We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from a long weekend to Malaga with friends and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Seamless journey from airport to hotel via short train journey therefore very convenient both from the point of view of getting there and also conveniently situated for making the 15-20 minute walk down to the port or into the older part of Malaga. Lots of places nearby to have that early morning coffee/croissant/pastry so didn't eat in the hotel at all as we stayed out all day, only coming back after we had had our evening meal.

Rooms spacious and clean as were the bathrooms and although the hotel is in the main railway station it was very quiet - not even much road noise.

Staff at reception were very helpful and friendly.

A few small gripes if I was to be very picky - no spyhole in the bedroom doors, the room to room phone wasn't working properly, there was no other mirror other than the one in the bathroom and the aircon in either room didn't seem to want to go down below 21 degrees so quite warm at night; don't know how that would feel in the height of summer.

However these were only minor problems and did not in any way spoil our break.

Would definitely recommend this hotel especially for ease of getting to from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,130
    895
    169
    33
    14
See reviews for
340
1,135
125
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
HEREFORD, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location over the main railway station, easy transport links, good food, great conference venue. Very helpful staff. I had an incident which was an accident and the staff did there very best. I would say that the bar area is poorly lit at night. The slide is great fun though !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monocularman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is connected to the Malaga railway station. Very easy to reach, also with the local trains from the airport. Very modern interior, and nice and clean rooms. Great breakfast. A small bar/cafe in the lobby. A walk to the city centre takes 15 - 20 minutes. The hotel is a good choice for meetings. I would not choose this hotel for weekends or holidays, as it has no swimming pool and small areas outdoors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 821Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is well placed attached to the train station & minutes to the Bus station which makes getting to & from the airport easy.It is a 10-15 minute walk to central Malaga.This is a hotel aimed at the business traveller, quite modern & minimalist.We didn't use the bars/ lounges they didn't appeal.The room was adequate with comfortable beds & good bathroom.The staff on Reception were very friendly & helpful & went out of their way to help retrieve our suitcase which another passenger walked off with at the airport.We didn't have breakfast opting for a drink in the local cafes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysrmeNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Even considering it was Easter break, the hotel was rather expensive. In addition, we booked and paid for a three person room, but we got a double with a fold up bed. Though it was of rather good quality, it was rather short + very little space was left in the room.
The decor of the hotel is very modern, with some nice design touches (best of all the slide from the first floor to the reception). It however starts showing some signs of time, though minor.

We used Malaga as a hub for visiting other places with public transportation. Given our needs, location was unbeatable…For visiting malaga, a hotel in the historical part of the town might be preferable.
All in all, I would have no problems going back or recommending this hotel, depending on the purpose of the visit…but this was not very good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italy_norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I are just back from a 4 night stay in Malaga at the Barcelo Hotel. It is very clean and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned daily and we had no complaints. The English channels didn't work at first but reception sorted this once we queried it.

The hotel is situated right at the train station which is brilliant as the station also has a shopping centre in it! There are plenty of restaurants to try, we went to Woking, which was brilliant once you knew what to do!? Basically you fill your bowl at the first two stations then a second bowl with rice or noodles etc. then they stirfry everything there and then. Very fresh and tasty.

If you are getting the train from the airport, we didn't think it was sign posted very well....the easiest way is to head outside and you will see the sign posts better. Get off at the station before Malaga Centre. oh, and the tickets have a time limit on them so beware of that if getting your tickets on the day of departure to save time later. (School boy error)

Would definitely go back here. Enjoy!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Layne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is realy great, 5 minutes walk from the city center, very helpful staff. The Hotel is located above a shopping mall with all rental car agancies in it. The best part - Best breakfast ever !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ik251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malaga
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#2 of 91 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Tryp Guadalmar
#29 of 91 in Malaga
3.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 91 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing