We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mariposa Hotel Malaga
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Room Mate are a Spanish chain of more upmarket hotels, and for our stay we resided in Room Mate Lola. Positioned between Alameda Principal and Malaga Port, it’s a densely residential area of town but also only 5 minute walk from shopping district of Calle Marques de Larios. The location is excellent however was slightly concerned that we were in the ‘ghetto’ part of town. Woman of the night patrol the streets most nights however I didn’t feel threatened by them but it is worth mentioning their presence.

The cleanliness of the hotel was first class. Every day we received fresh towels, a made bed, cleaned bathroom and all floors. The cleaners do a fantastic job.

As we arrived late (2300 hours) we were allocated a twin room with both beds pushed together. This wasn’t what we asked for but had to sleep here the first night as the staff stated the hotel was full. I doubted this very much as the hotel didn’t look busy having 4 floors each with 10 rooms The next morning we were allocated a new room with a double bed where w stayed the remainder of our stay quite happily.

The rooms were large enough to be very comfortable. The AC was more like a fan. Myself and partner suffered sore throats after keeping it on at night.

I cannot comment on breakfast as we never had that but it looked nice and was available most of the morning.

Use of WIFI was a great advantage. The staff were friendly. I would be likely to return here again however it seemed a little expensive for this part of town.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinReliant888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 1,016 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

After staying in Room Mate Leo in Granada and being thoroughly impressed by the hotel, we were keen to try this Room Mate in Malaga. We stayed for one night as a stop-over, in order to catch our bus early the next morning. The location is perfect, a short walk from the bus station (10-15 minutes) and has plenty of cafes nearby, including McDonalds.

The staff were very pleasant upon our arrival, and check-in was fast and efficient with no hold-ups - albeit it was quite late at night when we arrived. Our room was very nice; modern decor and very clean, with a huge bed. The bathroom was big and clean, although the shower wasn't great - it went from warm to freezing cold quite regularly throughout using it. However, the room was very quiet, which ensured a great night's sleep with no disruptions. Overall, the hotel was in a great location in order to get to the bus station in Malaga quickly, the room was perfect for our needs - a good size and very clean and spacious - and all for a great price. Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Malaga.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marklgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great location for the theater district and Time Square. Room was very clean with nice amenities. Would highly recommend and plan to return for a future stay. Very good value. A bit of construction outside of the hotel for those wishing to sleep in.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

After staying in the Madrid Room Mate Mario, I wasn't sure what to expect from this one, however I am pleased to say that not only was I pleasantly surprised both myself and my wife were hugely impressed.

So what was so good about the hotel? It's worth saying that the staff were the friendliest of any hotel we stayed at in Spain but when you arrive here the first thing you notice is the location. You are not just staying near the main street in Seville you are on it!

When we arrived the street was even paved with a red carpet which as it turned wasn't in celebration of our arrival but due to a film festival being held in the town. Our room had a balcony which looked straight out over the main street, and when you opened the french doors you realised that someone had done a great job of sound proofing. When the doors were shut the room was quiet and silent. When open you were part of the street outside!

The room itself was as clean as a whistle and was nice and spacious. Decor and bedding were spotless, stylish, and it was a peaceful place to relax in. The bathroom was also of a good size and it was a pleasure to stay in the hotel.

The city incidentally is also very much worth a visit. Malaga doesn't get much space in the guide books, and those that mention it do so quite scathingly. I'm not sure why. We found the city had an old Spanish type of centre around the cathederal, a lovely Moorish Alcazar through which you didn't have to fight through the crowds, and a beach thrown in for good measure. Leading up to the beach area (which had a fantastic bar) was a modern waterfront complex of eateries and shops, which were cleverly landscaped to include childrens play area's, ice cream parlours mini fairs, and even outside gyms machines. We were both impressed and it was to be honest more like I imagine Monte Carlo to be. It's true there is a container port across the harbour but we thought it was good the city wasn't just reliant on attracting tourists for the Costa.

There were other things too - a superb market with artisan stallholders only to happy to help tourists, a fantastic bar full of barrels containing different Malaga wines (sold at astonishgly cheap prices), lots of tapas and food choices in the city and beautiful garden areas with local themes that were a pleasure to be in. It was also exceptionally easy to travel to the airport by the super fast rail link which put the UK rail connections to shame. Malaga was my favorite city in Spain by some distance, and we found the people exceptionally friendly throughout, much more so than in other parts of Spain.

However the review is meant to be about the hotel, and all I will say is that I would unhesitatingly choose to stay here again, just as I would unhestatingly chose to return to Malaga.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NeilHayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is very modern and stylish and is very light. It may be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in! It is on a very quiet side street so no noise issues at all. It is a short walk to the centre of town (and also the bus stop for the airport bus). It is a bit further for the beach but a very pleasant walk.
We were offered an upgrade to executive room for 10 Euros. Our room was quite big and the bed and the bathroom were massive! Because the hotel is designed in a very modern style the room is not cosy and, if it were in England, would probably be described as cold. However it's in Malaga so it's lovely to have a big, light, cold room!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BristolKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A friend and I booked to stay in Room mate Lola for a weekend in Malaga. Its proximity to the centre was perfect for us as we didn't have a car so it was just a 10 minute walk onto the Alameda. The hotel itself is very trendy with lots of different room to relax in our favourite being the chill out room, although there also was pink room and the breakfast room. The hotel came with free WiFi which was ideal in helping us search places to eat in Malaga. The area of Malaga it is in is the equivalent of of London's Soho area, there are a few bars and quite a lot of risqué night-life. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful. However one downside to the room was it was very hot, although it was March and the weather we had at the time was unusual. The rooms have a tendency to carry noise which is slightly irritating at night but not enough to prevent any sort of sleep. The other Room Mate hotel in Malaga is in the epicentre of Malaga which would have been ideal, but unfortunately not in our price budget. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night this week. I arrived really late so probably didn't see it in full motion, but it appeared very neat and clean. The rooms look good, they're not very 'warm' in style, but are trendy and modern. The reception staff were helpful and good with directions.

It's about 5 minutes walk to the main shopping strip of Malaga. Parking wise though - beware. It's super tight to get in and around the cark park so be careful!

It didn't blow my mind, but it was clean, tidy and fine.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,271 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Centro
Hotel Molina Lario
Hotel Molina Lario
#5 of 89 in Malaga
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Hotel Malaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Hotel Malaga

Address: Lugar Casas de Campos 17, 29001 Malaga, Spain (Formerly Room Mate Lola)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Malaga
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#13 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $103 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariposa Hotel Malaga 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mariposa Hotel Malaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Lola Hotel Malaga
Room Mate Lola málaga
Room Mate Lola Hotel málaga
Mariposa Hotel Malaga Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing