We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,720)
Filter reviews
3,720 results
Traveler rating
2,062
1,322
238
63
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,062
1,322
238
63
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationfirst floorold townshopping centregreat hotelblack out blindsmodern hotelminute walkmain stationmaria zambrano stationthe ground floorlocal traindirect accessother citieshuge bedconvenient locationbusiness hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,504 - 1,509 of 3,720 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We took a short break in Malaga on our Avois points. Having read most of the reviews there is nothing much more to say and we would happily recommend this hotel to anybody.
Our only input is:
The Barcelo is situated in a Commercial/Residential Area and is a business hotel which means a professional approach and free wifi!
Get the C-1 RENFE train (outside airport) which will take you straight to Maria Zambrano station - it's only a few euros.
There is a mainline HST station, shopping mall, bus station within the complex so no worries with travel and it's cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaleighRimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The Barcelo Malaga isn't in a beautiful part of Malaga. It's a few streets back from the real harbour (not the yacht one) and is directly connected to the main stations and a large shopping centre. This means it's very convenient and easy to get to from trains or the airport. I was there for a conference and left with a good impression of the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and well furnished and the lobby a light and trendy place. Decoration is modern and clean. Breakfast was very good but those were the only meals I had. I found the lack of a formal bar area a strange ommission: instead there are numerous tables and chairs inside and out but with rather inefficient waiter service only.

Room Tip: Try and get a (distant) sea view. Views from the other side are of the roof of the station and the local shopping centre.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

My 8-year-old daughter and I spent one night in the Barcelo, and I chose it because of its easy accessibility to the Airport. For our purposes, the location was ideal - five minutes' walk from the bus station (we arrived by bus from Ronda) and directly linked to the station for trains to the airport. There were a couple of large conferences taking place while we were there, and the hotel is clearly aimed more at the business customer than families with small children. Nevertheless, staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean, comfortable and attractive. We enjoyed our lunch outside on a terrace (unfortunately, this doesn't have particularly good views), and used room service in the evening. We were very pleased with the food, the price and the service. We will definitely stay at the Barcelo again before/after flights into Malaga.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RisaRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

located inside the malaga high speed railway station and 15 minutes walking from the historical center of malaga.

modern design. the lobby is small however the very modern design low floor bar is adjacent to the lobby. drinks served at this bar (that has an outside terrasse) were good and not expensive. staff was friendly, polite and helpfull.

i had reserved and paid a "de luxe" room (125 euros two persons, breakfast included) but was upgraded without charges to a junior suite. the room also had a very modern decoration, was sufficiently big and well equipped with jaccuzzi, separate shower, minibar, safety box, flat tv - with channels in spanish only, if i remeber well-, a working area and a big comfortable bed. i had a distant view of the sea.

free wifi worked perfectly.

breakfast was an acceptable buffet with scrambled eggds and bacon as sole warm dishes, plus cold meats, pastries and juices, and nespreso coffee machines. nothing from another planet, but sufficient. a better breakfast would have meant my 5* rate for this hotel.

very recomendable if you want to sleep close to the train station. the station includes a large shopping mall with restaurants, shops, cinemas etc. the sorroundings of the hotel are not very exciting, however. the historical center is not far, either walking or by public transport

parking space is available, either from the hotel or at the station. i did not use it, but took a rented car and the parking lots were sufficiently big for any size of cars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Barcelo Malaga. Great Location and the rooms are very modern and comfy.Easily accessed from Malaga airport via just 3 stops on the train, arrive in the station, which also houses a superb shopping centre.
Unfortunately it was almost impossible to use WiFi in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews