We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Ranked #98 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
scotland
Level Contributor
233 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Great city location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

If its a City Centre budget room you require then its good for that ,it can be noisy ,hot ,and more for the young student types on a low budget .It has its pros and cons ,
Pro's .At the heart of the city off Calle Larios , and 100's of cafe/bars and restaurants , and cheap .
Cons . A bit noisy from the streets to the side and behind , no air con shared toilets and showers .

Room Tip: side and rear rooms are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ab2pcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
7
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sakskoebing, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We booked 5 days at this place, cause i was going down to malaga for en exam and took my girlfriend wiht me. Both from denmark. We wanted at cheap central place and found this. Price is ok if you can live like a spartan. No aircon, no toilet on the rooms, and paper thin walls. We got a room with toilets on both sides and could hear everytime people went on the toilet. First night we godt 4 hours of sleep, cause everytime people went from room to room the doors were slammed and you woke up with a heart beat. Next day we cheked out and first they refused to pay the money back. After a lot of disagreements vi finaly got 3 days of pay. We only slept there one night. The breakfast aint breakfeast, its black coffe, white bread and ketchup Horrible. I will not recomand this place. We found a hotel not even 400 meters from santa paule, 100 meters from the metro and we only payed 8 euroes more a day for that stay. Thoug witouth breakfeast but a nice decent hotel room, airconditioned and with own batrhoom. So if you dont care if you use 8 euroes more or less, this aint worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malaga hotels

Punkaharju, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

We wanted to find a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights in Malaga, so Santa Paula was our choice.
Location had its pros and cons... Right in the middle of the old town, so close to everything (even parkinghouses) but even at this time of the year the street was noisy till 5 a.m. so if you are not a very good sleeper, earplugs are essential!
The breakfast was next to nothing, almost made me angry... Coffee and a white roll, no juice, no yogurt, no cheese or ham etc.
The staff was nice though...
At least at this time of the year (March) you don't have to be a student to stay here - I'm a mom who travelled with her daughter.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katriina_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2007

Warning: If you do not hold a student card, you are not eligible!

If you don't mind spartan living conditions, in a small and tired room, with no a/c (remember this is Southern Spain), and a window opening on a very noisy street (where restaurant owners chatter on until 1 am, followed by city cleaning services until 2 am); if you don't object to communal shower rooms and toilets; if an extremely frugal breakfast (a roll + some butter + some jam + a artificially flavoured white yoghourt + American coffee) is the least of your concern; if you only have 21 EUR to spend per night; then this is your dream destination.

You will be rewarded with one of the best locations in town: in the middle of the old city, 30 sec from the Plaza de la Constitucion and the posh Calle Molina Lario, a few minutes away only from the Cathedral and the Museo Picasso. The beach, Malagetta is less than a 15 minutes walk. Just perfect! Way better than the official youth hostel, which is 20 minutes away, or other University student halls, which are even farther out.

The place is ok for a short-term stay or student backpackers on a shoestring budget. It is clean, has 24/24 porter service, and is dirt cheap.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Extremely basic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridge_Student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Cinco Bolas
Cinco Bolas
#94 of 135 in Malaga
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Centro
Residencia Universitaria San Jose
Centro
No photo provided
Urbanliving Liborio
#87 of 135 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Feel Hostels City Center
Feel Hostels City Center
#35 of 135 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Centro
Hostel Juanita
Hostel Juanita
#28 of 135 in Malaga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Centro
Apartamentos Goodplaces Larios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula

Property: Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula
Address: Calle Especeria 5, 29005 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Universitaria Santa Paula Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing