We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Ranked #93 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean and cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Located right in the center of historic Malaga, this place is perfect as long as you don't forget you are in a student room. So do not expect a 4-star and you'll appreciate it.
+: Location, cheap, clean, surprisingly quiet, Internet, friendly staff, lots of cheap cafes and bar around.
-: No AC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 88Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
7
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was there in 2007, nice and clean place. Very central :) and down to the hostel there is very nice restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvijaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If its a City Centre budget room you require then its good for that ,it can be noisy ,hot ,and more for the young student types on a low budget .It has its pros and cons ,
Pro's .At the heart of the city off Calle Larios , and 100's of cafe/bars and restaurants , and cheap .
Cons . A bit noisy from the streets to the side and behind , no air con shared toilets and showers .

Room Tip: side and rear rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ab2pcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sakskoebing, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked 5 days at this place, cause i was going down to malaga for en exam and took my girlfriend wiht me. Both from denmark. We wanted at cheap central place and found this. Price is ok if you can live like a spartan. No aircon, no toilet on the rooms, and paper thin walls. We got a room with toilets on both sides and could hear everytime people went on the toilet. First night we godt 4 hours of sleep, cause everytime people went from room to room the doors were slammed and you woke up with a heart beat. Next day we cheked out and first they refused to pay the money back. After a lot of disagreements vi finaly got 3 days of pay. We only slept there one night. The breakfast aint breakfeast, its black coffe, white bread and ketchup Horrible. I will not recomand this place. We found a hotel not even 400 meters from santa paule, 100 meters from the metro and we only payed 8 euroes more a day for that stay. Thoug witouth breakfeast but a nice decent hotel room, airconditioned and with own batrhoom. So if you dont care if you use 8 euroes more or less, this aint worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Punkaharju, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to find a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights in Malaga, so Santa Paula was our choice.
Location had its pros and cons... Right in the middle of the old town, so close to everything (even parkinghouses) but even at this time of the year the street was noisy till 5 a.m. so if you are not a very good sleeper, earplugs are essential!
The breakfast was next to nothing, almost made me angry... Coffee and a white roll, no juice, no yogurt, no cheese or ham etc.
The staff was nice though...
At least at this time of the year (March) you don't have to be a student to stay here - I'm a mom who travelled with her daughter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katriina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Warning: If you do not hold a student card, you are not eligible!

If you don't mind spartan living conditions, in a small and tired room, with no a/c (remember this is Southern Spain), and a window opening on a very noisy street (where restaurant owners chatter on until 1 am, followed by city cleaning services until 2 am); if you don't object to communal shower rooms and toilets; if an extremely frugal breakfast (a roll + some butter + some jam + a artificially flavoured white yoghourt + American coffee) is the least of your concern; if you only have 21 EUR to spend per night; then this is your dream destination.

You will be rewarded with one of the best locations in town: in the middle of the old city, 30 sec from the Plaza de la Constitucion and the posh Calle Molina Lario, a few minutes away only from the Cathedral and the Museo Picasso. The beach, Malagetta is less than a 15 minutes walk. Just perfect! Way better than the official youth hostel, which is 20 minutes away, or other University student halls, which are even farther out.

The place is ok for a short-term stay or student backpackers on a shoestring budget. It is clean, has 24/24 porter service, and is dirt cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Extremely basic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Cinco Bolas
Cinco Bolas
#96 of 134 in Malaga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Centro
Residencia Universitaria San Jose
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#25 of 134 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
No photo provided
Urbanliving Liborio
#99 of 134 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Chinitas Urban Hostel
#29 of 134 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Centro
Apartamentos Goodplaces Larios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula

Property: Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Address: Calle Especeria 5, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing