We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Malaga”
Review of Barcelo Malaga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Malaga
Ranked #3 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Enjoyed my stay at the Barcelo Malaga. Great Location and the rooms are very modern and comfy.Easily accessed from Malaga airport via just 3 stops on the train, arrive in the station, which also houses a superb shopping centre.
Unfortunately it was almost impossible to use WiFi in my room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMia28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,351 - 1,357 of 3,276 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Barcelo. Modern, high spec furnishings( lovely bed linen!) So convenient for the train or bus station(the hotel has an exit straight into the train station) Would well recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliepYarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I loved the hotel. It was easy to access from the airport,I printed off the guide from trip advisor (airport to city centre by express bus, 2 Euros each way). The bus drops you off in front of the station and literally walk through the shopping centre and located near rental cars, left from H&M. The hotel is very modern and you cannot miss the slide in reception, I couldn't wait to try it out and it was so much fun. We were on the 6th floor and the room were spacious, clean and modern. The bathroom was big and supplied the toiletries and even a toothbrush. It is about 30 minute walk to the city centre, we found the number four bus take you there in a couple of minutes for 1 euro and 20 cents. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank citygirl850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Exactly what a hotel should be like, spacious, clean, comfortable ad friendly. Excellent couple of nigths had by all our party, food was excellent and the whole visit was the tonic we needed.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
Thank BeerKing72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

A stunning chic Hotel. Easily accessed from Malaga airport via just 3 stops on the train, arrive in the station, which also houses a superb shopping centre, plus direct access to the Hotel. Really Convenient. Natural worry -- will it be noisy located above a train station. Answer -- you'll never know the station is there, the Hotel is so quiet.

Very modern in design, the room are quite minimalist, modern and trendy, we absolutely loved it. Massive beds made every nights sleep completely sound, and we never even heard any noide from the corrridors, never mind anything outside. It was completely restful. The slide in the reception area is a novel and quirky feature which is just fantastic. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Just one train stop from the centre of Malaga, or just a 15 minute walk it is very handy for the city centre although we discovered (we being my wife, myself and the couple we were with) it was actually cheaper to Taxi from the Hotel into the town centre than to Train it - just around 4/5 Euros depending on where we were getting it from.

A Superb hotel I cant recommend highly enough, and if I go back to Malaga, I wouldnt stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: All rooms looked excellent, only distinguishing factor, our room had a large shower cubicle with bod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night on a business trip, it was a perfect hotel in a perfect location. Just around the corner from the main entry of Malaga train station. Also super close to walk anywhere in the center of Malaga, and old town. The modern structure and look is just a great find ! enjoy the big slide that takes you from fhe first floor to the reception hall. I recommend this place to all family or business travelers.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel is good, you cannot hear a single thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiss_traveler_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed one night here between flying into Malaga airport and getting a train to Seville. As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel's location is fantastic for this kind of stopover and there are a couple of decent neighbourhood bars a very short walk away if you don't want to sit in your room. We didn't, as we could not get the room to anything like a pleasant temperature despite fiddling with the air con and opening the window. This aside, the room was a good size, with a massive and very comfortable bed. The cot provided for our 2 year old was large and had been made up for us, and the shower was excellent. I would stay here again if we needed to do a similar journey.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsVacationLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Ilunion Malaga
Ilunion Malaga
#8 of 89 in Malaga
627 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Malaga

Address: Heroe de Sostoa 2 | Estacion Vialia Maria Zambrano, 29002 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#1 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $109 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barceló Malaga hotel located next to the city railway station, just 10 minutes from the city center and the coastline is one of the few Spanish hotels recognized by the prestigious British Magazine Wallpaper as one of the 50 best business hotels in the world. It hosts the most amazing lobby of our country with its particular six meters high stainless steel slide connecting the first floor directly with its B-Lounge. Its 221 modern and comfortable rooms ensure a pleasant break, while the 1,500 m2 Convention Center seduces sectors committed to design to ensure the success of their events and meetings. In addition, the outstanding cuisine of the restaurant 'El Anden' awarded with the José Meliá Finisterra award for the best hotel restaurant in Malaga, makes meals a real gourmet experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Barcelo, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Barcelo Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Malaga Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel Malaga
Barcelo Hotel málaga
Barcelo Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing