We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not special enough for the price....”
Review of Hotel Molina Lario

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Molina Lario
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Malaga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed at ML with my husband for three nights in September 2012. My overall impression is of a business oriented hotel with a beautiful reception area, however the staff were not welcoming or friendly.

The hotel is very well situated for the historical part of town and the views of the cathedral from the roof-top pool are fabulous.

The room was OK but not special enough to justify the price. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was pretty but the overall effect was spoiled by teh battered old waste bin next to the bidet. The bed was very comfortable but pillows were of lumpy foam. We had requested a double bed which we got, and a room with a view which we didn't! When we queried this at reception the staff said they were full and couldn't move us.

One of the selling points for us when choosing a hotel for a city break is tea and coffee making facilities in room. The web site for Molina Lario states this is available at this hotel. What the web site doesn' tell you is that the hotel provides enough milk for only one hot drink for each guest per 24 hours. There is a notice which tells you that if you want more you can BUY supplies from housekeeping. I felt this was just plain mean! At these prices surely they could at least allow us morning tea and a bed time drink!!

So as I said, OK but not special enough to justify the stars or the price. Will I stay again next time I am in Malaga? No.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the port or the cathedral....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank toshi100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMolinaLario, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Molina Lario, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks you for your comments in Tripadvisor, and we are really sorry about your bad experience. We would like to know that we take comments about our staff very seriously.
We would like to apologize for not changing you the room but, sometimes, when the Hotel is fully booked it is impossible to change rooms, although we would like to do it if the guest is not happy with the room. Housekeeping department is changing the pillows that are not in perfect conditions, so we hope that after your comments the problem will be solved.
About the tea & coffee facilities we are going to check again this extra in order that our guests do not feel deceived.
Thanks again for your comments,
Sincerely,

Núria Verdaguer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,920)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Molina Lario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at a number of hotels in Malaga and keep returning to ML. The views are incredible overlooking the harbour to the front and the cathedral to the rear. The staff are extremely helpful and allow me to leave my overnight bag in storage until I return. The rooftop pool is small but feels like a total indulgence as guests lounge around enjoying cocktails on huge white bean bags.
The rooms are modern sleek and well equipped, with lovely touches such as fluffy towels, robes, toothbrushes and shavers, as well as the usual conditioner etc. The hotel is easy to find, taxis can stop outside and in the middle of everything. The airport is a short trip away. be careful if you don't want a hotel breakfast, as my daughter popped in for a juice which I expected to pay for separately and we were charge for three breakfasts. It was soon sorted at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade we did and guess what? Always worth the question
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

good rooms and modern business like hotel - let themselves down when we left something in the safe after we moved hotels and when we rang they said that nothing was in it. when we threatened the police they looked again and found the purse - however they did send it on to the next hotel (we paid the postage!). restaurant is okay as well. location is perfect. worth visiting if in malaga well priced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I went to this hotel because of the excellent reviews. While this is a nice 4* hotel I cannot understand why people choose this hotel as the best hotel in Malaga.
The location is fantastic but I was not so happy with the room. We were given a room in on the inner courtyard so no views. The room was also quite small and we found no room next to the bathroom sink to put our toiletries. Staff are generally helpfull but we got twin beds and when asking for a double bed the receptionist told us we had choosen twin beds when reserving the room. I didn't remember but accepted this excuse. However, later I doublechecked this and turned out to be not true...Possibly if you pay extra you can get a nicer room however for the same price you can do better in Malaga.
Finally, fitness center is outside the hotel: 9 euros extra and a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is located between the old town centre and the harbour, which is really convenient. Everything is within walking distance and there are lots of nice places where you can eat and drink just around the corner. Reception staff is very friendly and always prepared to help and give information about where to go and what to do. We had a spacious and clean room on the first floor, somewhere in a corner, with no noise from the street. The room had no view, though, but we didn't mind since we slept well. There were coffee and tea making facilities. The bathroom was adequate with nice toilettries. Breakfast buffet was good and everything was refilled regularly. The swimming pool and sun deck are on the hotel's top floor, with a nice view of Malaga.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoanneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel had everything. The staff were so helpful and always had a smile. It is right in the centre of the old city so access to the Cathedral for example is just round the corner. The rooms are really good and have an excellent coffee and tea making facilities which you don't always find in Spain. The breakfast was delicious and had so much choice. The general ambience was fantastic.

Room Tip: Can't say
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A beautiful and convenient location, with palm trees and ocean promenade views to the right, and historical district with views of the cathedral to the left. Beautifully renovated with contemporary feel to public areas and the room. We paid a bit more for a "Superior" room, which was large, with a small balcony and very quiet, thanks to double-glazed windows. Wifi was excellent.

Room Tip: The size of the "superior" room and a couple other amenities seemed to be well worth the a...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malaga hotels
Barcelo Malaga
#4 of 89 in Malaga
3,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Room Mate Larios
#3 of 89 in Malaga
1,096 reviews
Centro
Room Mate Valeria
Room Mate Valeria
#1 of 89 in Malaga
517 reviews
Perchel
Salles Hotel Malaga Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molina Lario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molina Lario

Address: c/ Molina Lario 20-22, 29015 Malaga, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Malaga > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malaga
#2 Business Hotel in Malaga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Malaga
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malaga
Price Range: $165 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Molina Lario 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molina Lario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molina Lario málaga
Molina Lario Hotel málaga
Hotel Molina Lario Malaga, Spain - Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing