We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
wilts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for one night as I needed to get an onward bus connection the next day. Normally we stay at the Silken Puerta which is opposite, but on this occasion the Barcelo offered a better rate. It was perfectly comfortable and slightly quirky. I did not feel that there was any proper lounge area to relax in and my bar meal was not particularly good. But the location can't be bettered if you need easy access to the rail or bus station and the reception staff were extremely friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alikat32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    1,090
    186
    48
    21
See reviews for
435
1,445
148
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
217 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were en route to Almeria and stopped two nights Our prime reason for choosing the hotel (apart from Trip Advisor!) was its links to onward transport although it is a good hotel in its own right. It is situated adjacent to the railway station and is only five minutes from Malaga bus station. The ride in from the airport is about 20 minutes by frequent bus service - the bus leaves from outside Arrivals, get off at the railway station and you can't miss the hotel. The journey can also be done by train (three stops) but the bus leaves from just outside Arrivals and I have no idea of how easy it would have been to find the station at Malaga airport which is rather large and busy. It is an "avant garde" hotel with ultra-modern furnishings and fittings. We actually had two rooms as we were offered an alternative room (an upgrade in fact) after the first night because our room safe was not functioning and a technician was unable to fix it. It was one of these small but annoying problems which was superbly dealt with by reception - well done! The room was well furnished, well lit, comfortable with a good bathroom and well functioning air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food but it might be worth noting that the restaurant does not open on Sundays until 07.30 which is on the late side for some travel. It is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Malaga which we decided not to do at night. It is, however, easy (and fairly cheap) to take the train to a resort like Fuengirola for a cheap and fairly good meal - which we did. The hotel bar is quite small but there is an outside area which is available in good weather. The staff were, without exception, helpful and efficient and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the hotel on all counts but particularly to people who have transport connections to catch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hibees43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

hotel says: free wifi
in reality: wifi signal only strong enough to use in business centre.

Hotel appears to have lovely rooms.
In reality: no free bottle of water as one would expect really and room is quite shoddily constructed (door is wonky, tap in bathroom is wonky, tiles don't meet up properly).

Nice bar, but empty and souless. Dining room may have nice food but was closed. Whole of the lounge/bar area was empty.

Rceptionist aloof and a little unfriendly.

Altogether very disappointing, but maybe expectations were too high after reading comments on Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: just go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manilva, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo for a weekend in September. The room was lovely and modern, huge palm tree pictures on the wall and a swivel James Bond chair. Room was on a high floor as we had requested. Beds were twin beds, but comfy. Room had free wifi. The shower was excellent with lots of jet settings.

The hotels bar, cocktails, outside seating area and slide were great fun. Nice unique feature that sets it apart from other hotels.

Overall we had a great stay, but the location of the hotel was the biggest negative for us, being set back quite far away from the action of Malaga city centre and nightlife. Nevertheless, the hotel was good value and enjoyable and we would book again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etang la Ville
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Remarkably affordable prices for a smart, comfortable modern hotel - with direct access to Malaga's train station and a few minutes' walk to the bus station. An excellent wide-ranging buffet breakfast. Efficient and fast reception. Perfect for a couple of nights - though it's a taxi/bus journey to get to Malaga's town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We drove right into the hotel parking - very easy to find and close to the hotel entrance. Also, parking for first 30 mins (I think) was free so great for me as I was checking in, leaving bags then immediately returning hire car to airport and getting train back into town. Getting to hotel was easy (via car and via train - it's actually connected to the station via a large shopping centre) and when we arrived we were greeted by a woman who was super-friendly and had decent English.

The lifts worked fast, the corridors were clean and wide and the room was terrific - as good as some 5-star hotels we've stayed in. Bed was almost comically enormous and wonderfully comfortable. Very modern and clean. Just lovely to be in.

Some have mentioned the location isn't great. This is true - it's not very central to the parts of Malaga that most will visit. However, it is a train station hotel - not a city centre hotel so one expects it to be at the train station, wherever that may be! At any rate, it's a 10 minute walk into the shopping district and a pleasant enough stroll to make back after a few tapas and rioja.

We have been fortunate enough to stay in some great hotels and the Barcelo Malaga ranks very highly in our list. For the price we paid, it was ridiculously good.

We stayed only one night but based on that I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Barcelo Malaga for one night on our way home from Spain in May. We were coming by bus from Granada on the day of arrival at the hotel, and flying home the following day. The hotel could not have been more conveniently located since the bus station was within 5 mins walk, and the train station to the airport terminal even closer. It made trailing heavy suitcases on public transport completely workable. However, the hotel's location meant that we were around a 20 minute walk away from the sights of the Old Town, but it was a trade-off that worked for us.

Check-in was swift and we were happy to be given access to our rooms as soon as we arrived, despite having arrived a couple of hours before the official check-in time. Rooms were luxurious and modern, and we had free wifi. The food was great too. We tried both breakfast and lunch. Service throughout the hotel was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and happy to answer our many questions.

Overall we were very impressed with Barcelo Malaga, and found it to be excellent value for money. It deserves its 4 stars, despite being priced closer to 3 star hotels in the area. We would definitely return if we were passing through Malaga. However, for a longer relaxing break in Malaga, I personally would want a hotel with a pool and more outdoor space.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Property: Barcelo Malaga
Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#2 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing