We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location, right opposite the cathedral and minutes away from all the main attractions in Malaga old town. The hotel is surrounded by all the narrow streets full of tapas bars and little shops. We had two superior double room which were very spacious, comfortable and stylishly decorated. The range of toiletries in the bathroom was the most extensive I've ever come across!
Breakfast was busy as the hotel was full but there were plenty of tables and the self-service plates were kept topped up so there were no queues. Staff were friendly, multi-lingual and helpful. Would definitely recommend the Molina Lario for a top class stay in Malaga.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaliag381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    966
    662
    128
    34
    12
See reviews for
237
1,008
61
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location. The service on Reception was good however the pool was very small and we were unable to sit around it during our stay as it was very crowded with not enough seats. The food in the hotel was average but on the expensive side and the service here was poor. Our room was a good size but was directly under the pool and this meant it was very noisy until quite late at night, and again from early in the morning. We booked a room for three adults but were only provided with a put up bed and then 2 cups, 2 glasses etc which was not satisfactory considering the price we payed for the extra person in the room! the cleaner came bursting into our room on our first morning in the hotel, earlier than I would have expected, so we learnt to put the do not disturb sign on the door after that! When I'm next in Malaga I will not be using this hotel again as i did not think it was good value for the price we payed.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the lift and not directly under the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkCath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the end of May 2013. The hotel has four stars and is therefore very well equipped. Friendly staff and amazingly well-placed for a trip to Malaga. Our room looked onto a busy back street and the restaurants stay open late so were a bit noisy, but that's all part of being in Spain. Breakfast is good and there are plenty of lifts. You can get deals on the internet if you book early. Would strongly recommend this hotel. The airport bus (line A) stops right outside and costs 3 euros. For travel around, get a bus card from the 'tabacos' shop in the main street and load it with journeys - these can be shared by more than one person.

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the back street if you like to go to bed early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elcoronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Back from yet another fabulous week in Malaga at the beautiful Molina Lario hotel. Perfect position near the Port with all it's restaurants and bars and very cosmopolitan. Staff at reception first class and very friendly and now with two bars open on top level, one at the pool and one on the sun lounge adjacent to the pool area. Fantastic views over the Port and around from the rooftop pool and all new sunbeds and decking on this suntrap. 15 minutes (20 euros) from the airport you can be sitting having a drink or Tapas within 30 minutes of landing and how good is that? Situated in the historical area of Malaga this hotel is the tops for us. You must visit seafood paradise, the restaurant Marisqueria Casa Vicente for the freshest most succulent dishes in Malaga with baby cuttlefish and plates of grilled gambas done in rock salt simply devine and very cheap. Molina Larios is simply outstanding - get there now!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the harbour or upgrade to a junior suite with same. It's well wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a good 4* hotel situated in central Malaga very close to the Cathedral, the old city & shops.
It has a good bar with a lovely open air enclosed atrium. There is a small rooftop swimming pool with sunloungers a bar and also a quiet area with sofa's for reading or relaxing.
The rooms are well appointed and are of a good size - they also have complimentary tea/coffee making facilities in your room (many hotels in Malaga don't provide this).
You can walk to the promenade where they have some lovely restaurants.
I recommend this hotel/destination for weekend breaks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wotton100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herentals, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is modern, perfectly situated in the centre of Malaga. The rooms are not very big but have everything you need to insure a nice stay. Breakfast was good, just up to standard.. The swimming pool on the roof is small but you have a very nice view of the cathedral and the sea, panoramic and at night: wow!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lief T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Molina Lario. Our room was very spacious and clean and our balcony overlooked the amazing Cathedral. The only disappointment was parking - I e-mailed the hotel weeks in advance to make arrangements for parking, but upon our arrival, we were instructed to park at a cramped public lot a few blocks away. I later learned the hotel had a parking lot (albeit probably small) on-site, but we were not given the option to park there. Otherwise, we loved Malaga - such a beautiful city!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AKA1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,717 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 90 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing