We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in Malaga ? Location, location, location !!”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The huge advantage of this hotel is its very central location, in the same street as the Cathedral and in easy walking distance of most of the major attractions in the city as well as the seafront and many, many restaurants. There are also wonderful views of the Cathedral and the port from the bar on the roof (which is also the place to be seen for locals as well, it seems!). It's not a memorable hotel but it does what it does very well. The room was spacious, quiet, and clean. Front desk staff all seem to speak good English and are immensely willing to sort out minor problems quickly. Breakfast was perfectly adequate: indoor or outdoor seating, a decent range of hot and cold food and other choices on request. My only gripe was the air conditioning, which didn't cool the room a lot although I was assured it was working normally. Another contributor complains that it is not a hotel you would particularly want to return to: that isn't really the point, is it ? As a base for sightseeing in Malaga - a place most tourists would probably visit just the once (and should visit, incidentally, even if on the way to the beach)- , it's absolutely ideal.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the end of a corridor, as we had. The corridors are carpeted but this way you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Simon
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the a/c caused you and we will talk with the maintenance department to check the system. Nonetheless, we are very happy to know that you had a good time with us and that you enjoyed visiting the city.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in Malaga.

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

we booked this hotel at short notice and still got a good rate
positives: Very comforable rooms, quiet, pool on roof with bar.
against: over priced breakfast, over priced parking
overall a very good place to stay. I would return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Customer
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you had a cosy and gratifying stay at our Hotel. We would like you to know that we set our prices based on service and local area and that all our breakfast assortment is high quality , with seasonal products and all from the local area that is the reason why the price might be higher than somewhere else with not the same conditions.
We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the great reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect; right in the middle of the old part of Malaga which means you can walk to everything. The pool bar was also a great place even though my kids thought the pool was a bit on the small side. The rooms were also spacious and clean and the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanneInZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Susan
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to know that both, the hotel facilities and the staff, meet all your expectations and that you weren’t disappointed with what you had read beforehand. The entire Hotel team is happy to know that you had a wonderful time in Malaga and that you enjoyed the city and all the charm it has to offer.
If you ever come back to Malaga again, do not hesitate to contact us, we will be delighted to have you again.

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July and it was amazing. The hotel was very reasonably priced - considering it's location, rooftop pool and overall atmosphere/quality of the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The bathrooms were lovely. Communal areas were always kept clean and tidy. Overall it was a great hotel, lovely helpful staff and in a wonderful location.

My only negative would be the underground carpark which couldn't fit our van (had to pay €22/day elsewhere) but apart from that, it was ace and only 2 minutes walk from the airport bus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear John,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We are grateful to know that you had a wonderful and pleasant stay with us in Malaga and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience the underground parking lot might had caused you.
We are looking forward to seeing you in your next visit.

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have stayed at the neighbouring hotel before and decided to try Molina Lario for a change.
this is ok hotel, but i did not find any wow factor here. Ok service, ok cleanliness, but nothing special that would make me want to Return.

Room Tip: We had room towards the courtyard, ask at least a room With a view out of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiinaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Tina
Thank you very much for your honest comments. At the Molina Lario Hotel we put lots of efforts to give to our guests their best experience and a comfortable and pleasant stay. We would like to apologize for you not finding anything special worth returning.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you.

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here in April for a business conference, tabbing some leisure time on. The hotel's location is fantastic - right in Malaga centre and ideal for exploring. The rooftop pool bar is wonderful, with fantastic views and a cool ambience. Rooms are 'hotel chic' minimalist style - akin to Whotel style. The only let down is service. We went to the outside bar/ resteraunt on the first night and waited ages for service- one waiter for the bar and outside area. I asked for an iron on the first night of stay ( as is standard with Spanish hotels there are no irons in room) and had to call 3 further times before one was finally delivered, 24 hours later. There was a band on in the courtyard area on the 3rd night of our stay, who played past midnight - if you like central city hustle and bustle this is fine, but if you travelling on business and seeking peace and quiet ( and business- type service), this hotel is not ideal

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Simon
Thank you for taking the time to tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We would like you to know that we take every comment about our staff very seriously, and it is very important for us that all our guests feel completely welcomed so we will talk with the department to avoid any similar behaviour again. Furthermore, we would like to apologize for the background noise that can be heard around the hotel and let you know that, as we are very aware of that, we are trying to install a double pan glass window in all our rooms to solve this problem.
We are happy to know that, overall, you could have time to spend on the city and enjoy the beauty of Malaga’s city centre.
We hope to see you soon again

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel was very central to the sites of Malaga and the variety of places to eat & shop.
We chose a superior room to include breakfast and this was the only downside. I think we arrived in the middle of some convention and the hotel was so busy that it was a job to find staff to help with things like working the coffee machines. Also, in the description of the hotel was the fact that it had a roof terrace which, when we wanted to take photo's, we were told we couldn't use.
This, however, did not detract from our enjoyment - close to the airport - lovely park nearby and a great walk along the marina to the beach.
We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jayayres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
932722083, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience the high occupancy of the hotel may have caused you and we are really sorry that they did not let you take any photo’s upstairs at the roof terrace. This is not a hotel policy and we will talk directly with the department to make it clear. Nonetheless, thank you for informing us about the situation and we are happy to know that you had a good time visiting Malaga.
We are looking forward to seeing you again

Nuria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 87 in Malaga
3,318 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#5 of 87 in Malaga
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 87 in Malaga
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $164 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing