We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Ranked #6 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
166 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“2 Star Hotel”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I am completely baffled as how this place can claim 4 star status. Having stayed in a genuine 4 star hotel at the port the night before, this place just felt like a youth hostel.
The room was basic and cramped.
Staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.
Check in was painfully slow until a manager took over.
The bed wasn't comfortable and creaked.
They make a big fuss of the shower unit which due to poor water pressure didn't work as it should have.
They also supply a laptop but I'm simply not happy doing anything on someone else's computer so even the booking for our next hotel to get out of this place was by smartphone and the laptop went unused.
The location is excellent but that is where it ended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa T, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Trebor,
Thank you very much for your feedback.
We regret, however, that certain details were not entirely to your liking.recieve my depest apologizes for the speed at the check in , we are in process to solve this problem, Ultimately, we work to please our guests and their opinions are what always guide us in doing so.
We are at your complete disposal for anything you may need.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    482
    127
    57
    22
See reviews for
308
560
40
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Petit Palace at the last minute based on the review on TripAdvisor. It turned to exceed our expectations! Perfectly located in the Old Town of Malaga - just off the famous Constitution Square and adjacent to the beautiful Cathedral. The rooms were clean, fresh and contemporary. Our room had a power shower; a complimentary laptop (with free wifi) ; a LCD TV (no English channels though!) and a spiral staircase leading to a private roof patio with a 360° view of the city. The staff were cheerful, helpful and welcoming. We will definitely be going back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ALGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa T, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Algraham,
ante todoa gradecerle el interés mostrado en nuestro hotel , así como los comentarios positivos uqe nos ha dejado sobre el presonal, la limpieza y decoración. Es un placer saber que ha disfrutado en nuestra maravillosa y exclusiva habitación con terraza, la cual ofrece exclusivas vistas panorámicas de Málaga.Esperamos poder volver a darle la bienvenida en nuestro Hotel y deseamos que su experiencia vuelva a ser satisfactoria,un saludo . Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

On my first visit to Malaga, a business trip, the host had arranged a room in this Hotel. Used to staying in large reputable chains, I was not sure what to expect, but it turned out to be fantastic. The room had a view of the Cathedral and the Alcazaba that was truly magical, especially in evening/night and at dawn. The rooms were well appointed, if on the smaller side, and the baths were luxurious. The staff was quite friendly and helpful to foreigners. The Hotel is on a historic square (some of the rooms have views of this square), with many eateries around. A short walk from there leads to the beach for a jog/walk and more restaurants, as well as the Alcazaba-Gibralfaro. I hope to return with family for a proper vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avalok11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetitPalacePlaza, Director General at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped; Antes de nada agradecerle que escogiera nuestro hotel para hospedarse, apreciamos sus comentarios y positiva valoración sobre la limpieza de nuestras habitaciones e instalaciones, así como nuestra inmejorable ubicación y la simpatía de nuestro personal, son críticas como estas y valoraciones así de positivas las que nos hacen seguir adelante y mejorar día a día, le esperamos en su próxima visita a la ciudad y deseamos que cuente con nosotros para su futura estancia tanto en Málaga como en el resto de destinos en los que Petit Palace está presente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a great stay in Malaga this weekend. The Hotel is in a perfect location and of a good standard. The rooms are clean, spacious and functional. Part of me questions the four star rating given the tv channels are poor, bathroom and shower door not closing 100% and leak from shower head. The beds were also to the hard side of firm with a very noisy bunk bed!
Don't take this wrong .. they were minor points, don't let them put you off but they are the sort of finishes I might expect for four star. This was room 311 by the way, sleeping four people.
In Malaga the hotel is named the "High Tech" Petit Palace Plaza .... I am really not sure what is high tech about it. The wifi was great (which is appreciated) but I am not sure it makes the hotel high tech!
Great city, glad we chose the hotel as the location is so good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leewxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalén M, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped;

Antes de nada agradecerle que nos haga llegar sus comentarios que nos han ayudado a reparar los ruídos de la litera inferior de su habitación, así como la puerta de la ducha que quedaba 2 cms abierta y ya está solucionado.
En cuanto a los canales de TV, le informamos que tenemos 57 canales nacionales e internacionales, por lo que lamentamos que todos estos comentarios no nos los hayan comentado durante su estancia y hubiéramos podido solucionarles las incidencias o cambiarles de habitación para mejorar su comodidad.
Agradecemos que valore nuestra ubicación y nuestro wifi de 30MB y deseamos volver a darles la bienvenida a nuestro Hotel.

Gracias y que tengan un feliz día,

Jerusalén Mateos Figueroa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We recently took advantage of an excellent flight and hotel deal to the Petit Palace Plaza Malaga and were greatly impressed with this Petit gem of a Palace. Our room was very comfortable and we particularly liked the bright orange armchairs. The bathroom was very modern and the multi power setting shower was excellent. We were very impressed by the free intenet access provided by the complimentary laptop in our room. Choice at breakfast was plentiful and of a very good standard and set us up well for our days of sightseeing. There are so many excellent restaurants and tapas bars in the locale that we didn't have to venture too far of an evening to enjoy the delights of a city many people ignore en route to the beaches of the Costa del Sol. Well worth a visit

Room Tip: The hotel is set back off the main shopping street so we were not aware of any street noise. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalén M, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Anne:

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate it and we loved that you enjoyed your confortable room, hidromassage shower, laptop, Speed 30MB free internet WIFI and full breakfast buffet.
We really look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Jerusalén Mateos Figueroa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Right in the heart of all the bars and restaurants but set back enough so not kept up by any noise. Taxi driver struggled to find it but it could be because you have to walk the last bit from the main road. Funky orange colours throughout the hotel. Room was good size and clean. Breakfast was good - a buffet that can get a bit busy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalén M, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest:

We appreciatte your positive comments about our location, breakfast, room and service.
We look forward to welcome you again at our Hotel.

kind regards,

Jerusalén Mateos Figueroa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a very good experience staying in this hotel. The location is very convenient and it's so easy to get around. The rooms are suprisingly big and nice. Staff is friendly and helpful. During our trip we have visited 5 cities in Andalusia and Petit Palace Plaza Malaga was definitely the best hotel we've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansur_Aglyamov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalén M, Gerente at Petit Palace Plaza Malaga, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped;

Estamos muy agradecidos por la valoración que hace de nuestra céntrica ubicación y servicio, gracias por sus comentarios y deseamos volver a verles en nuestro Hotelk en su próxima visita a Málaga,

Que tengan un buen día,

Jerusalén Mateos Figueroa
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
396 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
1,024 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#3 of 90 in Malaga
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Palace Plaza Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Palace Plaza Malaga

Property: Petit Palace Plaza Malaga
Address: Calle Nicasio Calle 5 | Esquina con Calle Larios, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Malaga
#6 Business Hotel in Malaga
#6 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#9 Family Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petit Palace Plaza Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Petit Palace Plaza Malaga is situated on the corner of Larios street, one of the busiest shopping streets, behind the Cathedral, 4 star hotel in the middle of the historic centre of Málaga. The Petit Palace Plaza Malaga occupies a magnificent early twentieth-century building. Our modern rooms feature flat screen TV (with Satellite TV), hydro-massage shower, air-conditioned/ heating and mini-bar.It is also close to the harbour, two kilometres from the railway station and 10 kilometres from the airport.Room types •66 stylish rooms.•High-Tech rooms: laptop, exercise bike, trouser press, hydro massage shower and king-size bed.•Family rooms up to 5 people: King-size bed or two beds plus bunk beds. (Baby cots free of charge).•Equipped rooms for pets (bed, feeding and water bowls).•Rooms for disabled people.•Smoking & non smoking rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Palace Plaza Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Hotel Malaga
Petit Palace Plaza málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Hotel málaga
Petit Palace Plaza Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing