We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, clean and modern rooms”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Ultra modern, stylish rooms that are very big. Compared with other hotels we stayed in in Andalucia, this was a lot more expensive which is why I have only rated it very good, not excellent. Good wifi signal. Very convenient for train station, not quite so convenient for city centre. Overall, no complaints.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Claire970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 3,362 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

If you wish to stay near the railway station this place is ideal as it is an integral part of the station itself. It has a bit more style than substance, but is clean with courteous service. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on that - being beside the station there are plenty of opportunities to grab a quick breakfast. The station itself is on the edge of central Malaga - about a 15 minute walk to the heart of the shopping district/port. There is a great range of seafood restaurants about ten minutes walk away by leaving the main front entrance of the hotel walking across and down the side of the Corte Ingles Outlet then turning right and going about five blocks or so - to the left there is a street with loads of restaurants very popular with locals.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewnatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Positive:
- Arriving with RENFE train from Sevilla at the Maria Zambrano station, you don't have to get out of the building. The hotel is directly connected to the train station and Vialia Shopping Centre, which is the only shop opens on Sunday in Malaga.
- Perfect for people who wanna pass through the city and catch an early flight in the morning, because there's a direct train to the airport starting before 7am, only takes 8 minutes travelling and costs not more than 2 euro.
- It's a nice clean modern hotel with extra large bed, complete amenities, excellent heating, free good signal wifi and a super good hot shower.

Negative:
- The location is kinda far from the city centre old town, so if you wanna see some attractions there it's about 20 minutes walking. The beach is even further than that.
- The bleach smell when we checked in was kinda strong and it stayed for a while.
- We asked for the sea view room, but instead we got a view of the top station which was the roof!
- Only 1 channel on tv is in English.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank mizz_dhania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

the hotel is located next to the ave train station and has a walkway to the station from the hotel for guests. The rooms are well decorated and the furnishings and well kept. The hotel restaurant serves excellent food at a good price. For the traveller who is thinking of staying at this hotel to visit Malaga, the hotel is a bit out of the centre but still within walking distance. The hotel offers car parking space but at a price of 18 euros a day. All in all a great hotel which will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maurice1001_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a lovely modern hotel, with nice comfortable rooms, a brilliant walk-in shower with jets etc. Comfortable bed and pillows. It's not right in the centre but only about 15 minutes walk, and it's right next to the station if you're arriving/leaving by train. Parking at the hotel is 17 euros a day, but if you're prepared to look around you should be able to find free parking nearby. We drove down Calle Ferrocarril just next to the hotel and found parking at the end of the road, just 5 minutes walk away. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but there's a nice little cafe on the ground floor of the shopping centre at the station next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TravelJimmy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We travelled with our 2 yr old to Malaga for a city break and stayed at the Barcelo.
Good location above the main train station Maria Zembrano (10 mn by train to airport). 10-15 walk to the centre. Unlike some other cities, the area around the station is perfectly safe, and has lots of decent shops.
The hotel itself is modern and quite big; the staff are friendly and speak foreign languages. There is an amazing slide in the middle of the lobby that we used to take after breakfast.
The room was of good size, bit too warm from the south exposure, the bed massive. Everything was comfortable and clean. We had one problem with a sliding door and that was fixed on the same day while we were out.
The breakfast buffet was varied, the quality of food excellent. They had high chairs and an endless supply of smiles.
If back in Malaga, we would stay at Barcelo again

Room Tip: I would stay away from south facing rooms, too hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glitzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Super modern hotel, caters for business but is also great for tourists. We came by train so it was great to just get to the hotel via the same building as the station.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Room was large and luxurious.
We walked to the city centre and it took about 20 minutes of easy walking, but there is also buses that go to the centre regularly from the front of hotel.
We didn't have breakfast here but went next door to the train station which had heaps of places to choose from.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 87 in Malaga
1,162 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
617 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 87 in Malaga
2,003 reviews
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 87 in Malaga
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $126 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Barcelo, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing