We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,721)
Filter reviews
3,721 results
Traveler rating
2,063
1,322
238
63
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
1,322
238
63
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfirst floorold townshopping centregreat hotelblack out blindsmodern hotelminute walkmain stationmaria zambrano stationthe ground floorlocal traindirect accessother citieshuge bedconvenient locationbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,680 - 1,685 of 3,721 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I booked this hotel after seeing a great deal for a long weekend break and reading very favourable reviews. However my partner and I didn't like it... to the extent that we booked a different hotel for the last night, despite not being able to get a refund on the last night's booking at the Barcelo.

The design and decor etc is all very cool and modern, but the hotel is geared so strongly for business, it didn't feel very comfy for a holiday. The main problem though - and the one that drove us out! - is that the windows don't open and the whole place is air-conditioned, quite cooly in the communal areas. We had gone away for some sunshine and warmth, and being at the Barcelo was like being in an air-conditioned, sound-proofed, airtight box that could have been anywhere in the world. OK, so maybe you think you're not going to spend a lot of time at the hotel so it doesn't matter, but you still want to get out of bed and fling open windows and breathe in warm sunshiny air first thing, or relax with the feel of warm evening air on your skin between a busy day and going out in the evening - or at least we did, and you can't do that here. It had the feeling of not having had any fresh air since the day the last window pane was put in place (though I'm sure the cleaners can open the windows) and despite the big comfy bed neither of us slept well the two nights we were there.

The location is great to explore the rest of the coast, being right above the station, and for one night it would be a good place to stay. But we wouldn't recommend it otherwise.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel-London-77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We had a great stay at Barcelo Malaga. The hotel is directly connected to a shopping mall and train station (all of which appear to be brand new), making it very convinient. The place was clean and hip (in a "W Hotel" sort of way) and included a great breakfast buffet. Our favorite part was the modern metal slide connecting the first floor to the ground - a nice touch. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DanSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Ok, so we got out flight to Malaga airport and easily navigated our way to the local train station just outside the airport. It was easy enough to purchase a ticket which cost us around 2 euros each, the train ride was about 15/20 minutes to Maria Zambrano which is the last stop and the one needed for Barcelo Malaga.

The hotel is located practicially in a shopping centre. The shopping centre has a great variety of restaurants and clothes shops and there is a convenience store about 2 mins away from the hotel called "SuperCor". Although there are not many attractions near the hotel, there is the bus station outside the shopping centre and a well populated taxi rank.

The hotel itself is out of this world. Completely air conditioned which was very desirable when we went as temperatures were uncomfortably warm. The staff are very pleasant & speak very good english. The hotel is ultra modern, funky and clean. Although it is right by the train station, the hotel and rooms are sound proof.

Our room was great. Has complete black out shutters, fridge, a safe to use free of charge, air con etc. The only thing I was less impressed about was the bathroom door. This was actually a window/mirror and even though I was with my other half - it was quite uncomfortable going to the loo knowing he could peep at any time!

Breakfast was remarkable. Even for the most fussy eaters like myself, the selection was really good. Except - no semi skimmed milk! Fantastic quality of food.

Finally, if you are a holiday maker here and looking at sending a postcard all you need to do is hand the postcard into reception without a stamp and they will action this for you at no additional price. I would presume this is the same for letters, however I didn't need to send one so wouldn't like to mislead if this is not the case.

I would highly recommend this hotel although the location is not the most desirable tourist hot spot.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SunsetCha5er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This is a smart, sassy hotel that was more than adequate for the 1 night that we stayed there (quality of a good 3 1/2 star hotel, in my opinion).

We didn't arrive until gone 1.30 a.m (delayed flight and I am directionally challenged!) but it was a great little place to chill for 1 night. Bathroom door doubled up as the mirror - quirky. Nice sound-proofed rooms and curtains that blocked out the sunlight. Got up too late to glance at breakfast, so can't comment on that.

Had to park in the 10 minute stay area whilst registering. Would not recommend leaving your car there overnight - definitely park in the under-ground area and pay the 18 Euro's.

Some of Malaga's architecture was truly stunning and the people were some of the friendliest that I met whilst in Spain.

If you can get the train to this hotel - even better. It would prove to be very convenient.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank TallyAttwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

we went there to spend our wedding aniversary, we love it!!very boutique hotel! great breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joana_linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews