We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, Perfect central Location”
Review of Hotel Del Pintor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Del Pintor
Ranked #11 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Sotogrande, Spain
2 reviews
“Excellent Value, Perfect central Location”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you want clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation right in the old part of Malaga, this is the place. We stayed one night for a visit to the nearby Cervantes theatre. Discounted parking close by.

Room Tip: loved the decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for such a nice comment about your stay in our small hotel.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location.
Hope to be your home in the city for next time.
Best regards!

Sergio Barroso
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    269
    87
    20
    16
See reviews for
81
310
59
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We used to live in Malaga and watched this place getting reformed. Having returned to the UK this is the hotel of choice on our visits back. It is well priced, great location and brilliant multi lingual staff.
It's clean, has really comfortable rooms and has WIFI throughout and it is really quiet inside (which is rare for Malaga!) It's decor is unique and really interesting. Will be back again this summer for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malagaboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear guest, thank youy very much for your kind comments.

We are always very happy when we feel that we have accomplished our goal in making our guests enjoy Málaga and their stay with us.

Hope you will return to continue discovering and enjoying our city.

Best regards,
Sergio Barroso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel for the price and the refreshing, not-your-typical-hotel decor. We were thrilled to find that the location is even better than we'd expected, easily within walking distance to the historical parts of the city. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was clean and comfortable. We had to leave early (before their main breakfast was available) but were still able to get a light breakfast served in our room which was very much appreciated! We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Malaga. Bottom line: this is a budget hotel. If you prefer luxury, book somewhere else. If you want something basic, this is a fantastic option.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are always very happy when we feel that we have accomplished our goal in making our guests enjoy Málaga and their stay with us.
Hope you will return to continue discovering and enjoying our city.

Warm regards,
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nice confortable rooms, helpful staff, beautiful decoration. Good location in the center of Malaga and within walking distance of the main attractions Liked the breakfast served in the room, even though I think the main breakfast downstairs could be available from earlier.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skinny2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind comments.
We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you will return in the future to continue discovering Malaga' s secrets and riches.

Warm regards,
Sergio Barroso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

During a recent stay in Malaga I decided to extend my visit by one more night. Unfortunately the lovely hotel I’d been staying at had no availability. Then I remembered that while I was in Malaga last summer my friend had stayed at Hotel del Pintor. I’d seen her room and, while not as nice as where I’d been staying, I thought it would be fine for one night. But I was shocked when I got to the hotel and saw that my room was nothing like the one I’d seen before. In fact, it was barely a room at all. There was one single bed in a room just slightly larger than the bed itself, with next to no closet space. Small, dark and uncomfortable. There wasn’t even a place for me to put my carry-on suitcase and I ended up leaning it against the door. The very small bathroom was clean enough, though the toilet seat was soaking wet when I arrived (??), and the toilet made odd gurgling sounds during my stay.

I spoke to the receptionist who told me they were fully booked so I couldn't change rooms, and when I asked to speak to the manager I was told he was away and couldn’t be reached. This was at midday on a Friday, so I was resigned to spend my final night in Málaga in that dreadful room but I didn’t want to spend 54€ (the same price I'd paid at the previous and far superior hotel) and so asked if something could be done about the price. When I returned to the hotel in the evening to change for dinner (I’d stayed out as long as possible so I wouldn’t have to spend time there) I was told that the manager was still unavailable. I told the receptionist – a different one this time – that it was outrageous to charge so much for what was little more than a walk-in closet and she said this was because of the hotel’s “excellent location”. Yes, on grimy calle Álamos, with no parking, no restaurant… all of which was available at my previous hotel (which is actually in an excellent location). I left to meet my friends feeling very upset.

That night I had a terrible sleep on the creaky small bed with a too-soft pillow that was full of lumps. The next morning I got dressed and got out of there as soon as possible, and while checking out yet another receptionist told me that the manager – who was now unavailable because he was off for two days – had instructed her to tell me that they would not adjust the price for me, adding insult to injury. Unbelievable. What hotel has no manager available from mid-day Friday until Monday morning?? Completely unprofessional. When my friend stayed there during peak season in July she paid 48€ for a single room that was easily twice as big, yet management maintained they could do nothing for me. Trust me, there are plenty of other places to stay in Málaga where you will be treated much better than this.

Oh, and when I sent an email to the manager after he finallly returned to work the following week he actually wrote to me: "I'm sorry you failed to understand our philosophy of tourist accommodation." Based on the other complaints I've read here about these small rooms and inflated prices, clearly management's "philosophy" is to ignore the comfort of their guests and not care about repeat business. Take my advice and AVOID.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We have already contacted by email.

We have explained your complaint, which has no basis because you were informed in advance of the characteristics of the reserved room.

I feel that our small boutique hotel has not fulfilled expectations.

Regards,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights with a very young child. As other visitor said; value for money. Don't expect much, then you will have a good stay. The eco-cafe for the breakfast nearby the hotel is not open before 9 o' clock, but there are enough cafes where you can have breakfast. It is noisy street (till 6 o'clock in the morning...), so if you want to sleep well, you have to take ear plugs.

Room Tip: I asked we want a room not on the street side, but we got a room on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zonnetje-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much Alkmaar, for your kind comments.
It really feels that you have enjoyed your days in Malaga.

Best regards,
Sergio B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed in hotel for 3 nights. The location of hotel is perfect, so you can go everywhere by walk. The room was very small but calm and clean. The breakfast is not included in the rate (you can ask for the breakfast at the rate 5 EUR). Hotel provide hot/cold water free of charge, so you can make tea anytime. The staff was always helpful, kind and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergio B, Gerente at Hotel Del Pintor, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Irena, thank youy very much for your kind comments.
We are always very happy when we feel that we have accomplished our goal in making our guests enjoy Málaga and their stay with us.
Hope you will return to continue discovering and enjoying our city.

Warm regards,
Sergio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,023 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 89 in Malaga
1,083 reviews
Perchel
Ibis Malaga Centro Ciudad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perchel
Novotel Suites Malaga Centro
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Pintor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Pintor

Property: Hotel Del Pintor
Address: Calle Alamos 27, 29012 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Pintor 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is a modern 3-star city hotel in the historic center of Malaga. We offer rooms with a unique decor, designed by our painter and poet Malaga, Pepe Bornoy.This decoration, present in every corner, is based on contemporary art in red, white and black.We are very close to the Picasso Museum, Alcazaba, Gibralfaro, Cathedral or the Cervantes Theatre and just 5 minutes from the beautiful Calle Larios or a 15 minute walk from the beach of La Malagueta.All around there are countless restaurants and tapas bars.All rooms are soundproofed Painter, air conditioning or heating, Wi-Fi, desk, satellite LCD TV and private bathroom with hairdryer and amenities a cute game.The Hotel del Pintor has a car rental service and bicycles as well as a 24 hour reception where we tell you about the sights of Malaga.The Painter offers the service bar / cafe / room service, serving drinks, snacks and meals 24H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Del Pintor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Pintor Hotel
Hotel Del Pintor Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing