We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had to stay 3 nights at this hotel, because we were ill and could not fly.
So in consideration of this it was a very lucky thing that we found this hotel.
Lovely room with an enormous bathroom.
A very good breakfast buffet an a friendly staff.
Only small detail that irritated was the background music, in the restaurant area.
It was the same irritating three accords over and over, proberbly meant to be relaxing, but had the opposite effect on us.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,238 - 1,244 of 3,240 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've been in this hotel a couple of times and both of them I've had an extremely pleasant stay. The hotel decor is thoroughly modern and functional, but the best thing, apart from its location on top of the main train station, is that it's comfortable, clean and the staff are all very professional and attentive. I haven't tried their breakfast, but the room service for a night snack was lusher than expected. I honestly cannot fault this hotel and will definitely stop over any other time I need to sleep over in Malaga.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaraKeMara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Super place! I am a solo female traveller. Received an amazing double for single use, large and well designed, desk & chair, reading chair, huge bed, electronic wall width blind, rainshower & massage shower heads, free wifi & safe. ALL staff, from day & night front desk to breakfast staff & cleaners, kind, helpful, polite and friendly. I recommend that you go for the breakfast inclusion, good variety (even cava for mimosas), decent hours 7:30 - 10:30, and hotel checkout is noon! Corte Ingles across the street, train station with shopping mall next door, bus station around the corner, Old Town and historical sights 15 minute walk or €5 cab.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljwtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent location next to the main station and only a pleasant 15 minute walk to the town centre
Good local bars and restaurants are everywhere as well as a few beachside shacks for sitting in the sun eating fresh tapas and sipping local wine

Room Tip: Despite being adjacent to the main station there was no noise at all!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in Barcelo Malaga for a second time and it is definitely my favorite hotel in Malaga.
Modern design, great rooms, next to the train station, great staff,great Wi-Fi. Not far from the beach and great location 10 mins walk to old town.
Overall, a great hotel and certainly worth a stay.
I'll stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. You can get the train from the airport to Maria Zambrano station and the hotel is situated in the station and is well sign posted. It is only about a 15-20 min walk into the centre of Malaga to all the major sights and bars and restaurants, but there are also some eating places in the shopping centre at the railway station and a great bar in the hotel itself. The hotel was very modern and room was spacious, very quiet and comfortable with a huge bed and a choice of pillows. The bathroom had a huge shower with several jets. The staff were fantastic and all very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights before getting the train to Seville and found it really helpful that the train platforms were displayed behind the reception desk. We only had breakfast on the last day and had it delivered to our room. It came right on time and was delicious and plentiful. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonF72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a business-oriented hotel in a great location - being adjacent to the main rail station. Although it is in a very busy location, we were never disturbed by noise. The room was clean, if a bit in need of an update. The king bed is almost unheard of in most of Europe. The breakfast is very nice, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The only downside for us is that it was a bit of a hike to good restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suefranss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
600 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing