We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,725)
Filter reviews
3,725 results
Traveler rating
2,063
1,322
238
64
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,063
1,322
238
64
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfirst floorold townshopping centregreat hotelblack out blindsmodern hotelminute walkmain stationmaria zambrano stationthe ground floorlocal traindirect accessother citieshuge bedconvenient locationbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,447 - 1,452 of 3,725 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed at the Barcelo for a weekend in September. The room was lovely and modern, huge palm tree pictures on the wall and a swivel James Bond chair. Room was on a high floor as we had requested. Beds were twin beds, but comfy. Room had free wifi. The shower was excellent with lots of jet settings.

The hotels bar, cocktails, outside seating area and slide were great fun. Nice unique feature that sets it apart from other hotels.

Overall we had a great stay, but the location of the hotel was the biggest negative for us, being set back quite far away from the action of Malaga city centre and nightlife. Nevertheless, the hotel was good value and enjoyable and we would book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank querolasolespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Remarkably affordable prices for a smart, comfortable modern hotel - with direct access to Malaga's train station and a few minutes' walk to the bus station. An excellent wide-ranging buffet breakfast. Efficient and fast reception. Perfect for a couple of nights - though it's a taxi/bus journey to get to Malaga's town centre.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardHadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We drove right into the hotel parking - very easy to find and close to the hotel entrance. Also, parking for first 30 mins (I think) was free so great for me as I was checking in, leaving bags then immediately returning hire car to airport and getting train back into town. Getting to hotel was easy (via car and via train - it's actually connected to the station via a large shopping centre) and when we arrived we were greeted by a woman who was super-friendly and had decent English.

The lifts worked fast, the corridors were clean and wide and the room was terrific - as good as some 5-star hotels we've stayed in. Bed was almost comically enormous and wonderfully comfortable. Very modern and clean. Just lovely to be in.

Some have mentioned the location isn't great. This is true - it's not very central to the parts of Malaga that most will visit. However, it is a train station hotel - not a city centre hotel so one expects it to be at the train station, wherever that may be! At any rate, it's a 10 minute walk into the shopping district and a pleasant enough stroll to make back after a few tapas and rioja.

We have been fortunate enough to stay in some great hotels and the Barcelo Malaga ranks very highly in our list. For the price we paid, it was ridiculously good.

We stayed only one night but based on that I would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_GRINGO_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Barcelo Malaga for one night on our way home from Spain in May. We were coming by bus from Granada on the day of arrival at the hotel, and flying home the following day. The hotel could not have been more conveniently located since the bus station was within 5 mins walk, and the train station to the airport terminal even closer. It made trailing heavy suitcases on public transport completely workable. However, the hotel's location meant that we were around a 20 minute walk away from the sights of the Old Town, but it was a trade-off that worked for us.

Check-in was swift and we were happy to be given access to our rooms as soon as we arrived, despite having arrived a couple of hours before the official check-in time. Rooms were luxurious and modern, and we had free wifi. The food was great too. We tried both breakfast and lunch. Service throughout the hotel was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and happy to answer our many questions.

Overall we were very impressed with Barcelo Malaga, and found it to be excellent value for money. It deserves its 4 stars, despite being priced closer to 3 star hotels in the area. We would definitely return if we were passing through Malaga. However, for a longer relaxing break in Malaga, I personally would want a hotel with a pool and more outdoor space.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCM_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

As a result of a sudden flight cancellation by Ryanair, in the middle of the night, the entire plane load of passengers were accommodated by the Barcelo hotel in Malaga I can only thank the manager and staff of this great hotel for their kindness, understanding and efficiency at such a frustrating, tiring and disappointing time for the weary passengers. The staff could not do enough for us. They were very well trained in customer care and happy and smiling throughout our stay. This included the front of house and the dining room staff as well as the maitre'd and the hotel manager. The bedrooms are beautiful, and comfortable. They made our stay into a lovely experience from what had become a nightmare at the airport. Thank you to all the lovely staff at the Barcelo Hotel in Malaga.

Room Tip: All great, no complaints from any of my fellow passengers.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourbusScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews