We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and well designed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel with a distinct style. We got upgraded to another bigger room for €10 extra which we can't say is worth it given we didn't see the original room. We were given a modern looking hotel with close proximity to the marina and the old town. The staff were very helpful and lovely little touches in the room such as bathroom products. The bed was comfy and had a safe in the room plus reasonable mini bar.

However the air con did not seem to work great. However when not in the summer (July) this would not be a problem. Opened the window and it was fine.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank kinidarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights. Altogether a nice hotel, situated in a pedestrian walkway. Rooms are spacious and decently comfortable. On our second night the A/C malfunctioned and the room quickly turned into a sauna. The person at the reception was quick to offer us another room which we agreed. On the second room the A/C was better but even though we kept it on full power the room was still a bit warm.

To those arriving by car, there was a change in the layout of the streets and none of the GPS I've tried could find the way to the hotel (I've tried Google maps, Copilot EU and a local GPS in the car). The only software that did find the correct way was WAZE. If you have it then use it, if not you better ask once you get sufficiently close.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmirArnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Room Mate Lola is located in a safe and fairly quiet street in the centre of Malaga. The hotel is easy to reach from Malaga Maria Zambrano train station (10-15 minute walk or 5 minutes in a taxi). We stayed at the hotel last Thursday until Saturday and were really happy with our stay!
We arrived at the hotel a couple hours before check-in and were subsequently offered a Superior room at an extra charge of 10 euros per night or we could wait until our room was ready. After a long train journey, we opted to pay a little extra and have access to the room (my only qualm here is, they could have offered this upgrade for free, although we didn´t mind paying).
The room was spacious and very clean, beds were extremely comfortable, bathroom was huge, air conditioning worked well and the free shampoos etc were great! Shower head wasn´t very powerful so I would suggest they invest in some new equipment. Housekeeping was also very polite and there were ample clean white towels left in the room on both days.
The staff was incredible, informative, helpful and they even printed us off a train timetable for trips from Malaga to Marbella.
The beach (Playa de la Malaguetta) is a 15 minute walk away – you come out of the hotel, turn right, go to the end of the road, cross over and you are on Malaga Port, the beach is a 5 minute walk along the scenic port! Beach is very clean, not too busy and the water was clear!
On the Friday we opted for breakfast at the hotel, the charge for this is 7.95 euros – for this you get a buffer of juices, coffees, various teas, cereal, yoghurts, fresh fruit, toast, bread rolls, pastries, cold meats and cheeses and a small section of cooked items (tortilla, scrambled eggs, bacon and mini sausages). I would say the breakfast is great value for money but I wouldn´t eat the cooked items as they didn´t look too great, however, my friend had the scrambled egg and said it was very good!
Checking out was fairly quick and the staff let us leave our suitcases in the hotel’s storage whilst we went to the beach, we picked them up at 6pm and got on our train home!
On the Friday night, we visited Room Mate Larios (located on Larios Street) which is a 5 minute walk away from Room Mate Lola for a gin and tonic on their roof top bar. The bar boasts views of Malaga Cathedral etc. and is especially beautiful at night when everything is lit up! Drinks are very reasonable (cocktails 8 euros and Gin and Tonics 7 euros) – definitely worth a visit!
All in all, a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Fantastic location and great staff!
Thank you Room Mate Lola.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flora2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was a first for us to take public transit from the airport to the city centre. Bus from the airport was 3 Euros and we took the train back to the airport which was easier and only cost 3.5 Euros for 2 people. Both the bus stop and the train station were just a short walk from the hotel. The hotel was in a good location - close to the pedestrian shopping area and easy access to the hop on/off bus. The room was very modern and a good size. The bathroom looked brand new and modern as well. The 2 gentlemen I met at their Front Desk in the lobby were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChineseJamaican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location n service.
Super excellent customer service -
The only problem... Garage space super small !!
If u r planning to visit other cities nearby this is
Hub to stay- from this location u can drive or
Take public transportation n go to
Marbella or granada

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ricarduccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This hotel surprised us, very nicely designed rooms (executive room), spacious, spotless and comfortable. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The area is a bit rough but nevertheless just a few minutes easy walk from Calle Larios and the Cathedral. The only negative was that the cleaners and/or other guests were opening and closing some doors which banged very loudly and woke us up several times. We could also here some noisy building work on the street, apart from that the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eatthemeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in April. Rooms are spacious; cleaned thoroughly every day; had continental breakfast here twice-reasonable value.
The staff were really helpful. I was here for Semena Sancta and was told best places to go. Must single out Josan who was really pleasant

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,240 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,973 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Address: Lugar Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $104 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing