We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect but a few areas for improvement”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We took the A route bus from the airport to Alameda Principal which took about 20 minutes and cost €3. The Molina Lario hotel was only a couple of minutes walk away which was welcome as we carried our cases in the heat. The Reception staff were very helpful and took care of our many requests with a smile and kind word. We had a Classic room on the 4th floor which overlooked the Cathedral on the Calle Molina Lario and we had no problems with noise as some of the other reviewers did. The room was spacious but there were a few areas that could do with a lick of paint and snags being filled in which would have improved the appearance.

The reason i gave it a 4 stars is that the Wifi is slow and, like a couple of the other Reviewers, I did receive a "too many users" message which was surprising for a city centre/business hotel. The pool is very small and there were only 4 sunbeds which people were on from first thing in the morning to last thing in the afternoon. Towels around the pool were not replenished enough so people were left without which is not good enough although I can only assume service levels in this area are slicker during high summer. Finally, we were really disappointed that the poolside bar was not open. According to the Reception staff, the hotel was full and with the warm days they would have had willing customers but alas no.

The hotel is ideally suited for tourist visits with the cathedral across the road, the Picasso museum a 5 minute walk and a beautiful 15/20 minute walk to the harbour. We had drinks in the hotel bar, Cafe del Bolsa, and we found it really cheap compared to others we have been in. We didn't have breakfast included in our package but had one on our last day for €4.50 each. It was tasty and well worth the money. All in all, a good hotel which is well located and is to be recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk_Schmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

763 - 769 of 1,983 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for 5 days here in March, the location is superb with quick access to both Marina & the Old Town. The roof terrace is a great spot to relax with nice views toward the Marina & Cathedral.
The room was a little disappointing as the window overlooked the inner courtyard. It made for a dark gloomy room. It was however very clean and well maintained.
The staff on the reception and housekeeping were warm and friendly.
Due to the abundance of restaurants nearby we didn't eat at the Hotel and maybe we missed out on that experience?
Wifi is rather important to us and we wouldn't consider a city hotel without it, however this proved problematic. Too often you would be met with "too many users online try again later" really?!
Overall we would recommend this hotel and if we could avoid the inner courtyard rooms would happily return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the courtyard as they are dark and gloomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Most of my business and some leisure time time is spent in European cities and I always choose carefully to maximise my time by choosing an hotel in a location which allows this. I read the description of the facilities very carefully before selecting.I must say that this hotel meets all my requirements with friendly staff smart and clean rooms.Rooftop pool is small but adequate and has good panoramic views of Malaga.Certainly would recommed this one in my experience.Didn't eat at the hotel on this short visit and cannot comment save to say it attracts a lot of patrons.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors unaffected by noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bader54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Molina Lario is a fantastic hotel, very elegant . I personally loved the warth of their staff, they offer a great service . You can't beat the location, next to the catedral.
Café de Bolsa is not to be missed, I spent there every evening in a cosy atmosphere, they have a nice menú and good wine list. My favorite: the croquettes :) . I loved it and I highly recommend it ! Thank you, AC

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We paid to upgrade on arrival to a "romantic" room with balcony including tea/coffee and a decanter of whisky. Footsore and tired we planned a siesta but the racket from the restauents below was awfuyl. Screeching chairs and scraping plates. We inquired about moving higher but no other such rooms were available. The desk were helpful and sent someone to check the glazing was fully closed. It transpired it wasn't therefore we remained in the room expecting improvement. It was noisy on return at 11.30pm and this climaxed with dragging of tables over the cobbles 1-1.30am. We did sleep after that and couldn't be bothered to move rooms next day having been traveling some time already. Top tip....drink a lot and you'll sleep. perhaps that was the point of the whisky in the room. That was odd as they only supply 2 tiny creamers and 1 breakfast type tea bag per 2 persons every 24 hours. Any extra items cost 50cents. Yet they supply a decanter of whisky (we don't drink whisky) and items in the bathroom are generously replenished. I can not fault staff who were helpful and friendly and we did have the option of moving and declined. However in all I was amazed by the meanness re the tea/coffee and really think they need to take the word Soundproofed out of their literature.

Room Tip: we were on the side in a lane opposite the cathedral. avoid first floor as so noisy from restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southseacarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The best (and most expensive) hotel where we have been during our trip through marvellous Andalucia. When we booked more than one month before the hotel was nearly full, so we got only a room on the first floor, but it was large, modern ad comfortable. We paid an extra-charge (11 euros) for the external view, which wasn’t outstanding but nice on the “calle”, and a narrow balcony. They let us chose between two rooms giving us the keys, we appreciated this. Generally, the receptionist staff were kind.
The rooftop view on the town, cathedral, alcazar, paseo and sea (i.e. on everything) is great! Since it was March and the temperatures were low, being warmth-loving Italians we didn’t dare to enter the pool, which is a bit small but must be a great pleasure when it is hot.
We didn’t have breakfast there, so we can’t tell you about it.
Excellent position near the cathedral.
We recommend this hotel, which fully earns its four stars.

Room Tip: Our room with small balcony on the calle (first floor) was really quiet in spite of the restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very convenient position. Pleasant & friendly staff. The choice at breakfast was excellent but the room could get very busy. Small but nice rooftop terrace with great views of the city. I would happily stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 89 in Malaga
3,271 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 89 in Malaga
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
570 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $124 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing