We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent hotel and restauraunt”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“an excellent hotel and restauraunt”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Molina Lario is one of the great finds. Located in "downtown" Malaga, the hotel has clean comfortable fully equipped rooms and an exceptionally good restaurant. The staff is suburb.
Breakfast was included in the price and was also exceptionally good, hot food as well as the usual cold bill of fare.
Centrally located, the hotel is easy walking to any points of interest in the city.
If you are in Malaga, stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonW361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Ron,
Thank you very much for your opinion. We really appreciate receiving feedback from our guest. We are very happy to know that the hotel facilities met all of your expectations and that you could enjoy the city and visit all its charming points of interest.
Thank you for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    684
    129
    35
    12
See reviews for
240
1,033
63
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gruitrode
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels in Màlaga, near Cathedral and city center.
Superb staff, very friendly, fantastic breakfast buffet ( a little pricy perhaps ).
I've been here twice and would definitely go back again.Rooms spacious and very clean
and every day a chocolate on your pillow, that was a nice gesture! One minus however,
the mattresses are too hard and I've heard complaints all over the hotel so please hotel management, do something about that, you can only gain customers (or loose ).
10 points from Belgium !!!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the superior rooms which are situated on the first two ore three floors, facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Anne Marie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write some comments about your stay. We are glad to know that all the hotel facilities were of your taste and that the service made you feel comfortable during your stay. We would like you to know that we are aware of the mattresses issue, as we have received some complaints, and we are already working on it to replace them. We hope you enjoyed your time in Malaga and if you ever come back to the city, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be delighted to have you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pangbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in October, the hotel was within easy walking distance of all the visitor attractions, shopping and a great selection of bars and restaurants. The bus service from Malaga airport stopped within 50 metres and cost just 3 euros! Friendly staff, well equipped rooms, very clean, comfortable bed and a very good breakfast choice. The roof top pool area is small and can be crowded. The courtyard area is used by customers late into the evening and noise could effect some of the lower floor rooms. Overall a very good hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear David,
Thank you for your kind comments; we really appreciate them and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time in Malaga and your stay with us. We would like to apologize for any trouble the noise could have caused you and we would like to let you know that we are conscious of it and that's why we are trying to install a double pan glass window in all our rooms to solve this problem as soon as possible.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to seeing you again in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was impressed with the comfort, cleanliness and amenities of this hotel as deserves 4 dots. We drove there as part of our Andalusia portion of our Spain trip, planning to stop over there only to fly out to Sicily the next day. The hotel was very clean and well maintained, and the room was comfortable. There was a convenient nearby parking lot only a couple of blocks away, although if we did not have a 9 person van, we could have possibly parked in the hotel garage.

That being said, I will say that the bed was much harder than I like, although it did not seem to affect my sleep as we were dead tired from touring Seville that day. The breakfast buffet was far more expensive than deserved for what was served, and so I recommend that if it is convenient for you, that you go to a nearby breakfast place (quite a number nearby) instead. Half our group (6) including me stayed and ate there, and the other half went elsewhere. Although our food was quite acceptable, we who stayed were jealous.

We stayed only a single night, but you will find that it is pretty much well located for some shopping and a walk to the beach. I can recommend this hotel, but not their breakfast buffet although if it was about 1/2 the price, it would be good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexaqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate receiving feedback from our guests. We are very happy to know that all of you had a comfortable and pleasant stay with us and could rest a little bit before departing to your following destination. We are sorry to know that you found the breakfast buffet overvalued but we would like to mention that we set our prices based on service and local area and that all our breakfast assortment is high quality, with seasonal products and all from the local area. This is the reason why the price might be higher than somewhere else where not the same conditions are given.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we are looking forward to seeing you again in Malaga.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for a 5 day break in October. The hotel was excellent in every respect, so quiet that we thought that we were the only people in the hotel. The room was very well furnished, clean and comfortable with wonderful goodies in the bathroom. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was well laid out and provided a selection of food and drinks to satisfy anyone. The restaurant provided excellent dinner with good wines at good prices well served by super staff. Ideally located within walking distance of most of the sights in the city.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly return.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted26071943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Ted,
Thank you for your gentle opinion. We are very happy to know that everything of the Hotel was of your taste, that you enjoyed Malaga and that you had enough time to visit all the attractions the city has.
Thank you very much for recommending us and if you ever come back to Malaga again, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be delighted to have you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, which is lacking in a few items. When we first arrived, there was no one assisting with luggage. The worst part was that the door was not automatic, so we had to juggle our luggage while opening the door. The second issue was the over priced breakfast, which at best should have been included in the price. I opted for a walk around the corner for coffee and a sandwich at a local eatery.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkSchubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your honest comments. We would like you to know that we take every comment about our staff very seriously, and it is very important for us that all our guests feel completely welcomed so we will talk with the department to avoid this situation from happening again. We would like to mention that we set our prices based on service and local area and that all our breakfast assortment is high quality, with seasonal products and all from the local area. This is the reason why the price might be higher than somewhere else where not the same conditions are given. Nevertheless, we are happy to know that, overall, you found it lovely and that you spent a good time in Malaga.
We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a 4 day city break. I was not disappointed in the hotel and the service from the staff. The rooms were lovely and to a very high standard. My only gripe I have is they were a bit mean with snacks in the room, no biscuits provided with tea/coffee they had to be purchased from the mini bar at a cost of €3, a bit steep for a snack. The room was cleaned well and fresh linen and towels etc changed daily. It was great having a pool too to sit by although I was disappointed that the roof top bar wasn't open after 7pm, you couldn't even access the area to enjoy the beautiful view which by night would have been lovely. All the brilliant sights of Malaga were all within a very short walk as this hotel is well positioned, 5 minutes to the marina area with many bars/restaurants where you can walk on for 5-10 mins and come to the beach with beach bars etc, and within 30 secs of leaving the hotel into the busy vibrant city you come across many bars/restaurants. Also 2 minutes to the regular airport bus, only €3 straight to the airport. Overall fabulous hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Margaret,
Thank you for taking the time to write some review about the hotel. We really appreciate and take them with special care. We are very sorry that you didn’t feel the snacks in the room met your expectations and we will talk with the department in charge to see if there’s anything we could do about it. In addition, we would also like to apologize for the inconvenience the rooftop bar open hours may have caused you. Since October, it is only opened till late from Thursday to Saturday. Despite all, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time in Malaga and we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Nuria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#2 of 88 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing