We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“OK but not special enough for the price....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OK but not special enough for the price....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at ML with my husband for three nights in September 2012. My overall impression is of a business oriented hotel with a beautiful reception area, however the staff were not welcoming or friendly.

The hotel is very well situated for the historical part of town and the views of the cathedral from the roof-top pool are fabulous.

The room was OK but not special enough to justify the price. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was pretty but the overall effect was spoiled by teh battered old waste bin next to the bidet. The bed was very comfortable but pillows were of lumpy foam. We had requested a double bed which we got, and a room with a view which we didn't! When we queried this at reception the staff said they were full and couldn't move us.

One of the selling points for us when choosing a hotel for a city break is tea and coffee making facilities in room. The web site for Molina Lario states this is available at this hotel. What the web site doesn' tell you is that the hotel provides enough milk for only one hot drink for each guest per 24 hours. There is a notice which tells you that if you want more you can BUY supplies from housekeeping. I felt this was just plain mean! At these prices surely they could at least allow us morning tea and a bed time drink!!

So as I said, OK but not special enough to justify the stars or the price. Will I stay again next time I am in Malaga? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the port or the cathedral....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toshi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMolinaLario, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thanks you for your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are really sorry about your bad experience. We would like to know that we take comments about our staff very seriously.
We would like to apologize for not changing you the room but, sometimes, when the Hotel is fully booked it is impossible to change rooms, although we would like to do it if the guest is not happy with the room. Housekeeping department is changing the pillows that are not in perfect conditions, so we hope that after your comments the problem will be solved.
About the tea & coffee facilities we are going to check again this extra in order that our guests do not feel deceived.
Thanks again for your comments,
Sincerely,

Núria Verdaguer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    615
    120
    33
    11
See reviews for
219
934
58
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Malaga and keep returning to ML. The views are incredible overlooking the harbour to the front and the cathedral to the rear. The staff are extremely helpful and allow me to leave my overnight bag in storage until I return. The rooftop pool is small but feels like a total indulgence as guests lounge around enjoying cocktails on huge white bean bags.
The rooms are modern sleek and well equipped, with lovely touches such as fluffy towels, robes, toothbrushes and shavers, as well as the usual conditioner etc. The hotel is easy to find, taxis can stop outside and in the middle of everything. The airport is a short trip away. be careful if you don't want a hotel breakfast, as my daughter popped in for a juice which I expected to pay for separately and we were charge for three breakfasts. It was soon sorted at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade we did and guess what? Always worth the question
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

good rooms and modern business like hotel - let themselves down when we left something in the safe after we moved hotels and when we rang they said that nothing was in it. when we threatened the police they looked again and found the purse - however they did send it on to the next hotel (we paid the postage!). restaurant is okay as well. location is perfect. worth visiting if in malaga well priced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mijas, Spain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went to this hotel because of the excellent reviews. While this is a nice 4* hotel I cannot understand why people choose this hotel as the best hotel in Malaga.
The location is fantastic but I was not so happy with the room. We were given a room in on the inner courtyard so no views. The room was also quite small and we found no room next to the bathroom sink to put our toiletries. Staff are generally helpfull but we got twin beds and when asking for a double bed the receptionist told us we had choosen twin beds when reserving the room. I didn't remember but accepted this excuse. However, later I doublechecked this and turned out to be not true...Possibly if you pay extra you can get a nicer room however for the same price you can do better in Malaga.
Finally, fitness center is outside the hotel: 9 euros extra and a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
105 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is located between the old town centre and the harbour, which is really convenient. Everything is within walking distance and there are lots of nice places where you can eat and drink just around the corner. Reception staff is very friendly and always prepared to help and give information about where to go and what to do. We had a spacious and clean room on the first floor, somewhere in a corner, with no noise from the street. The room had no view, though, but we didn't mind since we slept well. There were coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom was adequate with nice toilettries. Breakfast buffet was good and everything was refilled regularly. The swimming pool and sun deck are on the hotel's top floor, with a nice view of Malaga.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel had everything. The staff were so helpful and always had a smile. It is right in the centre of the old city so access to the Cathedral for example is just round the corner. The rooms are really good and have an excellent coffee and tea making facilities which you don't always find in Spain. The breakfast was delicious and had so much choice. The general ambience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Can't say
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful and convenient location, with palm trees and ocean promenade views to the right, and historical district with views of the cathedral to the left. Beautifully renovated with contemporary feel to public areas and the room. We paid a bit more for a "Superior" room, which was large, with a small balcony and very quiet, thanks to double-glazed windows. Wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: The size of the "superior" room and a couple other amenities seemed to be well worth the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#3 of 91 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 2,337 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 91 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Room Mate Larios
#4 of 91 in Malaga
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Property: Hotel Molina Lario
Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing