We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance in the city centre”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Elegance in the city centre”
Reviewed February 26, 2009

You can't fault this hotel for location, it is right on the edge of the pedestrian area of Malaga. Difficult to access by car, but the lovely staff whisked our car away for us, and brought it back as soon as we wanted it again. This is an ultra-modern hotel, decorated in black and white, with every facility you could want. Took us a while to work out the lighting, but otherwise it was perfect. An ideal place to stay for a short visit to Malaga.

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SheilaEdinburghUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    677
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
240
1,027
63
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were very happy with this hotel in all respects. Location is fantastic, rooms are excellent (and spacious) and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. The comment about breakfast is a bit unfair as you can order cooked items at no extra cost.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, NI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2009

Enjoyed the hotel and its location. Close to many good restaurants (we went to Vino Mio & Clandestino) and shops (Supermarket 5 min walk initially hard to find). Many of Malaga’s sights within easy walking distance e.g. Cathedral, Castel, Fort Parks etc. Malaga Tour bus stops outside hotel (well worth it for first time visitors). A couple of nice parks across road. Hotel Breakfast very good - although Coffee machine had everybody guessing! Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2009

Stay here. Thanks for the recommendation Trip Advisor! Stayed here for Valentine's day and I was not disappointed. Perfect. Malaga is a wonderful city full of delightful architecture, superb bars and restaurants. Visit the Gibralforo if you get the chance for stunning views of the city.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

I would go back to this hotel. We got a great price for this hotel and wasn't expecting much but Tripadvisor said it was great. I wasn't dispointed. Definately 4 star.

Very well placed for nightlife. Great cafe's, I loved the one facing the cathederal. Sit there have a coffee or a great breakfast and marvel at the archetecture of the cathederal.

Get a taxi from the Airport if you can, we got off the bus too soon, at the bus station, stay on. we are idiots.

The prices of drink in the bar are way way too expensive. Go to the nearest supermarket in the park area and get your supplies in, ask were the nearest supermarket is at reception, they are very helpful. A good supermarket is about a 10 minute round trip by foot through the lovely park area,

The euro-pound rate is grim so I ate a lot in McDonalds around the corner, out of the front door turn right 2nd right and 100 yards down.

The night life was good, It doesn't come alive until about 23.00h. move from venue to venue you'll find one you like we found some great one's.

I am not gay but I was impressed by the gay friendly scene there.

We went on a train ride to the Costa del Sol. Firstly get a taxi to the train station, it's a bit too far. 5 mins by taxi.

We were going to go to Gibraltar but it was a bit too far. We got off at Benalmadena and walked to Torremolinos, too far.

If you get off the train at Belinmadena get a taxi to the harbour, 5 euros. The harbour is lovely.

It cost 20 euro's for a taxi for 4 of us back to Malaga from Torremolinos.

Finally the bus tour of the city is a good idea for orientation but not at all value for money, buy a map instead.

Any queries email me, Thanks Tripadvisor, Remember leave reviews we owe it too each other

Charlie

  • Liked — Modern Clean and good attention too detail
  • Disliked — Price of drink at the bar
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Machers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
384 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

This was a perfectly lovely hotel. But it rained. And we got a tornado. And we didn't really like Malaga that much. And it isn't cheap. I got about 90 euros for a superior room (which is just nice for the bigger size rather than the balcony which is a bit of a none event) a night as you get a discount if you stay 2 or more days. But the parking at 15 euros a night adds up and the restaurant and bar are very very nice but have matching prices. It is also a ****** to get parked. You just cannot see an entrance on you way down the street so we pulled into a side street and then had to go right round the one way system again. You kind of park outside the hotel and they park it up for you

. In short - it would be nice for maybe one night, to see Malaga if the sun was shining (you could do the main sights in a day) and then even have a nice meal in their restaurant (75 + euros for 2 courses and bottle of wine) but we overbooked in the worse weather for years so our stay and this hotel review suffers from that. On that basis, rather than the hotel qualities, I am only giving 3 stars.

  • Liked — Chaise Longue
  • Disliked — Prices soon add up
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit abroad
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2009

This is so central the catheral is outide the front door and the city tour bus has a stop right there too!! The airport bus (19) is just a few steps away.
Plush reception with attentive, helpful staff.
The whole place has a feel of luxury. Except the bed, which seemed to be mad of rock. Beautiful linen and covers, but oh so hard.
It was cold and wet while I was there, but even in those conditions the view from the roof top pool was beautiful, don't miss it.
Plenty of cafes and restaurants near by, but would especailly recommend Central Cafe in the square a few mins walk away.

  • Liked — Central position
  • Disliked — Hard, hard bed
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BridgBritabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#2 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing