We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Hotel für Stadtreise”
Review of El Riad Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Riad Andaluz
Ranked #6 of 38 Malaga B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Horst O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 332 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have been traveling through Andalucia for a couple of weeks and this hotel was by far the most expensive and most disappointing. We paid 75 euro per night for a room which had no airco (although on hostelworld.com they advertise themselves as having airco), little light and a window opening to the hallway. The room was nicely decorated with a moorish touch, but was small. The reception was only open during certain hours and the woman who runs the place is friendly but not very helpful. Just for comparison: for the same price we stayed in 3 or 4-star hotels in the area with swimming pools, air-conditioned rooms and 24h reception. Also, we met people who stayed in a 4-star hotel in the same neighborhood at the same time and payed exactly the same price for their room.
In my opinion, they should either lower their price or increase their service and improve the accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cat0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afhouriez, Owner at El Riad Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Italians guests, thank you for publishing your impression on Tripadvisor about your stay with us during the Málaga's Feria. Sorry about this bad experience, BUT I need to clear some points with you, and with all the tripadvisor's members who will read this review.
You shouldn't compare US : a small 7 rooms Inn in the historic Málaga during the Feria with a 4 stars hotel with 100 rooms and a swimming pool in Torremolinos where no Feria was organized. The same no 24 hours reception with tie and uniform...
We're one of the cheapest hotel in the centre during this very special period. A backpackers hotel with shared room and bathroom in our central aera during the Feria is 55€ for 2 pax. Our price was only 75€.
Then I remember you that the room you've stayed the 1st night was with AIRCO but you said that the window was too small, we showed you another room with a balcony on the patio BUT without AIRCO, you said yes, then : finally we prefer the 1st one. I assure you that it was very difficult for us to move and remove other guests during a very busy period to give you the highest satisfaction. Hopefully some nice guests accepted.
In my opinion, you were surprise by this Feria and our small place isn't the good product for you.
Sorry again dear Italian guests, but it was disappointing for us too, to try to give you satisfation.
Next time please say : Sorry it doesn't suit us, we'll be very happy to help you to find somewhere else to stay!! Flo the owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, the locationis perfect close to everything and the host Flo and his wife are so friendly and helpful. The room was very clean but quite small, ok for two or three nights maximum, our room didn't have a window,I did spot a smaller room which had a lovely balcony. A perfect base for city break and they organise taxi from the airport for €20.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Malaga was the tail end of our 2.5 week trip to Spain and Portugal and so we had spent many nights in many different hotels until now. We didn't make any reservations for Malaga and so just showed up at the hotel (after seeing it in Lonely Planet) to ask if they had vacancies. They had two rooms left for the night (they were fully booked for the rest of the weekend) and Florence showed us both rooms and gave us a choice of rooms. We ended up choosing the smaller room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard garden in the middle of the hotel and were happy with our choice.

The hotel itself was very well maintained and had all the finishing touches. It had a Moroccan theme with each room having a different color and style. The rooms varied in sizes but bear in mind, that this is a charming small hotel constructed from 2-3 apartment buildings (8 rooms, I think) not a boutique or chain hotel and so that rooms vary in size. When you walk in, you are welcomed by a meticulous garden that really adds to the feel of the hotel. The place is decorated with lots of trinkets and items that give it a very authentic Moriccan feel. Free coffee/tea is available along with free wifi. The price for the room was one of the lowest throughout our trip and low in comparison to many of the other hotels we looked at in Malaga so definitely a good deal.

Our room might have been the smallest room in the building (I saw others that looked bigger) but remember, we saw the room before hand and chose it over a bigger one because it had a nice balcony with a hammock and chairs overlooking the garden. I know there was one or two reviews that complained about the size of the room; I will reiterate that for the price and feel that you get in this hotel, you should not be expecting the huge rooms that you get in the large chain hotels, as that is pretty unrealistic. You are able to judge the sizes of the rooms pretty well from the website and if you state your space requirements upfront, I am sure you will be told whether it will meet it or not. Our room had a full size bed that my wife and I slept comfortably in. Space was a little tight for our bags but it was well worth it to go to bed with our doors open overlooking the garden wake up and sit on our balcony. The bathroom didn't have a door as someone pointed out (this is part of the Moroccan theme) but I was staying with my wife so it was fine - if you are staying with someone you are not comfortable with in this regard, then consider that.

The location was perfect for us. It was a short walk to the areas that had plenty of bars and restaurants but was on a street that was really quiet (and safe) and so was perfect for us to come home to after a long night eating and drinking. It is a few blocks from the Alcantara and other main sights.

Finally, the hosts (Flo and Flo) were amazing - they moved from France to Malaga and opened this place up and are really passionate about their job. As I mentioned this was the tail end of our trip and so we had three nights in Malaga and just showed up at the hotel without any reservations. On arriving, we were given a personalized welcome session, where we sat down with Florence and she gave us lots of useful information about Malaga and the surrounding area including restaurants, bars, sights, bike rentals etc. Florence also made many calls to arrange accommodation for us in Nerja for our second night and back in Malaga for our last night (most of the hotels were booked but she was persistent) - keeping it within our budget - both places were good recommendations too. When she found out we were going to Nerja the next day and were going to take the bus, she quickly said "I am going to Nerja, why dont you come with me instead of waking up early to take the bus" - and she dropped us off at our hotel there.

With all of the above, I highly recommend this place for a peaceful stay in a charming place in Malaga, close to all sights and the action and above all for friendly service. So few establishments offer you personalized service along with a well maintained and decorated hotel, but this one definitely gets it right on all of the counts above. Hope you enjoy your stay there!

Room Tip: Our room was probably the smallest - it was the one overlooking the garden but had a big balcony. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice, quiet hotell with Marocco-look. Perfect location for walking to see old Malaga and to the shopping area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Live L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great location, very friendly and helpful owners, charming building and beautiful patio. A great deal of charm emanates from the patio and the bright colors chosen for the rooms. Unfortunately, the practical aspects of this hotel have been overlooked. Our room was small, and it was difficult to organize our suitcases. No window, but very weak lamps. We could have moved to a room with balcony, but we would have had to leave our suitcases on the balcony because that room was barely larger than the bed. The bathroom was very small, had no door, only a curtain, therefore no privacy. There was also a problem with the service because the rooms were not made until mid-afternoon when we were there. No breakfast is offered, but you can make your own if you buy pastries at the bakery and make tea or coffee in the patio (a kettle, tea and coffee bags are available.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 123Avila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

A very nice B&B, nicely located just outside the old centre. ( within walking distance ! ). The owner is helpful and speaks perfect English and French. He is very enthusiastic about Malaga and gladly point out some hidden away gems. The only downside of this place is that our bed was a but small for two persons.

Highly recommended for, couples, solo travelers, small families. I would go again if the opportunity arises.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Jake32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,271 reviews
Hotel Villa Guadalupe
#20 of 89 in Malaga
512 reviews
Las Acacias Hostal
#9 of 38 in Malaga
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
La Casa Azul Bed and Breakfast
Centro
La Siesta Malaga
La Siesta Malaga
#1 of 38 in Malaga
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Riad Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Riad Andaluz

Address: Calle Hinestrosa 24, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Malaga
Price Range: $68 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Riad Andaluz 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our traditional Andalusian hotel, in the heart of Malaga's historical centre. Located in a small quiet street next to the Cervantes theatre, close to Plaza de la Merced and to the house where Picasso was born, El Riad Andaluz is a unique place in Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Riad Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Riad Andaluz Hotel Malaga
El Riad Andaluz Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing