We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,732)
Filter reviews
3,732 results
Traveler rating
2,067
1,326
238
64
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,067
1,326
238
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfirst floorold townshopping centregreat hotelblack out blindsmodern hotelminute walkmain stationmaria zambrano stationthe ground floorlocal traindirect accessother citieshuge bedconvenient locationbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,448 - 1,453 of 3,732 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were en route to Almeria and stopped two nights Our prime reason for choosing the hotel (apart from Trip Advisor!) was its links to onward transport although it is a good hotel in its own right. It is situated adjacent to the railway station and is only five minutes from Malaga bus station. The ride in from the airport is about 20 minutes by frequent bus service - the bus leaves from outside Arrivals, get off at the railway station and you can't miss the hotel. The journey can also be done by train (three stops) but the bus leaves from just outside Arrivals and I have no idea of how easy it would have been to find the station at Malaga airport which is rather large and busy. It is an "avant garde" hotel with ultra-modern furnishings and fittings. We actually had two rooms as we were offered an alternative room (an upgrade in fact) after the first night because our room safe was not functioning and a technician was unable to fix it. It was one of these small but annoying problems which was superbly dealt with by reception - well done! The room was well furnished, well lit, comfortable with a good bathroom and well functioning air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food but it might be worth noting that the restaurant does not open on Sundays until 07.30 which is on the late side for some travel. It is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Malaga which we decided not to do at night. It is, however, easy (and fairly cheap) to take the train to a resort like Fuengirola for a cheap and fairly good meal - which we did. The hotel bar is quite small but there is an outside area which is available in good weather. The staff were, without exception, helpful and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the hotel on all counts but particularly to people who have transport connections to catch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

hotel says: free wifi
in reality: wifi signal only strong enough to use in business centre.

Hotel appears to have lovely rooms.
In reality: no free bottle of water as one would expect really and room is quite shoddily constructed (door is wonky, tap in bathroom is wonky, tiles don't meet up properly).

Nice bar, but empty and souless. Dining room may have nice food but was closed. Whole of the lounge/bar area was empty.

Rceptionist aloof and a little unfriendly.

Altogether very disappointing, but maybe expectations were too high after reading comments on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: just go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo for a weekend in September. The room was lovely and modern, huge palm tree pictures on the wall and a swivel James Bond chair. Room was on a high floor as we had requested. Beds were twin beds, but comfy. Room had free wifi. The shower was excellent with lots of jet settings.

The hotels bar, cocktails, outside seating area and slide were great fun. Nice unique feature that sets it apart from other hotels.

Overall we had a great stay, but the location of the hotel was the biggest negative for us, being set back quite far away from the action of Malaga city centre and nightlife. Nevertheless, the hotel was good value and enjoyable and we would book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Remarkably affordable prices for a smart, comfortable modern hotel - with direct access to Malaga's train station and a few minutes' walk to the bus station. An excellent wide-ranging buffet breakfast. Efficient and fast reception. Perfect for a couple of nights - though it's a taxi/bus journey to get to Malaga's town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We drove right into the hotel parking - very easy to find and close to the hotel entrance. Also, parking for first 30 mins (I think) was free so great for me as I was checking in, leaving bags then immediately returning hire car to airport and getting train back into town. Getting to hotel was easy (via car and via train - it's actually connected to the station via a large shopping centre) and when we arrived we were greeted by a woman who was super-friendly and had decent English.

The lifts worked fast, the corridors were clean and wide and the room was terrific - as good as some 5-star hotels we've stayed in. Bed was almost comically enormous and wonderfully comfortable. Very modern and clean. Just lovely to be in.

Some have mentioned the location isn't great. This is true - it's not very central to the parts of Malaga that most will visit. However, it is a train station hotel - not a city centre hotel so one expects it to be at the train station, wherever that may be! At any rate, it's a 10 minute walk into the shopping district and a pleasant enough stroll to make back after a few tapas and rioja.

We have been fortunate enough to stay in some great hotels and the Barcelo Malaga ranks very highly in our list. For the price we paid, it was ridiculously good.

We stayed only one night but based on that I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews