza Merced. Good atmosphere, friendly staff, excellent food, in the heart of the old town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amdgriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

we were hoping for a really good food experience...... BAD, BAD, Bad..... Don't waste time trying to find this rubbish restaurant... Terrible food and very indifferent service.... Don't wast your appetite and money

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laos_Jungle_Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and open all day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you fancy something a bit different, check out Clandestino. Good for sharing too as the portions tend to be huge.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Northlondongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bit overrated...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Why this restaurant got the 8th place in Malaga is still a question for me, but if you see the restaurant rankings in other cities I can understand. A lot of Tripadvisors like quantity for no money. And that's exactly what Clandestino offers. Nothing of the food was bad, but nothing made me smile or was good enough to go back. I started with a beef carpaccio and my girlfriend with a cesar salad (both mini portions). Both were good, but too big. My girlfriend had enough to eat after her salad. As a main we had pasta serranesa and new south lasagna. Both were alright but lacking a bit of taste and the lasagna was quite heavy. We split one dessert, just for the taste of it, the James Brownies. Again this dish was too heavy and a bit dry.
All in all, we didn't pay much, ate some decent food but I wouldn't go back for a second time. Nothing convinced me. I can understand why people appreciate this kind of restaurant but I don't.
Service was a bit chaotic, but in general friendly.
To end with a positive note: Drinks and wine were very good!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pans_HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clandestino also viewed

 
Malaga, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Clandestino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing